We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite decline over the years.....”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definite decline over the years.....”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Having stayed previously, I was expecting fabulous food and old fashioned style and service. It's been a few years since I stayed and unfortunately there things have changed for the worse. The hotel looks tired and dated- I know it is meant to be historic in styling but it looks scrappy and uncared for. We had chipboard tables in our room hidden by pink cloths, not what would have been expected. The breakfast used to be a vast spread of continental style fare followed by a delicious cooked breakfast.No longer! You have to order a specific item of continental breakfast then an item of cooked. The cooked options come with a ring of pesto on the plate- not what I want at breakfast an my order was incorrect. The burger was sloppy and the potato cake, just a blob of mash. All topped off with a fly in the milk! I've had better breakfast in budget hotels. The dinner menu looked amazing, a fantastic range of vegetarian food. The actual food though, was an extreme disappointment. Poorly presented and not very tasty.
It's a shame as Lancrigg could be fantastic. The scenery is lovely and the hotel could be very special, especially given the vegetarian menu. It seems though it's relying on old country charm which is now more out of date and tired than charming. Sadly, it will be my last trip there as there are superior stays elsewhere, with better food, for less money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaineyPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
One thing is certain: no one can please everybody all of the time. The great majority of our guests love what we offer and how we do it. However, we are not complacent and I am sorry that your stay was such a disappointment to you.
The bedside tables in one room are indeed glass topped and covered with pink and Laura Ashley fabric. The chipboard is totally invisible and to be fair may occur in any establishment, whatever the cost. You do not mention the exclusively hand made four poster bed and sparkling new bathroom with whirlpool bath.
Many years ago we did away with the breakfast buffet and found that many people preferred to be served the breakfast of their choice – we are after all a holiday hotel and most people really do like to be waited on. All the choices are still there – deluxe muesli topped with organic soya or dairy yoghurt and fresh fruit cereals, our own tasty toasted granola, ‘fruit snow’ with stewed figs, peaches, apples & pears, topped with yoghurts and coconut, and of course a refreshing fruit salad. To follow, we offer full vegetarian English breakfast with eggs, homemade Lancrigg burgers, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes and baked beans. Alternatively there are potato cakes (made with selected fresh potatoes, red onions, spinach and freshly ground coriander – a recipe which many guests have asked us for) with mushrooms and tomatoes. These, as described on the menu, are garnished with freshly made pesto (without garlic at breakfast), though may of course be served without if requested. Any combination of the above is available. TLT is very popular with marinated tofu, lettuce and tomato in a fresh ciabatta bun. All this followed by unlimited toast, jams, tea and coffee. We also offer a ‘Continental’ breakfast with genuine French croissant, organic granary toast, sour dough toast, treacle and walnut bread, finest jams and local Lancashire cheese. Our coffee is brewed from organic freshly ground beans. I do not know of any other establishment which offers a similar choice for vegetarians.
We have spent much money and time over the last few years upgrading the rooms and we have worked hard with our professional chefs to provide a good choice of tasty and nutritious food. Thankfully many of our guests do still enjoy the magic of Lancrigg. And on a personal note I am off now to indulge in one of those tasty breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    102
    44
    29
    13
See reviews for
83
443
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It's been a while since I visited Lancrigg which is clearly a mistake on my part! They've gone to the next level on the catering front. A new chef has been installed since I was there in 2009 and he was on fire the weekend before last. We kicked off with an instant classic - a spiced sweet potato soup laced with coconut milk which was so good I made him rehearse the details into my i phone so i can make it at home! from there on every night we were spoilt for choice by a huge menu with quality all the way through - the veggie fish and chips are a revelation but for me the Thai Green Curry was steller. Breakfast in bed comes in two courses these days so nothing gets cold and including coffee as you can get that with each course. The staff were very friendly and the service as good as i've known it. The only sinker was the horizontal rain but one can hardly blame that on the hotel!! Word on the street is the owners are moving on soon so get to this place while its at it's peak - it was a heavenly weekend for two!

Room Tip: If you want to wake to a life-alteringly wonderful view of the easedale valley then book the silverh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jretaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear jretaylor
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review which helps make all the hard work worthwhile. We have a great team of chefs who all do their best for us and the guests and your review is particularly appreciated by them. I’m sorry about the rather insistent rain the weekend you were here and it is always great to hear when guests have not let this dampen their spirit!
All the best
Rob Whittington and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Unfortunately this was only a three night stay. The hotel was comfortable with an open fire in the lounge. The bedroom was a little dated but the bathroom looked brand new with a spa bath, the shower needed more water pressure though. The staff were all very friendly. The food was, for me a vegetarian, superb. My wife, a non-vegetarian, classed the food as excellent. The setting is off the main roads but close enough to Grasmere for a gentle stroll. Many, more strenuous walks can be taken from the hotel negating the need to drive.
This was our first visit but will not be our last.

Room Tip: We stayed on the front with great views, no noise, no light pollution.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear David C
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review and we are glad you had a lovely restorative break and that you both you and your wife enjoyed the food. The water pressure can be low at certain times, apparently more so when the Grasmere area is very busy and we have added shower pumps to some rooms now. Good to hear you are returning and we hope that it will be soon. If you haven’t already done so, do consider going to our website and subscribing to our newsletter which will advise you of any special offers and breaks and also will keep you in touch with Lancrigg and the lovely valley of Easedale.
Best wishes Robert Whittington and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We will be returning to this lovely and idyllic country hotel set in the most peaceful and amazing countryside. The hotel was very comfortable with a strong sense of it's historic past. The staff are just lovely and couldn't do enough to look after us , be it my partner was recovering from cancer treatment. As vegetarians it was a joy to have a choice of a different meal each, all very nicely cooked with good taste. We stayed in the Darwin room and would choose this room again.

Room Tip: I choose the Darwin room and did look in on some of the other rooms but although this has a side vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBluebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear LondonBluebelle
Thank you for posting this lovely review and we are all glad that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed staying in the Darwin room and the sense of the building’s historic past, which is to us part of Lancrigg’s special ambience. Lancrigg really has a most interesting history and your room is named after Charles Darwin, as the arctic explorer and naturalist John Richardson once lived here and shared discoveries with Darwin. The magnificent sequoia and other specimen trees in the Lancrigg woods were planted by him and guests enjoy wandering along the woodland paths during their stay. I hope that you will return here again in the near future and that you and your partner keep well.
All the best
Robert Whittington and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a very beautiful setting, with breath taking views. If it hadn't have been for the location we would have walked out. The room was riddled with damp, mildew up the walls and the whole building smelt stale. Dated, worn furnishing. Service was at times good, others indifferent. Food was excellent. No 'did you have a nice stay'. At this price I would expect extras in the room, even simply a few biscuits. Coffee cups were dirty, bath needed washing before we got in. Missing the attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a better experience and had you mentioned anything during your stay we would have been able to do something. The problem you noticed referred to a small area behind the free standing bath and curtain in your room and was found to be due to the extractor fan not working properly causing increased condensation. This fan has been replaced and the offending area redecorated.
We are sorry that we were not given a chance to do anything to increase your satisfaction at the time rather than read it here, firstly some weeks ago and now again. We would not expect anyone to stay on in a room if it was as you describe and yet, as you put in your first review, you stayed two nights without mentioning anything. We take such things seriously and after a thorough inspection of all walls in all rooms we eventually identified the problem which was not easy to spot. A mention would have been appreciated!
If a room has not been fully serviced or if anything is missing or untoward, we would expect to be informed at the time via a word to myself or any of our friendly staff so that we could make amends as there is not a lot we can do for you now and we don’t even know who you are. Regarding the bath or any other concern a mention would have seen this promptly attended at your convenience or another room offered. We were training new staff in servicing rooms and one had a misconception and we apologise for any oversights. I am pleased to say that a close inspection of all bathrooms, tiles and grouting in all 14 bathrooms found them all to be virtually spotless and although we are very strict in the servicing procedures, sometimes things can be missed and we always attend to these in a friendly way if they are brought to our attention. We have also replaced the bedside lampshades referred to in your previous review as we had not noticed that one was slightly crazed. After our busiest period ever we have been very busy upgrading many things around the hotel and hope that if you come again you will not be disappointed.
Again we are sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay and that you gave us no chance to do anything for you at the time.
Robert Whittington and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Another return to the Lancrigg Hotel, this time for my husbands birthday.
As always, it was fabulous. The food delicious, the accomodation individual and very comfortable, the staff friendly, helpful & efficient and the setting amazing.
On this occasion, we had the flask & flapjack offered to walkers for £2! This is usually great value but, on this occasion after a few miles of steep ascent to Fairfield, we were rewarded with an amazingly delicious chocolate covered flapjack :-)
We would, and do, recommend this hotel to everybody,vegetarian or not.
All in all, It is a very special place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual and you need to look at the website to see which suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally110458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for returning to Lancrigg and taking the time to write this lovely review. Great to hear you enjoyed that flap jack on Fairfield – the recipe is our favourite ever, (and a bit of a secret!) Indeed, on those rare occasions we get the time off from running a hotel the thought of having some at the top of a mountain is what helps us get up there! You can imagine my popularity once on the summit of Helvellyn my wife said pass me the flap jack and I replied I thought you had it….
We are glad you enjoyed all the aspects of Lancrigg which make it a different and special place and myself and all the staff look forward to welcoming you back to Lancrigg in the near future.
Robert Whittington and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very enjoyable stay. Excellent food, great service and fantastic location. Very nice room with huge comfortable bed(Juniper in Kitty Crag). Beautiful walk to hotel through woodland where we saw red squirrels and a family of deer. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEIL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg Hotel is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale, 1/2 mile from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to residents and non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available and a lunch menu served from 12pm until 4:30pm. The restaurant is available from 6pm to 9pm, booking is reccomended. The Lancrigg is currently a vegetarian Hotel (vegan option available), however we are currently undergoing renovation to offer a flexitarian menu(still vegetarian but with fish and meat available) and a fully stocked bar will be following soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing