We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a new hotel with a lovely spa. After a day out walking the thermal pool works wonders! You can't swim more than a couple of strokes but the jets of water helped all my aches. Also the menthol spa room was great for my sinuses, unfortunately the mud rasul room wasn't working for me to sample. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities were good with nice dunking biscuits. Breakfast was OK although the fried bits were overcooked but there was plenty of choice and the second morning I had lovely artisan bread. The hotel is only a 5 minutes walk to the centre of Grasmere although it is a bit dark walking back at night. Customer service was excellent and there is plenty of room in the carpark..

Room Tip: All seem quiet, you need to request one with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashirelass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,781 - 1,787 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

So looking forward to this trip, hotel looked great, good reviews in main, new hotel with nice story behind its creation. Before I start my comments, staff were great and trying very hard, but to best of my knowledge no senior manager/owner on site.

ASo looking forward to this trip, hotel looked great, good reviews in main, new hotel with nice story behind its creation. Before I start my comments, staff were great and trying very hard, but to best of my knowledge no senior manager/owner on site.

Arrived in car park, parked next to a skip with a toilet in it and rubbish around it.
Not a deal breaker at this stage, building looked fantastic from outside and you cannot do anything to ruin Grasmere it’s beautiful. Reception oh dear, we are on a relaxing weekend looking for a bit of luxury, but it looks like every soulless NEC or Heathrow business hotel. Very clean though. Bar in reception had shutters pulled down (never saw them up all weekend) Great opportunity to offer you coffee or drink on arrival. Its an expensive rate hotel but has warmth of premier inn (we like them stayed in one on way up from South) Pre authorised full amount on card, personal thing but just sets tone of you are just cash cows. Then asked if wanted to pre authorize more in case wanted drinks. Meanwhile anyone who was walking in pays after they have ordered their drinks. Asked to borrow a phone charger lady asked for deposit (just policy). Clearly I must look like a £10 phone charger collector.
Room was fine, very business-like but you cannot fault it, TV, usual toys and faultlessly clean. I was just coming to lakes for that cuddly soft relaxing look, but felt I was on a business trip.
This is a Spa hotel, advertises itself as one. First time ever that we have been in a room with no robes or slippers. Rang up reception, my partner was told she needed to go to spa. No robes there. Asked if could borrow towel but told if only you bring it back! In end didn’t bother, clothes off, great spa treatment, clothes back on. Refreshing Spa and you have to put your old clothes back on. Ridiculous, what’s relaxing about that? Should just slide back to room in your robe.
Balcony on room no drainage so you stood in lake Grasmere whilst looking at it.
Garden in front of hotel just rough ground, few tables and chairs . No one making any effort to attend too people sitting outside. You cannot pitch yourself or charge as luxury if no one waiting around. Same in sitting room had to go to bar in restaurant which is at best laid out like starbucks not relaxing at all to get a coffee. I was in sitting room for hour which is golden opportunity for panoramic window instead of small ones. No one came around at all to offer drinks, missed business and service opportunity.
Dinner, dining room is more like cafeteria or breakfast room. Wide open spaces, just no feel, Lights on brightly. Poor lad on bar was running all over place, we had to go into restaurant to find someone to serve us. One hand they have £100 bottles of wine but has feel of a harvester. Service was unbelievably slow, after 2 hours gave up, skipped desert. Lady who was looking after us was running around. She had 10 tables we reckon. Our food was over cooked, but next door was perfect, other side they had same problem. You could see others complaining and that was further backed up by complaint queue for Manager next morning. Restaurant Manager apologised for shortage of staff, Shift manger explained no live in accommodation and staff issues. So what’s the problem, be upfront and don’t charge full rates.
No sparkling water turned up, Soup turned up as side dish with our steaks, I could go on.
Biggest issue was people who had pre-paid for dinner were being turned away as no tables.
We could have screamed if anyone had apologised anymore, staff were great but I would of liked to see owner who was tucking us up. Our side of hotel had power outage in middle of night, If we could have left hotel after dinner we would have. Didn’t even bother with breakfast we went into Grasmere next morning. We got a miserly discount but had to haggle and gave up in end as I could see others were waiting.
If objective was to get big wedding business hotel in lakes they have succeeded, if looking for relaxing, try lakeside, cedar, waterhead etc. We would have quite happily paid more than the £250 we did for one night just as long as we had service. Instead we ended up running after them; all we wanted was some TLC.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andybeckywavendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights 3rd and 4th October on a KGB deal. Excellent value for money at £129 for 2 for 2 nights.

Check in was good in that we arrived about 1pm and were able to check in early. The receptionist was not very friendly but as she upgraded us to a senior suite (room 331) free of charge and without asking! I could not complain.

The room was fantastic! Huge with 7 foot bed!! A sitting area with plasma TV, an enormous bathroom with double ended bath, double shower and double sinks. It also had a lovely view of the lake.
I had a couple of niggles; the lighting was not very good, especially over the dressing table, no full length mirror, bathrobes or in room fridge which would have made it even better!

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and received 20% off the food bill with our voucher. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed the meal. Breakfast was also good with ample variety.

We did not use the spa although we were shown around by a very helpful young lady. It looked lovely and we had taken our swimming stuff but were somewhat distracted by alcohol as it was my other half's birthday!

We ate in Grasmere on the second night at Sarah's bistro. We were attracted by the free bottle of wine if you ate before 7pm and accordingly arrived at 6.45! We sat in the window and had an excellent meal which was reasonably priced and VERY tasty. Would eat there again if in the area.

The hotel is only a 5 min walk from Grasmere which had several cafes and shops altho not as many restaurants as I had hoped. The setting is beautiful and we loved the hotel which is very modern and to our taste. There is a sitting room which we used on both evenings but were the only ones in there. Not sure if people knew it existed!?

We would definitely stay here again although I fear we have been spoilt by the suite and not sure we would pay the rack rate for it next time! Cannot comment on the other bedrooms as we did not see them.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at a weekend. It was pretty easy to find even when driving at night, located right on the main road and across from The Wordsworth Museum/Dove Cottage.

There were plenty of free car parking spaces at the hotel. I noticed a bus stop directly across the road. Check-in was pretty swift; we booked a restaurant when we checked in and got a table almost immediately.

The bedroom was twin aspect overlooking Grasmere lake. The view was pretty spectacular. The room itself was of a very good size, with top notch fixtures and fittings. A few niggling issues that we noticed (which could be attributed to the fact that the hotel is fairly new) included no wifi on the first night (we were told wifi would be back on in the morning, which was indeed what happened), the safe was broken so had to call reception to fix it, there was urine in the toilet of the bathroom (!), and no bottle of chilled water (again easily fixed by calling reception). The toiletries provided were Molton Brown which was pretty impressive indeed. The bed was king size and extremely comfortable! The windows comprised Juliet balconies so we could open them fully.

We used the spa facilities on Saturday morning and early evening. It was really quiet in the morning but busy in the early evening. The staff limit the numbers that use the spa at any one time. When we used the facilities in the morning, the hydropool stopped working and took around 30 minutes to amend. To be fair to the staff the handymen were on site pretty much as soon as I mentioned the problem and were on hand for around 30 minutes after the problem was fixed.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant on the first evening. The food was pretty gourmet. I found the steak and ale pie a little too salty but otherwise the food was good.

Check-out was quick but we were charged for the dinner we had despite having paid during the meal. We were told when we paid for the meal that the signal for the card machine wasn't strong and so weren't sure ourselves if the payment went through. The receptionist checked for around 5 minutes and had no record that we had paid but informed us she'll look into the issue and ring us should she find that no payment was taken.

I think a lot of the issues we experienced can and will be ironed out in time and I would stay at the hotel again should I revisit the area.

Room Tip: Our room (106) was twin aspect overlooking the terrace and lake so would definitely recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Daffodil last weekend for an anniversary break. We bought a 2 day deal from KGB. Because we stayed Saturday & Sunday my partner had to pay a supplement of £40 & on arrival a further supplement to upgrade to a suite. Checked in by Sarah-who was very friendly, welcoming & professional.

The room (331) was fabulous. Very spacious, huge bathroom (massive bath & shower) separate sitting area with gorgeous & modern corner couch and beautiful views & state of the art flat screen T.V. Plenty of storage for clothes. We were delighted with the room, but unfortunately after using the bathroom we noticed a really bad smell (like drains). We reported this to reception & they sent someone to check & then asked if we would like to change rooms. We decided to move to another suite, (room 226). Which was completely different in decor & design but equally as lovely-with a separate room attached with large couch & flat screen T.V-again lovely views-however this time we could hear traffic from the road-didn't keep us awake at night though! The bed & pillows amazing-so comfortable!
There was a big wedding on during our stay but this didn't detract from the service that was provided to us in any way.
Breakfast both mornings was great-quieter on the Monday morning-once the wedding party had left. Great choice & selection & all staff extremely friendly!
We ate at the restaurant on the Sunday evening & the food was absolutely gorgeous & again staff were fab, friendly & a credit to the hotel! Very reasonably priced also. I highly recommend 'Eton Mess' for dessert!
The spa facilities were fantastic-had fun in the thermal pool & was treated to a facial which was lovely-one small issue here-the doors are heavy and slam & this was a tiny bit distracting when trying to relax completely. Spa girls all lovely and friendly! Especially Ava who I had for my treatment. I'd try the Rasul room if I returned!
We absolutely loved our stay at the Daffodil & would highly recommend it!
A special mention to Ben who was great during our stay-moving rooms for us, helping us with the T.V in our room & serving us out meal in the restaurant-nothing was too much trouble to him & again he's a credit to the hotel.
Overall a fabulous stay at this hotel & the staff really make this place!
Thanks guys! Keep up the good work.
Please ignore the negative comments on here & try for yourselves! Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

we went last night,very excited after many years of it being boarded up...well reception frezzing, room for 50 people....2 surly receptionists who never even looked our way...upstairs to sitting room, 3 people in again freezing... no music, no nothing bare !
into bar , tables sat in middle of room no luxury no noise at all like waiting to die !
dining room like being in a service station...tables all very tiny, sat near others,no atmosphere at all nothing on walls no drapes ? staff not at all frienly either....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This hotel is definitely worth a visit. The location is excellent- on the lake and 10 minute walk from grasmere village.Bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable. The art work throughout the hotel is wonderful and full of humour.Spa ,sauna,thermal pool is a bonus especially after hill walking ( purpose of our visit to the lakes). Breakfast was excellent and ,although buffet style,food fresh and plentiful. we dined both nights in restaurant and,again, food was superb- plenty of choices on menu. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Since the hotel was not overly busy the receptionist,Keren, upgraded us to a lake view room at no extra charge which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Unfortunately, the weather was poor (constant rain) but our stay was not marred by this ,mainly due to the comfort of hotel and friendliness of staff. We will definately return to this hotel. ( the gardens are not fully established but ,no doubt, will be given the same care and attention that has been given to the rebuilding of the hotel).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyMurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £118 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing