We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very new and obvious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“very new and obvious”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

this is a nice hotel, the food is ok and place is very clean and the staff are pleasant, however not many speak english. It lacks so much character and warmth that the other lake district hotels has. Its very minimalist and this adds a very cold clarity to your experience.

Room Tip: desperately need a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    436
    209
    77
    36
See reviews for
209
1,187
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed on route for a journey up North, A super Hotel very modern and so comfortable,The staff were very helpful and friendly. I have worked in the hospitality game for over thirty years and this hotel has the right mix friendly, informal and on there game. A tremendous amount of money has been invested in this hotel, I really hope it pays off you deserve it. Oh and the Spa was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the start of October thanks to a great KGB deal which incuded 20% off dinner in the hotel.
Huge car park so no problems parking. Modern hotel. Receptionist friendly and we were happy (considering the price on our deal) with our room. No view, but we were hardly in the room apart from to sleep, and the breakfast area is overlooking the lake, so not really an issue.
Bed huge and comfy and shower powerful. Lighting as others said, was a bit dim, but not really an issue.
We used the spa on our 2nd night and as someone else commented, the pool is not one to do lengths in,but is more to enjoy the various jacuzzii and water spray features. Not many people there when we were in, so felt very exclusive. Do think a swimsuit dryer is needed in the changing rooms.
We ate in the hotel one nightl. Food and wine excellent and waiter lovely and all at a reasonable price. The dining room/breakfast area is one thing they could improve on. Just does not feel cosy enough - too much of a big space with nothing on the walls.Oh and the continual soft, but annoying jazz music in the background, could be changed more regularly.
One issue we had, which is not really to do with the hotel, was the bar/lounge area in a room off the restaurant. It had more soft jazz music playing, and had comfy sofa to relax with a drink on. However this was ruined by a family with a couple of kids who instead of being in bed (after 10.30pm) were being entertained by not only a dvd player which you could hear over the background music, but also an ipod with speakers!! Really would have been great if the hotel staff had told them the stop any extra noise/music. However this was one guest family, and not a reflection on the hotel. Just annoyed us that weekend! The bar part f the restaurant should also be sectioned off to make it feel more separate.
The dining room/breakfast room could have done with a huge feature window which all guests could enjoy the beautiful view over the lake to the fells, and not just the people who are seated beside the current windows.
Location is fantastic and we climbed the fell overlooking Grasmere Lake and for an fairly easy climb, had amazing views of 4 lakes. We had a stunning sunny warm Autumn day and it was quite stunning. We drove through Grasmere and along the lake, found one, of very few parking spaces, on the narrow road, and climbed from there.
The walk into Grasmere at night, is dark, but doable, and only took about 10 minutes. At the time of year we visited, restaurants stopped serving at 9pm so do not hang about!
All in all, fantastic deal and and great hotel. Few little bits to improve which hopefully they will pick up from these kind of reviews, but beautiful part of the country and will be back if I can find another deal as good af the last one!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil_lady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We arrived here late on a Monday evening, was given key to our room and went up there.
Decided to have a wash after a long drive from Midlands, My husband used the tap and these where loose and very unstable ! ! ! ! ( Room 331 ) We called reception and they sent someone up and then they moved us to another room on the floor below ( Room 230 ).
This was ok the heating on the room was not on and room was cold, we turned this on and it took a good hour for the heat to kick in. And then was quite noisy so we decided to turn it off.
We ate out that night, but decicded to eat in the restaurant the next night, Food was good but we where sat next to a window that was incredibly cold and even though i asked for heating and to move neither happened !!!!!!
Breakfast was ok, not amazing, standard buffet and luke warm.
This was a hotel that i had followed from the start of the rebuild, and was very excited to be staying here, but sadly did not live up to way that i truly had hoped it would.
Rooms where cold and this made it rather uncomfortable.
Too much like a conference hotel and not enough on making people feel special on a occasion that they where aware of ! ! ! ! All seemed to money orientated !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchiemumma_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

went to this hotel for a 2 day weekend break. upgraded to a superior room. the view was fantastic over the lake, juliet balcony, beautiful mountains all around whichever way you look. Room was spotless and massive bed which was so comfortable. bathroom was great, really fab shower and bath big enough for two.Resturant food was gorgeous as was breakfast. Good bar with extensive wine list and reasonable bottles of bubbly. Walk into Grasmere took 5-10mins along a lovely quiet road. Nightime in Grasmere quiet but good, Live music in Tweedys bar on sat night. Spa was wonderful place to chill after day of walking and prices werent too bad for treatments, try the mud rasul for two.

Room Tip: upgrade if you like a little balcony with a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chalmersNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in early October. Hotel is modern with great rooms, super bathrooms. The terrace bar has lovely views & is a real suntrap. Food was good, reasonable choice for breakfast. We received an upgrade to a fell view room, which was very thoughtful. The spa is lovely. Large car park which is great. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends & hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Sounds like we got the same or similar room as Simon G!!! I had a KGB deal and an email confirming that I had a lake view room as requested at a charge of £100 extra for the 2 nights. Normally, wouldn't splash out this much but thought it would be worth it. I'm only writing this review as my experience is the same in that I argued that a lake view should be just that, not a partial lake view with the main road at the side. Duty manager then proceeded to show us the alternative room which was much larger but over the air con venting system!!! Naturally we decided to stay with original.
It turned out that my debit card details were not taken for the upgrade charge - mistake on part of admin. So in the end we weren't charged any extra. We were offered the chance of a lake view room for the second night with the extra charge but it wasn't worth it.

Just highlighting this for the hotel staff to clarify what the lake view in this part of the hotel, as Simon G also suggested. If you know what to expect then you should have less chance of being disappointed.

The hotel has had a massive financial investment and the decor and furnishings will not be to everyone's taste. I personally liked it but at this time of year when it is quieter, you are bound not to get the ambiance or atmosphere. Also, Rome wasn't conquered in a day so possibly when the little touches have been added, it might have more of a feel to it.

I loved the quirky and humorous paintings in the corridors.
The rooms were very comfortable and the bed was massive.
We found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good - and we didn't experience the chaos of the previous morning.

We didn't use the spa or eat in in the evenings. We wanted to eat locally then finish off in one of the pubs!

We would return one day at the right price as it is a lovely hotel and we wish them all the best for success in the future.

Hope this helps!!!

Room Tip: Clarify which part of hotel your room is in. Higher rooms best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,361 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
844 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
18.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing