We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Kibworth Beauchamp
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A peaceful oasis”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just returned from 5 days staying in this wonderful hotel. As vegans we were well catered for with delicious food. The whole hotel is steeped in history and the decor is superb, bringing to life a romantic bygone era when Wordsworth was a frequent visitor to the hotel.Just the right blend of elegance and quirkiness The peace and quiet was a balm to the soul, surrounded by 30 acres of gardens and the only sound was birdsong and frogs croaking. The staff were delightful and very friendly. To find a place like this that serves fantastic vegan food, AND allowed our little dog to come too is amazing - we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Jean B
Thank you for choosing to stay at Lancrigg for your holiday and for taking the time to write this great review which is appreciated by myself and all the staff. We have tried to create exactly the ambience you describe so it's great to hear when it hits the mark!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Lancrigg in the near future
All the best
Robert and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    102
    44
    30
    12
See reviews for
83
443
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lancrigg's location simply cannot be beaten. Stunning views in all directions and plenty of lovely walks on the doorstep. The rooms are beautiful and charmingly quirky, and have all the modern facilities you could need. Staff are brilliant and extremely friendly, and the vegetarian food is the best I've had. A wonderful weekend, thankyou Lancrigg!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent two nights over the early spring bank holiday at Lancrigg and had a wonderful time. The views are truly breathtaking and the rooms are clean and tidy. The staff are lovely and the food is glorious. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Fantastic food, comfortable room with breathtaking view, friendly welcoming staff and wonderful scenic walks straight from the front door - what more could you ask for? Lancigg is deservedly a five star establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I cannot praise this stay highly enough. Wonderful setting. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Comfortable, luxuriating rooms. Superb food. Our party booked 6 of the rooms available and we were treated as if this was our personal stay. There were such individual touches like the tables outside set to accommodate 10 adults and 3 children for lunch, and the dining room in the evening set out so that we could all sit together as one group, followed by an open fire lit in the lounge for our after dinner gathering. The food was deliciously interesting. Be prepared for a relaxing time where meals are paced in a continentally sociable manner - leave lots of time! I could effuse more but you might think I was going too far for it to be true.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a wonderful, relaxing night at Lancrigg for our anniversary. It was very quiet and right in the country away from busy roads. We enjoyed the gardens and local woods and fields. The dinner was delicious and vegan-friendly, served by lovely staff. The veggie burger for breakfast is a must! The room was so beautiful, like traveling back in time, we will definitely be visiting again :)

Room Tip: The John Richardson room was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carys22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have stayed at Lancrigg a few times now and we'd recommend it to anyone. It is an oasis of calm and quiet in a beautiful location. The history of the place makes it extra special. The food is top quality. If you are a vegetarian used to second rate food whenever you eat out then come to Lancrigg and treat yourself!

Room Tip: Not had a bad one. Wainright good if you have kids as they can be in a separate space downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale,800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which serves a classic bar menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 12pm to 11pm (last food orders 8:30pm), booking is recommended. The Lancrigg restaurant offers up a 4 or a 5 course al a carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. In order to preserve The vegetarian history at Lancrigg we have a full vegetarian menu offering both ala carte and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing