We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful,cosy & tranquil”
Review of The Lancrigg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lancrigg
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed two night's at this fabulous hotel. Great location, great food, staff were lovely. Our dog loved it. Will definatley go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garbolives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

Amazing place to get away from it all. Beautiful room (the Azalea, a mini suite). Shame about the weather, but it made no difference. The food was 5 star. Even though I am not vegeterian, I think I could quite easily become one after eating here! The location, in it's own grounds with local wildlife, deer, rabbits etc was fantastic. Just the place to get away from it all.
Thine hosts, Robert and Janet, make it feel better than your own home! Even an impromptu classical guitar recital from the waiter!
Will definitely make this hotel a regular haunt. Well done Lancrigg!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We booked this trip as a special treat for our Christmas break. The package was three nights from the 24th to 27th of December. We were more than spoiled with good company and great, imaginative and good-quality food; greeted with mulled wine and mince pies on the afternoon of arrival was just the beginning. We had champagne breakfast, six-course Christmas Day meal and a splendid buffet in the evening. Everything is vegetarian (vegan options available) and organic, and my partner, a non-vegetarian, said it was some of the best food he'd ever tasted - and there was certainly plenty of it. Fantastic! (Apparently a high proportion of the guests who stay are non-vegetarian but leave - if not converted - more than happy with the delicious fare.)

Our room was in the owners' house, a short walk away from the main hotel, through a charming, wood, which added much to the romantic time, especially when we woke up on Boxing Day to find there was fresh snow lying on the ground.

Our break at Lancrigg was all so much better than we expected and the good company of the other guests was excellent. It felt for us as though we arrived as strangers and left as friends. Hopefully we can repeat the good experience again this coming Christmas and want to give a big thank you to Robert and Janet and their brilliant staff, and son Michael, who all looked after us so well in that very special time of year.

Many thanks again and we definitely will be back again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear CaptainZ
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review and we are very happy to hear that you both enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at Kitty Crag - also that it was all so better than you dared hope from reading the various reviews! Thank you for choosing Lancrigg as a place to spend Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back. We all enjoyed Christmas here too with such an interesting mix of people and to receive a great review like this helps make all the hard work worthwhile as it is the enjoyment of guests which is of paramount importance to myself and the team.
All the best Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at Lancrigg between Christmas and New Year 2010 and having stayed there some years ago we were disappointed this time with the accommodation and the quality of the service.

Specifically the issues were:

• Toilet in room not working properly. – The toilet in our room wasn’t flushing properly, to get it to flush you had to pull off the cistern lid and pull, push and wriggle it until it did flush.

• TV didn’t have subtitles. – Although the television was digital the subtitles function didn’t work, because I am deaf I can’t watch TV without subtitles. Subtitles are available on Freeview and other digital channels.

• Service in the restaurant. On one occasion we waited for other 2 hours for a meal at a table booked for 7.15pm.

On our first morning we reported room problems to the reception staff as we went out for the day. The member of staff we spoke to was very friendly and said they would sort it out. When we came back the manager was at reception he didn’t mention anything about the problems with our room and we had to prompt him. He said the toilet problem was probably down to frozen pipes and he couldn’t get anyone because it was a bank holiday.

This was obviously not frozen pipes as the cistern would fill normally with water. We suggested moving rooms but he said the hotel was fully booked. As far as the TV he said that wasn’t anything that he could sort out. We weren’t particularly happy but hoped at least the toilet would be sorted the next day with the opportunity to get a plumber on a working day. We were staying 3 days. The next day it wasn’t even mentioned and there was no evidence that the manager had even bothered to investigate the issue.

The food was mostly good with some interesting vegetarian touches but the service wasn’t. The waiting staff are not to blame because this indicated a lack of staff training, specific issues were:

• Service very very slow. We understand that small restaurants need to know what time people are coming to eat so we booked our tables. On our second night it took an hour for our main courses to arrive. On our last night we had a table booked for 7:15 our main courses arrived after 9:30, one of which was sent back because it wasn’t hot. In all the time we were waiting for a food no member of staff came to tell us why there was a delay. Generally the staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful but on at least two occasions they forgot things like water for the table and in all the meals we had in 3 days only once were we asked if everything was ok.

Summary:

Overall the experience was poor, obviously the problems with the room could not have been anticipated but there was no evidence or communication that any attempt had been made to deal with them. A competent restaurant should not keep diners waiting for over 2 hours. We felt that the management just couldn’t be bothered. We won’t be returning and we won’t be recommending Lancrigg again.

When we checked out reception asked how our stay was. We repeated the problem with the toilet and the receptionist said she would talk to the manager and sort it out. I explained that the manager knew about the problem and wasn’t bothered and the receptionist assured me he would be in touch and arrange a refund. Out of courtesy we waited 16 days before posting this review but we have not heard anything.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliententacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Alien Tentacles
There seems to have been some misunderstanding here as we tried our best to attend to the things you brought to our attention at the time. I am very sorry that you thought I have a don’t care attitude, as guests happiness is of the utmost importance to me and my team and please again accept my apologies for failing to make your experience at Lancrigg more positive. We apologise again that we couldn’t get the subtitles to work on the new television, and that we were not more expert in sorting this out- we did try. We have a satellite system as otherwise there is poor reception otherwise due to the mountains and have since found that the system does not include subtitles and are looking at how we can add this service in. Thank you for bringing this to our attention during your stay, as no one had mentioned it and we fully understand that this would be very useful for those with impaired hearing.
We are disappointed that you did not rate the room and cleanliness overall more highly as we had just redecorated the bedroom and fitted new carpet, and on inspection found the room to be very clean indeed.
We tested the toilet several times very shortly after seeing you, and as you told me at the time, we also found it flushed after 2 or at most 3 presses on the handle but due to the bank holiday we couldn’t get the part immediately. I recall that you said you had taken the cistern lid off to try and diagnose the problem, but you didn’t tell me that you had had to do this to flush it and I further apologise if this was indeed the case. The various parts were replaced the day you left, as due to the bank holiday no local plumbers were available and we did not,call a plumber from further afield as we were also concerned about causing disruption in your room as the job took several hours to complete.
That on two occasions you were not asked if everything was ok during your dinner, is disappointing to hear as this is important to us too, and although staff are reminded of the importance of asking this of everyone at various points during service we will be even more mindful of this. We can get delays at times in the service of meals due to a variety of reasons including if a staff member is unable to work at short notice, which also was the case on one day over the Christmas period. If a delay is brought to our attention at the time we will do our best to make amends and speed things up.
We introduced the booking of times for a table to help ensure smoother service, and sometimes a delay can occur - for example we find people may then like to have a drink and go in a bit later, or sometimes separate dishes may need to be prepared at short notice, and we are more than happy to accommodate all these things, but despite this, with freshly prepared menus, we can suddenly have a hiatus with a great many dishes needed at once and then unfortunately some plates are delayed – even after 30 years experience in running a restaurant. We are always looking for ways to provide a smooth run through and will continue to do so and the vast majority of dishes go out smoothly. We were very pleased to have had our busiest Christmas season ever here and over the 12 days of Christmas alone we served around 1,000 meals, some 3,000 courses as well as countless teas and coffees and other drinks, but we always concerned to hear of any disappointment and again we apologise for any displeasure caused by our shortcomings..
We take a lot of care to employ particularly pleasant and helpful staff at Lancrigg and we believe that they are very approachable too, and we do our best to see that the great many things to do are done efficiently and pleasantly very mindful of the fact that sometimes even seemingly small things can impact negatively on a guests stay, and we are constantly trying to ensure that this does not happen and apologise for our failings. I was not aware of any mention of financial recompense following your stay and if you would like to contact me about this please do not hesitate to do so.
Kind regards Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I chose Lancrigg for my Christmas break as I could take my dog, and the restaurant is vegetarian - perfect for me. If you don't like dogs, don't worry - they're not allowed in the shared lounge or dining room. And if you're not a vegetarian, don't worry either - the food is excellent and you won't miss meat at all.
The hotel itself is lovely - a typical country house hotel, with an open fire in the lounge and rooms with personality. I had a "suite" on 2 levels with a four-poster bed but with a superb modern bathroom with an excellent walk-in shower and a jacuzzi bath.
But the main thing over Christmas is the food, which was excellent - delicious, really imaginative,and with lots of vegan options.
Robert and his staff are wonderful; friendly and attentive.
And the location is fantastic. Just outside Grasmere, and set in its own woodland, where I saw deer on 3 days out of 4. It goes without saying, given that this is Grasmere, that there are lovely towns and villages, fantastic scenery and lots of great walks within easy reach.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubyd00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Ruby dOO
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review of your stay at Lancrigg as you have captured so much of what makes this place special to us and to so many of our guests. We hope that you will be returning in the not too distant future and myself and the team look forward to welcoming you then.
All the best Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a Christmas weekend at Lancrigg, and it was superb. Rob, his family and their staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was out of this world. We vegetarians get bored by moronic comments from meat eaters along the lines of "what do you find to eat?" We have never seen such an incredible selection of top quality dishes, and not a parson's nose or a wishbone in sight! We were 2 of about 24 guests, and everyone got on really well. Snow falling on Christmas morning added to the whole experience, as did an impromptu guitar recital by Rob's extremely talented son Mike, and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Lee on the Solent
Thank you very much for posting this great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the selection of food so much too. We do all put a lot of effort into all aspects and it is much appreciated when guests take the time to share their positive experience here at Lancrigg. We look forward to welcoming you back.
With best wishes
Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We decided to spend Christmas at Lanrigg having been there once before and having thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were welcomed with mulled wine and mince pies and from then on things just got better and better. The Xmas menus were wonderful, service great and the House and its surroundings were delightful. Our superb Christmas Day experience was topped off by Rob's son, Michael, playing classical guitar to us.

The company of the other residents was delightful.

It was really great to wander off in the footsteps of William and Dorothy Wordsworth, to walk in the valley, and to see the glorious views all around us. Our only complaint? - it would have been lovely to be able to thank all the staff and to say goodbye to them before we struggled to get our cars out of the grounds in the snow.

And now, it's off to the gym....!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandMartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Jan and Martyn
Thank you for sharing your positive experience and Lancrigg and myself and the team are very pleased that you had such a great time here at Lancrigg. Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to do so. Lancrigg has an amazing history which seems to have imparted a very special atmosphere and many of our guests pick up on this. We feel very fortunate to share Lancrigg with so many interesting visitors from around the world. We hope to see you here again in the not too distant future. Good luck at the gym!
Yours sincerely Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,671 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £78 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque village of Grasmere. We are situated just 800 yards from the the very busy village centre. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape, access to the walks are right out of our door. There are no roads beyond Lancrigg, just the tumbling fells and streams. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. There is a sense of peace when relaxing at Lancrigg that nobody can quite put their finger on, some suggest it may be the water that flows under the building through the Helm Crag rock. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets Cafe & Bar which opens from 8:30am for breakfast and serves a classic lunch menu from 11am untill late. The restaurant is available from 6:30pm. The Lancrigg restaurant offers a fantastic menu to suit all diets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Lancrigg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing