We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too cold, quite,and far to modern and bare inside for grasmere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“too cold, quite,and far to modern and bare inside for grasmere”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

we went last night,very excited after many years of it being boarded up...well reception frezzing, room for 50 people....2 surly receptionists who never even looked our way...upstairs to sitting room, 3 people in again freezing... no music, no nothing bare !
into bar , tables sat in middle of room no luxury no noise at all like waiting to die !
dining room like being in a service station...tables all very tiny, sat near others,no atmosphere at all nothing on walls no drapes ? staff not at all frienly either....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    436
    209
    77
    36
See reviews for
209
1,187
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland. UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This hotel is definitely worth a visit. The location is excellent- on the lake and 10 minute walk from grasmere village.Bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable. The art work throughout the hotel is wonderful and full of humour.Spa ,sauna,thermal pool is a bonus especially after hill walking ( purpose of our visit to the lakes). Breakfast was excellent and ,although buffet style,food fresh and plentiful. we dined both nights in restaurant and,again, food was superb- plenty of choices on menu. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Since the hotel was not overly busy the receptionist,Keren, upgraded us to a lake view room at no extra charge which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Unfortunately, the weather was poor (constant rain) but our stay was not marred by this ,mainly due to the comfort of hotel and friendliness of staff. We will definately return to this hotel. ( the gardens are not fully established but ,no doubt, will be given the same care and attention that has been given to the rebuilding of the hotel).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I found it difficult to decide how to rate this hotel. We stayed at the hotel for two nights on 22nd and 23rd September. We knew we couldn't check in until 3 so before going to the hotel we went on a long walk. We had been really excited when we booked this hotel. However upon arrival we were initially really disappointed. Upon arrival at the hotel a couple were complaining about their stay, they were having a discussion with the manager who had decided to hold the discussion in the middle of the reception (I assume there was no side room of this sort of thing). There were others checking in so were had to endure about 10 minutes of listening to complaints. Not the best start, even my boyfriend, who is very laid-back commented about how inappropriate it was. We then got into our room and ran a bath straight away only to find there was luke-warm water and no pressure. I spoke with the manager who came up to the room very promptly, but told us that normally the pressure was very good and that it must be because everyone in the hotel was having baths and showers. We were told just to wait a while and try again. Anyway we realised that the sink was connected to a different (hotter and more powerful) water supply so I ended up using the kettle to carry water from the sink tap to the bath. It would be fair to say at this point we were not impressed!!!

However, the hotel did partly redeem itself. I do have to say the bed was wonderfully comfortable and the breakfast each morning was outstanding. The breakfast was a buffet but with a huge choice of food (English breakfast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt and continental fresh bread and meats ect). We used the spa Sunday night and Monday morning and the receptionist was extremely helpful and allowed us a late check out on Monday so we could use the spa in the morning (as spa does't open until 10am and check out is usually 11am). We didn't have any particular treatments as they were quite pricey but the spa facilities were brilliant and definitely worth using if you stay at this hotel. The spa was definitely a redeeming feature of the hotel.

Overall the hotel was good despite the initial problems we encountered. The location is great for walking. We can't comment on the evening food as we decided to eat out in Ambleside each night instead (We can highly recommend both Jintana Thai Restaurant and Dodds). In the hotel the staff were friendly and polite. Would we stay again... probably, but not at full price!

Room Tip: We were in room 217. it was a no-view room which were were expecting but was actually more 'bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmw728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Last Sat. 29th September 2012 Adam and Abigail were married in a beautiful Langdale church followed by a wonderful reception at The Daffodil Hotel on the shores of Lake Grasmere.
Many of our one hundred and fifteen guests stayed for two nights at the hotel making a weekend of celebration in beautiful surroundings. For the Daffodil Hotel it was their first wedding since opening in July and we were absolutely delighted at the effort Mark, the hotel owner, and all his staff,particularly the chef , the restaurant manager, the duty manager and Sarah in reception, went out of their way to make the day so special. Their level of friendly service, attention to detail,and willingness to accommodate our requests was excellent.The four course meal was delicious with fillet steaks cooked perfectly to each guest's preference. The views from most of the bedrooms were stunning, overlooking the lake or mountains. The bedrooms were spacious, well furnished with huge comfy beds.Thank you everyone at The Daffodil, your efforts and politeness contributed to a wonderful happy day.

S&T

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelagh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We visited the Daffodil Hotel as part of a 2 night KGB deal which included breakfast. On arrival it is still clear that the hotel is not completely finished however that didn't put us off. The receptionist was helpful and has us checked in before the general agreed 3pm check in time.

Now our room would of been the cheapest option in the hotel due to the KGB deal however it beat most UK hotels I have stayed in. The room was a great size and had all amenities which we needed, which included a cot for our young baby. Water was supplied with the usual tea/coffee and biscuits.

Due to the refurb all was quite new however it has been done at a great standard. The bathroom had an excellent bath and power shower.

Our view was the rear field just adjacent to the car park....not the best but I wasn't there to sit in my room and enjoy the Lakes from there.

Breakfast was excellent, great choice of food and the staff were exceptional with their service. Again the bar next to the restaurant gave a brilliant service, not the biggest of seating ares however there presumably be a larger bar area downstairs when the refurb is fully completed. Unfortunately we did not get to sample the evening meals and the Spa due to having a young one!!

Location was only a few hundreds yards from the centre of Grasmere.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in the Lakes...it was great for us with a small child so definitely a good break for a couple.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellibobbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The outside of the hotel was not very impressive but the inside was lovely, loved the decor, the rooms have very dim lighting, the colours were lovely . Friendly staff but found the hotel very quite could do with some entertainment or even live music on the piano - had a lovely sitting room which was beautifully done but was not used much and could do with some entertainment in there - spa was lovely but not real a swimming pool too small but more like a l big jacuzzi with jets which was nice, maybe a gym would be a good idea too. The Rasul Treatment was too long and no cold shower it got too hot.

Food was lovely and reasonably priced. Couldnt believe we were charged for a Bucket of ice which was £5.00 and they charged us £20.00 good job we checked the bill - could have some snacks and also crisps and peanuts in the room Treatments were too pricey!! Overall stay was pleasant but would be nice if the bar and sitting room was used more for entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here on 24-26th September and took our son. Upon arrival we were advised we would be upgraded togive my son more space. The room (231) was fantastic and just what we were looking for. We had an excellent view over the lake. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough.

We ate in the hotel both nghts of our stay and the food was delicious. Would recommend.

We will definately be returning!

Room Tip: Room 231 is huge and has a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMA782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,362 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
843 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
18.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing