We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place ..”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just spent two special nights at Lancrigg Hotel. The setting is picturesque,the staff warm and attentive.. our room was located in Kitty Crag was so quiet , warm and beautifully appointed.. meant we had a short magical walk through a wood to get to the hotel for breakfast .. which was wholesome and the eggs perfectly cooked.. During the day went for a wonderful walk around the lake all at your doorstep.. Our evening meal had plenty of choice and the food tasted fresh and alive and presented with care.. We had a perfect evening .. and after slept the best we have since we left home. Thank you and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for The Lancrigg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stopped for two nights DBB in the Whittington room which had a lovely attic feel with superb views. The meals were superb we could not fault the stay and to be spoilt for choice as vegetarians makes a great change. We were joined for dinner by two relations who are not veggy but both enjoyed the food and highly rated it. Good sized portions and excellent range of organic beers and wines.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dane340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The best meal we had in the Lakes and in such a lovely setting near Grasmere. Service was friendly and impeccable, the food we had (thai soup, bruschetta with broad bean pate, quinoa coated tofu and chips, polenta pancakes) were all excellent and the servings were so generous. Outstanding value for money! Beer was great too (I can recommend the Cannabia lager).

Whether you are vegetarian or not you have to come here. It's excellent. We only stayed for dinner, but would love to spend a few nights here.

One thing to note is that we got terribly confused using Google Maps as a guide (which inevitably loses mobile signal when you're deep in the Lakes). We were travelling from Keswick and the map kept directing us to turn off at a small road just a mile or two north off Grasmere. It was very difficult to find as the hotel is not signposted from this direction and as we drove down the lane it got narrower and narrower. We did eventually find the hotel, but only after passing a perplexed farmer and asking for directions at a hostel. You're far better driving into Grasmere and looking for a sign from there. The road we left on was far more suited for road traffic and brought us out into Grasmere itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Has definately over the years become our home from home, we love everything about the lancrigg, I have stayed in loads of 5* and even 7* hotels in Vegas, but taking into account the location, food, accomodation and friendly staff, Lancrigg is simply the best. My husband and I simply love it here and would love to fit in a couple more stays if we can this year, even though we travel over 200 miles to get here. I fail to see how anyone would not be happy here, and recommend it to everyone I can. We arrive and switch off, walk with our dogs who love it too and eat! simply heaven.

Room Tip: We like most of the rooms, favourite for view Siver Howe and for not such a good view but a great fe...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veggietracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We only spent 4 nights at the hotel but the meals were very tasty the staff were there to help us to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is situated in the best possible location very peaceful and was surrounded by some lovely and magical walks.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinning85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review of your stay and such feedback is greatly appreciated by myself and the staff. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed this special place which we also believe is in the one of the best possible locations for a Lakeland holiday. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Rob Whittington and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Having stayed previously, I was expecting fabulous food and old fashioned style and service. It's been a few years since I stayed and unfortunately there things have changed for the worse. The hotel looks tired and dated- I know it is meant to be historic in styling but it looks scrappy and uncared for. We had chipboard tables in our room hidden by pink cloths, not what would have been expected. The breakfast used to be a vast spread of continental style fare followed by a delicious cooked breakfast.No longer! You have to order a specific item of continental breakfast then an item of cooked. The cooked options come with a ring of pesto on the plate- not what I want at breakfast an my order was incorrect. The burger was sloppy and the potato cake, just a blob of mash. All topped off with a fly in the milk! I've had better breakfast in budget hotels. The dinner menu looked amazing, a fantastic range of vegetarian food. The actual food though, was an extreme disappointment. Poorly presented and not very tasty.
It's a shame as Lancrigg could be fantastic. The scenery is lovely and the hotel could be very special, especially given the vegetarian menu. It seems though it's relying on old country charm which is now more out of date and tired than charming. Sadly, it will be my last trip there as there are superior stays elsewhere, with better food, for less money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaineyPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

One thing is certain: no one can please everybody all of the time. The great majority of our guests love what we offer and how we do it. However, we are not complacent and I am sorry that your stay was such a disappointment to you.
The bedside tables in one room are indeed glass topped and covered with pink and Laura Ashley fabric. The chipboard is totally invisible and to be fair may occur in any establishment, whatever the cost. You do not mention the exclusively hand made four poster bed and sparkling new bathroom with whirlpool bath.
Many years ago we did away with the breakfast buffet and found that many people preferred to be served the breakfast of their choice – we are after all a holiday hotel and most people really do like to be waited on. All the choices are still there – deluxe muesli topped with organic soya or dairy yoghurt and fresh fruit cereals, our own tasty toasted granola, ‘fruit snow’ with stewed figs, peaches, apples & pears, topped with yoghurts and coconut, and of course a refreshing fruit salad. To follow, we offer full vegetarian English breakfast with eggs, homemade Lancrigg burgers, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes and baked beans. Alternatively there are potato cakes (made with selected fresh potatoes, red onions, spinach and freshly ground coriander – a recipe which many guests have asked us for) with mushrooms and tomatoes. These, as described on the menu, are garnished with freshly made pesto (without garlic at breakfast), though may of course be served without if requested. Any combination of the above is available. TLT is very popular with marinated tofu, lettuce and tomato in a fresh ciabatta bun. All this followed by unlimited toast, jams, tea and coffee. We also offer a ‘Continental’ breakfast with genuine French croissant, organic granary toast, sour dough toast, treacle and walnut bread, finest jams and local Lancashire cheese. Our coffee is brewed from organic freshly ground beans. I do not know of any other establishment which offers a similar choice for vegetarians.
We have spent much money and time over the last few years upgrading the rooms and we have worked hard with our professional chefs to provide a good choice of tasty and nutritious food. Thankfully many of our guests do still enjoy the magic of Lancrigg. And on a personal note I am off now to indulge in one of those tasty breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It's been a while since I visited Lancrigg which is clearly a mistake on my part! They've gone to the next level on the catering front. A new chef has been installed since I was there in 2009 and he was on fire the weekend before last. We kicked off with an instant classic - a spiced sweet potato soup laced with coconut milk which was so good I made him rehearse the details into my i phone so i can make it at home! from there on every night we were spoilt for choice by a huge menu with quality all the way through - the veggie fish and chips are a revelation but for me the Thai Green Curry was steller. Breakfast in bed comes in two courses these days so nothing gets cold and including coffee as you can get that with each course. The staff were very friendly and the service as good as i've known it. The only sinker was the horizontal rain but one can hardly blame that on the hotel!! Word on the street is the owners are moving on soon so get to this place while its at it's peak - it was a heavenly weekend for two!

Room Tip: If you want to wake to a life-alteringly wonderful view of the easedale valley then book the silverh...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jretaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear jretaylor
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review which helps make all the hard work worthwhile. We have a great team of chefs who all do their best for us and the guests and your review is particularly appreciated by them. I’m sorry about the rather insistent rain the weekend you were here and it is always great to hear when guests have not let this dampen their spirit!
All the best
Rob Whittington and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,497 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
857 reviews
7.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £88 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale,800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which serves a classic bar menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 12pm to 11pm (last food orders 8:30pm), booking is recommended. The Lancrigg restaurant offers up a 4 or a 5 course al a carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. In order to preserve The vegetarian history at Lancrigg we have a full vegetarian menu offering both ala carte and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing