We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Three letters to sum up my stay - WOW. What a lovely place to visit for a break in the summer, we could have easily extended our stay had they had space to allow us to do so – instead we’ll be back for another visit!

The hotel was comfortable during our stay in June and we left the visit feeling recharged after many great walks – Rob the owner knows many walks and had an abundance of information about the area.
They offer tea, cakes and more for walkers passing by, or in our instance when we returned from a long walk. If the weather is good, which it was for us, sitting out on the lawn smelling the lovely clean air is something not to miss (the cakes also hit the spot!). The food is fantastic with a good all-rounded menu - I'd come here even if I wasn't staying at Lancrigg.

The location is spectacular and being able to walk from the hotel straight out onto the mountains is something I really look for. We stayed in the Silver Howe room which has a breathtaking view.

We have also been fortunate to experience Christmas at Lancrigg which is a very social affair with many opportunities to make friends with other guests, and with some of the best vegetarian feasts I've ever experienced. The hotel, although heavy with snow outside, was beautifully warm with a gorgeous fireplace in the lounge for us to sit around have a hot toddy or two!

The staff were really helpful and happy to attend to our needs. Our room was lovely and airy, and the hotel appeared to be cleaned to a generally high standard - it is quite an old building so it must take some effort to keep clean with all the nook and cranny’s around. In a nutshell, this place is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed one night as were passing through the area and were attracted by the Vegetarian status. Unfortunately we were very disappointed in the standard of the room and cancelled our dinner reservation on the strength of this. We did not expect contemporary chic, but the cheap mismatched furniture, ancient mattress and generally tired decor fell below the standard expected when paying these rates. On a more positive note, the breakfast was quite tasty, although service was erratic (we waited 40 minutes for our full English, and even though we were first in the dining room, others were served quicker than us) but the staff were friendly and polite. The toiletries provided are lovely, and locally made, the highlight of our stay!

If you want a great location, and fantastic views from the gardens (and some rooms) this hotel may suit you, but overall, it wasn't for us.

Take care on the bumpy dirt track up to the hotel as there are some large holes where we scraped the underside of the car and bumper!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrissie_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for three nights (5th - 9th June). Driving up to Lancrigg Country House you are immediately stunned by the beautiful idyllic surroundings which is worth 5 stars. You enter the house and find a quaint English country house with antiques and tasteful art. All good so far. The room itself was well laid out, neat and tidy, but slightly cool despite the warm temperatures. There was only one usable draw to unpack things but there was a wardrobe. I observed the storage heaters (not central heating) and realised that a winter visit would not be a good idea! For many the reason for visiting is the vegetarian food and the menu was excellent. We particularly liked the potato cake with pesto and mushrooms breakfast - not so keen on the rose and cardamon brulee (too much cardamon). The aspect that let down the visit was erratic service which is an important part of any trip. We were only allowed to eat dinner in our room when we arrived at 9pm and when I requested a Pimms the Spanish waiter said he had never heard of it. We discovered that the shower was literally a trickle that meant ages to rinse hair and a cobweb remained in the room despite a couple of visits from cleaners. The following morning I was told by the French waitress that I couldn't have gluten free toast with my full veggie breakfast as it was the last course, but then preceded to bring a full english with normal toast on the plate. On the Saturday morning the fuller than usual restaurant meant significant delays in our service. We had arrived at our normal time of 9.15am and as we sat there waiting for our last course to be delivered (10am deadline had obviously been reached) and it never arrived and the waiter never asked if we required anything else despite loudly clearing plates around us, so we didn't bother with breakfast on the Sunday. That aside Lancrigg's location is outstanding and means fantastic after dinner walks. Just an adjustment (or better training of staff) and this would have received a 5 stars.

Room Tip: We stayed in Wordsworth which had beautiful views out of the front but had a poor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeekieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and apologise for any issues you experienced with the service. We do have some new members of staff under training and had you brought any issues to my attention then I would have done everything possible to remedy them. Our policy is never to be rigid about things like what goes with what course, and sometimes staff have worked at places where there are such approaches and we have to tell them that here at Lancrigg nothing is too much trouble. I was just saying that I thought the rose and cardamom brulee needed more cardamom so will rethink that. Occasionally if everyone comes down for breakfast at a similar time there can be a longer wait at breakfast but unfortunately there must have been some mix up regarding the non-arrival of part of your breakfast. Although we would prefer that you would not have this problem and have to do this, if you had told the waiter clearing the plates about this, or to reception, then it would have been seen to. Likewise the cobweb. We are happy to be given the chance to put anything right at the time. We get a lot of guests in the Winter and we do keep it warm and cosy - extra heaters would be provided should anyone not be warm enough and there is additional heating in your room controllable by guests. We do hope that you will return to Lancrigg and find us worthy of the full five star review next time! With best wishes from Robert Whittington and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Sadly very very disappointing. The rooms are tired, with cracked windows, the staff are poorly trained and have very basic understanding of English. The food was OK, when it eventually came but I wasn't keen on the hair in my breakfast.

I left a day early on just a 2 night stay. I think that basically sums up Lancrigg :(

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a more positive experience at Lancrigg overall. In 30 years of serving )and eating the food I can only say that it would be very rare and unfortunate to find a hair in the food and I sincerely apologise for this. I understand that you seemed to be enjoying your stay until this and then unfortunately left abruptly leaving many of your personal belongings behind in your room. All staff involved in food preparation wear protective head gear and the waitresses have to have their hair tidy to avoid this sort of occurrence and all are concerned to hear about this and will be extra vigilant.
As well as some well trained and exceptionally good staff and myself who speak good English we do have new members of staff under training and I apologise about any service issues as we always aim for the highest.
We have found a small crack in a corner of one of the windows in your room behind the curtain but have not found any more. This will of course be attended to and we are sorry it detracted from your stay.
Every guest is important to us and we are sorry that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion and we are doing all we can to ensure that our all our staff are fully up to speed.
Yours sincerely Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Once again a wonderful stay, food was outstanding and nothing is too much trouble for all the staff working there. We look forward to returning to our special yearly treat, in a very beautiful part of the countryside.

Room Tip: All the rooms have character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for this lovely review and returning to Lancrigg for your yearly treat and myself and all the staff are really grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience and appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lancrigg next year if not before.
all the best
Robert Whittington and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Set in a stunning valley and unbelievably quiet this place has been our spring retreat for years. Staff are very friendly, the food is great and the house charming. What more is there to say except ... enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you writing this lovely review and recommendation. We always appreciate it when guests take the time to write about their positive experience of Lancrigg as our aim is that everyone has a truly good time here. We take great pleasure in welcoming back the many who return year after year. like yourselves and thank you again for your custom.
Yours Sincerely
Robert Whittington and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Outstanding peace in Juniper room in Kitty Crag......just two nights......listen to the lyrics of Summertime in England by Van Morrison to get an idea of the atmosphere. One might say you could feel the silence. No TV in room.....I suggest get rid of wireless as well!

Room Tip: Maybe take your own biscuits......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanceb410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely and lyrical review and it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here with us in the lovely peaceful valley of Easedale. Hmm I think we had better keep the broadband for the convenience of guests - we do have TVS in all the rooms at Lancrigg as well as broadband but many do say they enjoy an escape from these things! We look forward to welcoming you back to Lancrigg in the not too distant future.
With best wishes Robert Whittington and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £82 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale, 800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which opens from 8:30am for breakfast and serves a classic lunch menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 6:30pm. The Lancrigg restaurant offers a fantastic a la carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. booking is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing