We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We have stayed in this hotel for six nights. All the rooms in Lancrigg are individually decorated and some have stunning views on the valley. There is a cozy lounge with log fire and a beautiful dining room, both with views on the valley. The hotel staff is very kind and thoughtful and they will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as can be. We have very fond memories of the time we arrived in the hotel after a long walk outside in the cold. The log fire was just put on and we enjoyed our really nice hot chocolate while warming up by the fire.

The Green Valley restaurant is part of the small hotel Lancrigg, but it’s open for everyone. Before we arrived we thought about having some dinners outdoors, but after seeing (and eating) we decided to stay there for dinner every evening. It was so hard to choose what to eat, that we needed all of our evenings to try it all, anyway. All of the dishes are fabulous!
The dishes are vegetarian, but most of them are also suitable for vegans (or can be adjusted). They have a great selection of vegetarian organic wines and also organic liqueurs.

We will definitely return here for another holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniquezb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear moniquezb
Thank you for your great review and photographs, and myself and the team are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and appreciated the efforts we put in. It is great to hear that you enjpyed the food so much that you ate at Lancrigg every night of your stay too. We enjoyed showing round the rooms in advance of your next stay and do contact me personally when you book so that I can welcome you back with a hot chocolate or glass of wine by the log fire.
Best Wishes, Robert Whittington and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

This place is just superb. Lovely accommodation. We stayed in Kitty Crag which is a house which forms an annexe to the hotel. The room was beautifully appointed with a full size en suite bathroom (not your usual shower/wc cupboard) and huge bed, with a lovely lounge. The hospitality of the owners, friendly and helpful staff, not to mention the great food in the dining room were all second to none. it makes such a refreshing change for a veggie to be spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walking56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear walking56
Thank you for this great review. We are glad you so enjoyed the newly refurbished rooms and the food. We do put considerable effort into all aspects so it is greatly appreciated by myself and the team when guests take the time to post such a positive review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely, Robert Whittington and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

My wife booked a last minute break at Lancrigg. Not being vegetarians we were unsure what we'd find, but everything was wonderful. A great location, lovely accommodation, attentive staff and the food was excellent. A very restful place, where you can really get away from the "hurly-burly" of the modern world. We will return ASAP.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear Markandjan
Myself and all the staff are thrilled to read your great review and thank you for taking the time to post it. Our foremost aim is that visitors enjoy a great get away and have a relaxing time with good food, rooms and service, and we hope that we will be welcoming you here again to Lancrigg soon.
All the best, Robert Whittington and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Our first visit, and we were hoping for seven days of real peace & quiet away from the madness that is London (our home town). It is difficult not to sound 'over the top' with this but as vegetarians, the Lancrigg was heaven on earth. Comfortable room (Azelea), wonderful food, lovely staff and all in one of the most beautiful places on earth. Over seven nights we did not exhaust the menu, the wine list was very good and they even served interesting beers! And yes, it is indeed peaceful and quiet. It really does not get much better than this.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear Manxman45
Thank you for posting such a fantastic review and we are very glad that you had such an enjoyable week at Lancrigg. We have had more than 100,000 visitors here to Lancrigg over the years here and many have expressed similar thoughts. That is why we are still here enjoying sharing this with our many guests after all these years. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lancrigg in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

The Lancrigg Hotel is tucked away in Easedale which is like a hidden valley the setting is withour doubt simply sublime a tonic to any troubled soul - a great place to visit and sit in the lovely garden have a drink on a pleasant day also lovely walks around here (the Hotel needs a bit of TLC now it is a bit tired looking but good hearty vegetarian cuisine)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exploreryorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear xploreryorks,

We are very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found Lancrigg such a tonic for the soul. Many people return here again and again for the special qualities at Lancrigg. Indeed it is only through constant guest feedback, which we also review via our extensive questionnaires, that we can assess all the products and services we provide and modify them for the benefit of future guests. In response to your comments on the hotel looking a bit tired, I can assure you every effort is made to ensure the hotel looks its best at all times by the maintenance team and I can only apologise if you felt this was not the case during your visit.
We do actually invest constant TLC , and also we are committed to providing the best 3 star hotel experience we can in our price range and also in this special location. We are constantly reviewing our services and rooms and indeed in the last 18 months alone have fully refurbished several of of our 14 rooms and renewed 6 more bathrooms to a very high standard.
We hope that you return to enjoy these improvements in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We were excited about the lancrigg vegetarian country house hotel i thought it'd be a great place for 1 night. . Our room was tired, as was the pink bathroom, the previous occupant had obviously had a smelly dog and the room felt generally unclean. We should have complained but the staff were so nice we didn't really have the heart.

The food was not bad, but not really inspiring and with the thought of having to go back to a tired bedroom we didn't really enjoy the experience.

Pros:- Good staff, great location
Cons:- Overpriced, tired

I would recommend if it was 70% cheaper but we paid good money for what I felt like a tired youth hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pageyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear Pageyworld
Thank you for your review, it is only through constant guest feedback that we can assess all the products and services we provide and modify them for the benefit of future guests.
I was disappointed to read about the problems you encountered during your stay and can assure you i have put procedures in place to prevent this happening in the future. We can understand that it is disappointing to be looking forward to a night away and then find things don’t live up to expectations and wish that we had been given the opportunity to do our best to rectify things at the time. We are sorry that you didn’t have the heart to tell the staff and their feelings are actually hurt more by seeing this published on the web than by a word at the time. Had it been brought to our attention that there was a dog smell lingering in the room, a situation we very much regret, or that your room had not been fully serviced it would have been attended to immediately at your convenience. This is what we are here for, to ensure guests have a good stay, and we like to know as soon as possible if anything has been overlooked. As you kindly say the staff are very nice, and certainly would not have been offended, but would have wanted to put things right- most likely with another room or redoing your room whilst you had a pot of tea or drink in the lounge. We do allow dogs in some of the rooms when owners are present, and have an extra cleaning protocol for this- it is not generally a problem, and although we have very few dogs per year wet weather and insufficient dog drying may have been the cause of the problem - the staff thought they had got rid of the dog smell but had we known this was not the case, we would have tried to allocate you another room and rectify the problem. I can also assure you I have put procedures in place to prevent this happening in the future. We also apologise that you couldn’t enjoy your meal as much as you might have if you had liked your room more.
Many people do request and return to this room for its spacious and quiet aspect and we are sorry that you thought it looked tired. I can assure you every effort is made to ensure the hotel looks its best at all times by our maintenance team, i can only apologise if you felt this was the case during your visit. Since your stay we have in fact also completely refurbished the bathroom and have replaced the whole of the pink bathroom suite.
Lancrigg is a 3 Star hotel and restaurant and could not operate at 70% less as you suggest, especially in this unique and exclusive location. We do endeavour to set our prices fairly with what is on offer locally. However we do have various special offers throughout the year via our newsletter which goes out to more than 6,000 guests and which anyone reading here is welcome to receive from us on request. Should you return, do not hesitate to discuss your requirements with us as I am sure that we could help you choose the right room for you.
Yours sincerely Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Once again thanks for the great stay for our annual holiday. We had a great time. As usual the food was excellent and the view from the room was amazing.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank offbeatscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear offbeatscotland
Thank you very much for posting this great review and we are glad you had a great week. We look forward to you returning to Lancrigg next year.
Yours sincerely Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,512 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £89 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale,800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which serves a classic bar menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 12pm to 11pm (last food orders 8:30pm), booking is recommended. The Lancrigg restaurant offers up a 4 or a 5 course al a carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. In order to preserve The vegetarian history at Lancrigg we have a full vegetarian menu offering both ala carte and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing