We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Wonderful Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Wonderful Break”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My wife and I were fortunate to pick up a 2 night stay at The Daffodil on a KGB deal. Not into walking but wanted to visit a part of the country we hadn't been before. As we drove up through the floods and approached Lake Grasmere, my wife pointed out a lovely building at the other end of the lake.....this happened to be our hotel. What a location. We had arrived at 12 and check in wasn't till 3, but our room was ready,we were told if we wanted to wait we could have a better room. Not a lake view, but looking at the fire escape plan on the door, room 223, was the largest of the non view rooms.
Pros:
Friendly staff
New modern bedroom
Super king and very comfortable bed
Fantastic spa area, didn't have any treatments but prices looked about average
Excellent breakfast
Had evening meal first night and food was lovely and well presented
Bar prices more like pub prices
A very modern bathroom room with seperate power shower and LED light, sense mirror
Art work in corridors, very clever and witty, especially those leading down to dining room. If you read history of hotel in file in room you'll understand why it is here.
Lake view from dining room and sitting room
Coffee filter in room
Large 40'' smart TV

Cons:
Dim lighting in room and bathroom
Although staff were friendly they weren't always attentive. 2nd morning my wife had to go and get the coffee jug her self after she could get the staff atetntion. But this will only improve as the staff get more experience
Spa closes at 6 mon to thur. Had to rush back from Bowness one day to use it.
Small wardrobe in room with rail going back to front not sideways! Although only there for 2 nights, my wife likes to pack for a week!
Because I had read it in previous reviews, staff slow at clearer tables, otherwise I doubt if I would have noticed and it didn't stop us having a lake view table both nornings at breakfast.
Atmosphere in hotel like a library, especially in sitting room, which is ironic as the wall is full of prints of original Ladybird and Penguin book covers.
Mentioned artwork in corridors but there is none in the rooms or reception for that matter.

Because of the atmosphere decided to eat out 2nd night and walked into Grasmere. Eat in a little italian which had a lovely vibe but staff not very friendly and food was pretty bland plus the bill was almost the same as at the Daffodil.
Alot of the reviews mentioned the lack of landscaping outside, you can see this is work in progress and speaking to receptionist hotel has plans to build jetties and have rowing boats and pedalos.
2 most do's whilst there are to take boat trip to Bowness as the commentary during the trip was very informative, especially on the return journey. Must visit Apple Pie Bakery in Ambleside, best vanilla slices ever!
The pros far out weigh the cons. Would love to return one day, especially to see how the outside has progressed.It won't be long before the Daffodil is the No1 hotel in the Lake District and a perfect venue for weddings.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony-Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    423
    198
    72
    34
See reviews for
202
1,148
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Until you arrive at a hotel you never know exactly what to expect. This holiday was far above any of my expectations! Our hotel experiences include American standards which are notoriously high. On arrival we were warmly greeted and throughout the whole of our stay nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always attentive. Rooms luxurious, breakfast buffet second to none and evening meal superb. Although the hotel is very new and landscaping is ongoing, it's actual location on the banks of Lake Grasmere surrounded by the mountains and the fells is breathtaking. What more can I say other than I would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Molton brown suite for 2 nights, I can say it was the best 2 nights away from home. I cannot describe in words how wonderful our stay was. The Room was beautiful, well prepared and the view of the fells were amazing. The buffet breakfast was absolutely fantastic. The best thing about the room was the steam shower. We spent alot of time in the new spa, relaxing and making the most of the facilities. Thank you for a wonderful experience, we will be returning again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haffyr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Like others we too stayed at the Daffodil Hotel as part of a 2 night deal, we too were upgraded free of charge to a room with fabulous view of the valley. Rooms are luxurious - humungous size bed with super comfy duvet and pillows (I didnt want to get out of it....). Bathroom lovely too - absolutely fab shower and the lovely Molten Brown toiletries too (what a nice touch). Enjoyed the spa too - lovely large sauna and steam room. Even nicer is that fact that children aren't allowed, just nice to be able to relax with none running around. We enjoyed the food too - again the scales can confirm!... breakfast is scrummy, good selection and quality ingredients.
We ate in the restaurant the first evening - drinks are really well priced (nice surprise...) I can sort of agree with one/two comments others have made about the evening meal service feeling a little unorganised compared to other elements of our stay - couldnt put my finger on just one thing though - perhaps more staff?... to me some tables remained uncleared for that "bit too long", again could just be staff finding their feet with new roles etc. Breakfast seemed to be much better organised. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the lovely Grasmere, delightful shops, tea rooms and restaurants. We ate at the Jumble Room for our second evening meal - lovely, lovely food BUT very expensive!

All in all a lovely break in a lovely hotel - one I will definately want to repeat!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room overlooking the valley (and part of the car park) - Juliet Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just spent a weekend at the Daffodil Hotel, it was excellent. The staff were polite, very friendly and efficient. The food - both breakfast and dinner - was delicious (and the evening menu was fairly priced). Rooms were spacious and very well appointed. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cbcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My Husband and I stayed for 2 nights, Friday & Saturday. This is a beautiful hotel, everything about it is lovely. Firstly ALL the Staff are lovely but we must mention Ebony, the waitress who took care of us on our first night in the hotels restaurant, she also looked after us the next morning at breakfast too, she's a lovely girl. The breakfast is lovely but Dinner was exceptional. If the seasonal specials are available, try the roast pork belly, mmmmmmm! The rooms are to a very high standard, we had a lake view which was beautiful. The rooms are larger than the average hotel, so is the bathroom and the bed. The Spa is wonderful, especially after a long walk! all the girls here a lovely too. We will definately return. Just one tip, if you want to eat in the restaurant please book, it may look like there are plenty of tables but on the Saturday evening some people were turned away or asked to return after 9pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline9Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you are thinking of staying here dont have your expectations high its a lovely hotel which opened two months ago but lacks that bit of extra quality and furnishings for what they are charging. The room was a superior looking on to the lake it was very modern but did not have the final touches that you would expect for the price ie: poor room lighting, no where to sit apart from two dining table chairs, patio door windows were dirty, mirror was in wrong place we had to keep asking for bottled water, I appreciate this is a new hotel and would expect a difference next year. The staff were friendly but did not seem to have any leadership, the food menu very poor, the breakfast was self service but the hot food was not hot they need to look at this. We also got this deal from KGB

Room Tip: If you want a corner superior room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
8.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
6.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
829 reviews
17.8 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing