We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bar Food”
Review of Ash Cottage - CLOSED

Ash Cottage
Price range: US$8 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Ash Cottage Hotel, sister of the Grasmere Red Lion Hotel. Set in the Heart of Grasmere, Ash Cottage Hotel enjoys the most outstanding & breath-taking views of the ever changing surrounding landscapes. We offer superior accommodation & full use of all of our sister Hotel, the Grasmere Red Lion Hotel's, facilities directly opposite. Ash Cottage is the perfect local to be able to explore nature's outstanding beauty & central to the rest of the Lake District. Grasmere is Cumbria's most popular Village and the Ash Cottage Hotel is set in the centre, bringing you into a haven of peace & tranquillity. Dine as the fancy takes you... our Courtyard Restaurant serves the pick of the Lake District Larder. For local ales and tasty bar meals nip next door to the snug Lamb Inn, our traditional village pub, the only one in the village. The Glass House conservatory bar, café & restaurant provides great food with beautiful views, or enjoy our traditional bar meals from Ash Cottage itself. You will be spoilt for choice. At our luxury Lakeland hotel we provide you with all you could wish for, richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, two large outdoor seating areas to relax after a wonderful day's walk and friendly service to bring you refreshment while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. Boasting a gorgeous indoor heated pool, enjoy a morning dip before breakfast or a gentle early evening swim, between hiking the great outdoors and sitting down to dinner. If on the other hand your visit is of a business nature, we offer you the space and time to think in a completely fresh setting. Here at the Ash Cottage Hotel & Grasmere Red Lion Hotel you can get away from the everyday routine and enjoy a different view of conferencing.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Good Bar Food”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

On a rainy Friday night we ventured along the deserted Grasmere streets and came along Ash cottage, which is a nice looking pub split into three. It has bar in the middle that you can eat in and a restaurant one side and coffee diner on the other. The food was standard pub fair, I ordered the large gammon and my wife the homemade steak and ale pie. Both were served up very quickly of good quality with proper chips, only let down were the frozen peas as a veg. It was quiet when we first arrived also lacking atmosphere, with only one other couple in eating, a few locals came in to liven things up! And it looked like a band would be playing later that evening as their gear was set up. There was a lull in the rain so we made a soggy dash back to our hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshCottage, Manager at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your meal,.We endeavour to provide our customers with good pub food at a competitive price. I have passed on your comments with regards to his choice of frozen peas and he is looking at other options for our new menu. Thank you again for your feedback as without it we are unable to truly see where we can improve our products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    34
    13
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Visited recently and would return. The food was well cooked and presented and unlike some local restaurants the package was good value. The two ladies in charge of service had a good line in banter and made for a very friendly evening out. Regularly visited Sara's in the past but Ash Cottage offers a better atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshCottage, Manager at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you Lakes99 for your recent lovely comments. The team at Ash cottage strive to provide a friendly service with quality and value a key factor of our company ethos. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and hope that you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never fails to delight.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is the second year we have visited Ash Cottage and we are still enthusing about the meals. The lamb shank is delicious and very reasonably priced. We have tried 5 or 6 meals from the menu and have never had poor food. Thoroughly recommend a visit and we will hopefully return next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshCottage, Manager at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your wonderful comments. We love to hear from return customers. We hope you will be able to join us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very good"”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

we called in for early evening meal there was only a few people in but i was so glad this did not put us off ,the staff were very good ,every where very clean .There is a good menu and a specials board i had the lamb shank and my partner had game pie it was all very good big portions and very good flavors we will go back next time we are in the lakes nice to find some where new to us that is so good keep up the good work thank you

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshCottage, Manager at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your meal. The team always try to ensure that all our customers receive a personal, friendly service. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Grasmere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Has gone downhill”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Have had meals here before and always enjoyed them.
Went last week and was very disappointed. Partner had steak and ale pie which was lovely but chips thick and not tasty. I had gammon and chips which i left as not appetising. I am not a good cook but could have made better. Wont be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank durham036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshCottage, Manager at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your meal last time you dined with us. However, We do wish you could have informed us at the time,as you where table checked, and another meal could have been provided if you were not happy with the gammon. I am pleased that your partner enjoyed their steak and ale pie, I have passed your comments on to our head chef as without feedback good or bad we are unable to move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ash Cottage also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing