We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grasmere Gem”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nestled in the many shades of green in the Easedale Valley is the Lancrigg Hotel. It has a rich past history dating back to 1840. The setting is pastoral. A pallet of greens frame views of the valley floor. Meandering stone fences and a multitude of sheep complete the view. The gorgeous grounds attract many birds which sing at the beginning and the end of the day. The restaurant serves gourmet vegetarian meals in a gracious and unhurried fashion. Many of the guests are returning visitors. A perfect way to enjoy the Lake District.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaxiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for The Lancrigg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I would highly recommend the Lancrigg Vegetarian Country House Hotel to everyone. The location is superb, the birdsong is the loudest thing you will hear, and yet it is only 10 minutes walk to the cafes and shops in Grasmere. The food is a culinary delight for vegetarians, and (I imagine) a welcome surprise for hardened meat-eaters. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. I've been visiting the LVCHH for over 20 years, and I hope to be back again many more times in the next 20 years!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert1081963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have been going to this oasis of calm for 30 years, the young staff, usually student travellers, always great and well trained by the quirky owner. As meat eaters we found the vegetarian/vegan menu to be truly exceptional and they will always accommodate unusual requests. If you are walking the fells their packed lunch is tasty and nutritional.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual, they are all good
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartw166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We only stayed one night but had a lovely walk through the grounds before dinner which they let us have later than the stated dinner time so we could stretch our legs after a long drive. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The food ideal for us being vegetarians. The room was not large but was charming especially with its 4 poster bed. Would like to have stayed longer and tried some of the walks in and around the grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in the easedale room.. Lovely big room with lovely whirlpool bath shower ok but not very powerful. The room was quite old fashioned but part of the charm.Tea, herbal tea and coffee in room would have been a nice touch if there were some biscuits as well. Room had a good view of the hotel gardens which are beautiful and there are wild rabbits and deer in the gardens. Food was delicious even meat eating partner was happy to have both evening meals in the hotel, breakfast also very good would recommend the tofu, lettuce and tomato
. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FairydustG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for this lovely review and we hope to be welcoming you back to the hotel soon and with biscuits!
all the best Robert and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Only spent one night here as we were moving on the next day. I have to say it was one of the best hotels I have even been in. Although my husband and myself are not vegetarian we decided we would still have the evening meal and to say it was gorgeous would be an understatement, the breakfast was lovely as well.Everyone was polite and helpful and as soon as we arrived we were served coffee on the lawn.
The Easedale valley is our favourite place in the Lakes and I have always loved looking at Lancrigg from across the valley. Will definately be staying there again and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in booking staying there.

Room Tip: Did'nt go to the pool or fitness centre, too busy getting our excercise on the fells.I would ima...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Teresa Marie
Thank you for this terrific review and taking the time to post it and with the lovely photo - it is always great for all of us at Lancrigg to hear when guests appreciate our efforts. Easedale valley is a lovely spot indeed and also a favourite of the Lakeland poets. We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully for a longer stay.
with best wishes
Robert and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We loved the location, the views, the rabbits on the lawn, the deer in the woodland walk and the huge bed. A perfect place to relax. We chose the hotel for it's gluten free and dairy free options. The food did not disappoint. The staff were friendly and helpful. I will recommend Lancrigg to everyone and we are planning our next visit too.

Room Tip: We chose a small room as we were only staying for two nights. On arrival we were offered an upgrade...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethBS700VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear ElizabethB
Thank you very much for writing this great review and myself and the staff are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing break in this special place.
all the best
Robert and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,496 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
856 reviews
7.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £88 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale,800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which serves a classic bar menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 12pm to 11pm (last food orders 8:30pm), booking is recommended. The Lancrigg restaurant offers up a 4 or a 5 course al a carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. In order to preserve The vegetarian history at Lancrigg we have a full vegetarian menu offering both ala carte and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing