We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the nature”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury in the nature”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent one night in Kitty Crag which is near the main hotel but set apart in the surrounding natural woodland (Where, amongst other secrets and surprises, Dorothy Wordsworth's memorial can be found). It is a truly beautiful house and a perfect place for beginning and ending the many surrounding walks in peace and comfort. Though we had one night, we were alone in the eclectic and luxurious rooms. It felt like time had stopped for us there; it was really quite magical.

The staff at hotel and the owner of Kitty Crag house were also friendly and warm, we will certainly be going back (Though we heard Kitty Crag may no longer be an option having been recent sold as a holiday home!). We recommend anyone to go, and quickly to get to that beautiful house in the woods.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olinori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    102
    44
    30
    12
See reviews for
83
443
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day break , the hotel is small, quiet and friendly. The food is so varied, tasty and imaginative. It is in a beautiful part of the Lake District with lots of lovely walks to do. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the chef deserves an award. Will definitely go back. Stayed in the Dickens room with whirlpool bath, which was very welcome after a day out walking. The garden is lovely too and we enjoyed tea out there in a very peaceful environment with beautiful views, as we were lucky enough to have good weather. The hotel is homely rather than posh, wifi signal poor in the area but that adds to the peace and quiet!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have whirlpool baths, some have 4 poster beds and one has a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If you are truly vegetarian, vegan or just enjoy eating healthily then you can't to better than the Lancrigg hotel. The chef Is a life long vegetarian and is incredibly creative. His veggie "fish and chips" are amazing. In addition to the superb food the setting for the hotel in the heart of Wordsworth's Grasmere is idyllic, even when the sun doesn't shine. The nearby walks suit all levels from the causal stroll to the most ardent of hikers. The rooms are quaint but comfortable and the addition of the whirl pool bath in some rooms is a pleasure. The only thing to let this place down is the lack of decent internet and TV channel selection but in most cases this is insignificant compared to the benefits if staying in such a lovely place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have superb views of the hills around Grasmere. Azalea has its own private balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A lovely 3 night stay in this idyllic spot; excellent food, comfortable room, charming staff. You can walk down into Grasmere village or straight up onto the fells from the grounds. Lovely terrace and gardens. Oodles of Wordsworthian history round here. We were blessed with excellent weather too. It's not a posh chain, it's a charming old house, but that's why I loved it.

Room Tip: I had Nightingale (double bed but I had single occupancy). The window is quite small but has an obli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMPAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lancrigg is a gem of a hotel in a stunning rural location that serves fantastic and varied (healthy) vegetarian food and has bundles of personality.

An obvious labour of love over many years, the hotel is not about offering the kind of service and amenities of a Marriot, but if you want the magic of waking to see a roe deer outside your window, or seeing rabbits nibbling on the lawn, or listening to the bird song in almost complete silence, it really doesn't get much better.

Location-wise, Lancrigg is in the beautiful and ever-lush Easedale valley, and if walking is high on your agenda it is a fantastic base for exploration of the Helm Crag ridge as well as the central fells including Pike O Blisco on an ambitious day out. But even if you don't want to step foot on the fells, you can just sit outside on the grassy terrace and have an organic beer watching the cows and sheep in the valley.

It's also well worth exploring the significant (and under-promoted) arboretum in the hotel grounds, which has many trees planted by the lakeland poets. There's some great den-building opportunities for the young ones and you won't see a soul all day.

Fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in the Whittington room which was, to put it politely, dated and over-furnished. In a room providing accommodation for two people there were no less than four arm chairs - two of which had to be placed facing the bathroom door, as there was nowhere else to put them! In spite of the fact there was a chest of drawers and also a couple of bedside tables to put bits and bobs on, there were at least another three occasional tables all fighting for space. A rather pleasant wall hanging was obliterated by a folding screen. Why? The tv was out of the ark, and didn't work, though the maintenance staff fixed the problem immediately after we reported it. A bedside rug was so worn that there were three bald patches. I couldn't understand why it hadn't been thrown out, but on reflection maybe it was covering some carpet stains. The advertised free WiFi worked, but only if we sat on the stairs to use it. Would we stay there again? Absolutely Yes! The building is beautiful, in spite of some of the decor. The views are spectacular, and the gardens and adjoining woodland walks are a delight. The staff members, without exception, were welcoming, polite and helpful. The food was delicious, and we had no problems with menu modifications due to dietary requirements. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeithBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Potential guests should be aware that this is a private rural Country House hotel, not a Hyatt or Sheraton Hotel, if you are looking for a modern building with 'clean fresh lines' serving a homogenised generic menu then Lancrigg may not be for you.

We stayed in July, and in our opinion the hotel is beautiful, set in glorious countryside, with plenty of well marked footpaths directly from the hotel itself. (There is also the most amazing arboretum as part of the gardens.) We booked onto the ground floor room, which gave us the opportunity to have a door opening straight into the wonderful gardens. The room has a lovely four poster bed, and is decorated in a traditional country style, the huge free-standing bath is wonderful after enjoying the walks. Yes, there is no broadband, and the television is not a flatscreen, but who comes to the Lakes and scenery like this to sit in the room and watch the television or surf the internet?

The most impressive thing about Lancrigg though has to be the food. It is delicious. From the three course breakfast, through to the best vegan dinner I have ever had, and the staff were lovely and very attentive. They even made a vegan birthday cake specially for my partner.

I've stayed in some wonderful hotels around the world, but for very few of them would I make a special journey to return to, but I will be going back to Lancrigg .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
707 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale,800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which serves a classic bar menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 12pm to 11pm (last food orders 8:30pm), booking is recommended. The Lancrigg restaurant offers up a 4 or a 5 course al a carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. In order to preserve The vegetarian history at Lancrigg we have a full vegetarian menu offering both ala carte and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing