We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience at the Daffodil Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

On arrivng at the Daffodil Hotel, the old run down buildings to the left are very unsightly and need to be demolished.
On checking in, the receptionist was unfriendly and miserable, we got left to find the room ourselves with directions to the lift only. After wandering around the first floor we finally came across our room, which was described as a "junior suite". As this booking was a present and quite expensive - £230.00 for 1 night, on special offer from £280.00, we had big expectations. The room was large, bland and very cold. We then noticed the large window was full of blue bottles and flies, with dead flies and blue bottles in the window cill. We called the reception and they said they would send someone to clean it. We opened the window to try and get them out to no avail. Why wasn't the room inspected before we checked in?
I requested a gown to try and warm up, but was told they were all for the Spar. It was the last straw when we found more dead flies in the carpet. We just wanted to leave!
There was no atmosphere in the dining room or the sitting room, all big and bland, and the bar was closed.
We couldn't wait to get out of the place and re-book somewhere in the land of the living!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JUDITH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
There are newer reviews for The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,694 - 1,700 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable break in the Daffodil Hotel. The hotel has been constructed to a very high standard and is situated in a stunning location on the shore of Grasmere Lake. The decor is modern and, although it may not be to everyones taste, we found it a welcome deviation from the more traditional hotel normally associated with the Lake District.
The staff were friendly and. although there were minor problems with the quality of service in the restaurant it has to be remembered that the hotel has only been open for a few weeks. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was chaotic and it would appear that there was not one person in overall charge. Everyone appeared to have their allocated role and the one poor guy who was responsible for keeping the buffet dishes topped up was running around like a headless chicken and had absolutely no chance of keeping up with demand at the peak period.
We would certainly return to the Daffodil and the owners are to be congratulated on this significant investment in this very diiicult economic climate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stopped here on a 2 night B & B basis. A pleasant surprise to say the least. This hotel is spotless and immaculately furnished and decorated. It's a credit to the owners. The rooms are fantastic with one of the comfiest beds we have ever slept in.

The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of both hot and cold food.

The hotel has ample car parking and the views are some of the best in The Lakes.

All in all a fantastic hotel which has been restored to such a high standard. I just hope it continues to offer the same service for years to come as we certainly intend to visit at least once a year.

As for the TAKE A TORCH comment- we decided to have a walk into Grasmere centre on the Saturday evening. A slow 10 to 15 minute walk. There is a shortage of street lighting and when you also add narrow paths, deep puddles, muddy verges I'm sure you get the picture so I would suggest a torch would be of benefit!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank NorthExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed for one night over the weekend, ate dinner and breakfast there and I think we would return. But...firstly, at dinner we ordered a bottle of Australian Shiraz which I happened to notice was a 2008, we were given a French bottle of the same year, much cheaper, now without wishing to offend our near neighbours acorss the channel, there is a reason I ordered Aus wine - anyway it was sorted out with many apologies but it does make you wonder. In our bathroom, when you ran the basin tap, the light went off, a bit worrying. Then there was a fire alarm at about 10:30 at night, we had just got dressed went it went off again. I rang reception but couldn't get an answer, there was no announcement or apology. But these are fairly minor things. On the positive side, we loved the bed, the decor, the ultra-modern and clean bathroom, the location and Laszlo, the waiter who looked after us so well, and with such a friendly nature. He is something special and compensated for the other staff who didn't look bothered. Lastly, I wonder why the hotel doesn't reply to some of these postings - maybe the management aren't all that bothered either, which would be a shame because this hotel could be fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warrington_UKVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a KGB deal for two days here. We arrived around 6pm so was too late to use the spa so walked into Grasmere.
There was a few nice bars and other hotels.
The hotel room was very spacious, with a large comfortable bed. We had a view of the road and of the lake, so can't complain either
Breakfast was buffet which was fine. We ate the night after in the resteraunt. This was expensive but nice all the same.
The hotel was very modernised and a gorgeous large building with plenty of parking spaces. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall this was a lovely hotel and I would stay here again. The spa is definatley worth a try. Can't fault this at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean9_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We have recently stayed at the new Daffodil Hotel in Grasmere. I would like to comment on some
of the points from previous reviewers. Yes it is an ultra modern spacious hotel, but sadly it
lacks atmosphere and ambience, it is featureless and unwelcoming . There is a beautiful baby grand piano in reception which plays CDs, it would have been a nice touch to have gentle background music playing, when I asked about this I just got a surprised look and a shrug of the shoulders. The bedrooms are lovely with a very comfortable bed,
but the wardrobe was tiny and a small table would be a nice touch. Where would guests
put their muddy boots and wet clothing ? there is nowhere in the bedroom and I would hate
to spoil the beautiful carpets. As one reviewer said the lounge certainly lacks atmosphere,it is huge and the bench like settees are in rows by the wall - very strange. The cartoon pictures
lining the walls are quite amusing, but perhaps not to everyones taste. The staff were
professional, pleasant and helpful. The food in the evening was good, the buffet breakfast was OK
And the spa was beautiful. It will obviously take some time and money to sort out the grounds .
Would we return or recommend the hotel, I don't think so, its very expensive and there are
lots more hotels in the Lake District which have more character and are more welcoming.
PS why are all the lights left on in the bedroom and bathroom when the staff have been in
cleaning the room ? Also the unsightly buildings which are next to the road and obscure the
view of the hotel need to be demolished sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheilaann34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My sister and I booked ourselves in for a much needed treatment and spa experience. Having gone to many a spa, we were both completely underwhelmed by the experience. There is no doubt that the spa itself is impressive, however, it really lacks the small detail and special treatment. We both had booked in for the tailored massage, and I would describe the treatment as just okay. However, after our massage, we were both told to get dressed again!!! This is not great when you are covered in oil, I asked for a robe, but apparently as day paying customers, this was not part of the package. So no robe, no slippers, meant we couldn't really use the lovely relaxing area after our treatments and chill out. We paid extra money to use the spa facilities, which were lovely, but limited to the hydro pool, steam room and sauna, so our planned afternoon of chilling, turned into just one hour. There were no bags for your wet costumes and nowhere to put your used towels. The customer service was poor and we certainly weren't made to feel special or relaxed during our time. Upon leaving there was no-one around, so nobody checking if we had enjoyed our time at the spa. It is such a shame, as its a great location and has real potential. My friends and I regularly attend spa weekends and this is really one I would not recommend and won't be back. I cannot comment on the hotel itself as we did not stay, but wouldn't recommend it for a ladies spa weekend - you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
857 reviews
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £126 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing