We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much needed relaxing break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Having visited Grasmere for years, we had watched the renovation process of the hotel and couldn't wait to stay! We walked into reception and were 'wowed' by the high spec design, this is continued throughout the hotel. As we were really early (obviously very eager), we thought we would try our chances at an early check-in! The Receptionist was lovely and said that it wasn't a problem because our room was ready....Yippee! The room was gorgeous with views of the fells, massive bed and a very impressive bathroom! All food in the hotel was excellent and plentiful, restaurant staff very attentive even though it was very busy! The Spa was fantastic, so relaxing and theraputic! However, during the early hours of Sunday morning the fire alarm went off which was a bit of a nuisence, but the way in which the situation was handled was great, staff were very professional and could not apologise enough, even though this was obviously an unavoidable situation! Overall a brilliant stay and we cannot wait to return in March!

Room Tip: Spa is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenfingers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,711 - 1,717 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

We booked here after googling luxury hotels in the Lake District, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa seemed to fit the bill.

I'll start with the good. On arrival the hotel seemed great, the reception area had been refurbished lovely with an electric piano happily sat playing tunes. The rest of the hotel was modern and decorated nicely, and the spa was almost always empty and fantastic. We both had treatments and whilst ok I would question whether the foreign girls working is the spa had any real masseuse qualification. The breakfasts was also nice, no complaints there, and plenty of it.

Now unfortunately the bad...

We booked a 'Junior Suite' which was large with high ceilings, however the facilities in the room were not what we would expect of a £170 a night suite and were no more than a standard premier inn. We had a large (in fairness very very comfy bed), a tv, two chairs, and a table. Very basic, not even any decoration on the bare walls. The room was freezing and the heating only worked with the card left in a slot, it took around one hour to heat up to a comfortable temperature. When you go out for the day the cleaners remove it, so each day you get back to your room and have to wait 1 hour for it to be habitable. The lighting is energy saving, and very day for the first 10 minutes.

The TV in the room had BBC1, BBC2, and BBC Parliment... That was it. The welcome booklet said channels were dependant on outside atmosphere, but we were there for 4 days ranging from clear and beautiful, overcast, to horrific weather and there was never any change. We thought perhaps the moons had to align to get reception. If the hotel knows the digital signal is so poor, then invest in a sky subscription. I'm sure at £170 a night this is achievable. (note - we by no means sit in watching tv in the beautiful lake, but in a wet windy evening when you want to relax you at least expect it to work).

One of the more worrying areas was the emergency procedures, the fire alarm went off at 03:00 in the morning. We vacatated the room and the staff did not seem to know what to do, and even more worryingly seemed to barely be able to understand or speak English, we were never told what was going on or if it was safe to go back to bed. Eventually we went back to bed... for the fire alarm to go off again at 05:00 again with the staff seemingly having no real clue what to do. If it had gone off a third time we would have likely stayed in bed and just hoped it was not a real fire.

We had a quick chat at reception regarding the apparent lack of understanding of emergency procedure by staff, lack of TV, and poor heating. Unfortunately they did not seem to careless, sorry was not mentioned once, and no explanation was given regarding any of the issues... Just 'ok thanks for letting us know' in broken English.

It's such a shame as the hotel has a beautiful location, and such potential to be the best modern hotel in the lakes with a few change. The staff and owners just don't seem interested in delivering that.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank GSP1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

I visited this lovely hotel with my Auntie and Grandma a few weekends ago and we had a great time.

We really wanted the weekend to be special as we were going for my Grandma's birthday and all needed a break. My Grandma called ahead and booked us all a treatment at the spa and arranged for us to check in early as the only slots available were from 12.30.

We arrived at the hotel at 12, the time we had arranged to check in but unfortunately our room wasn't ready as a note hadn't been put on the system. The lady at reception wasn't helpful initially and just advised us we had to wait until 3pm. However after a bit of perseverance she called housekeeping and the room was ready within 15 minutes!

We stayed in the bridal suite as there were 3 of us and had a balcony overlooking the lake with extraordinary views. The room was beautiful and the main bed was 7ft! Everything was pristine and finished to a high standard.

The spa was equally beautiful, we had a facial and full body massage each which was absolutely wonderful. It lasted 90 minutes and the therapist Naomi was very skilled and kept asking if I was warm enough/ the pressure was right which was good. We then went to the thermal pool which was great and really relaxing.

We had booked the dinner bed and breakfast option and dinner was really delicious. I had prawn cocktail, roast chicken mash and leeks and lemon tart. It was absolutely brilliant, one of the best meals I've ever had. My family said their food was equally good.

Breakfast was also plentiful and good quality, you could choose from the buffet or order something else like eggs benedict or salmon.

Overall we had a great time and it was really relaxing, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessandlui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

we have just returned from a lovely 1 night stay at this beautiful modern hotel and spa. We were getting away from the children for the first time in 7 years and wanted something a little special and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. Lovely luxury rooms (we had one looking over the lake) and staff that couldn't do any more for you to make you feel wecome. What a credit to the gentleman who's dream the hotel was, who never got to see the end finish. It was simply a lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busymum43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Just returned from a lovely overnight stay at Daffodil Hotel Grasmere with my friends.
The hotel is georgous and plenty of room in bedrooms, showers in bedrooms are brilliant great pressure and you brilliant after a shower.
Would definately recommend the hotel and you must have your evening meal there as well food was lovely very good chef 3 of us had steaks and were perfect. Service from waiters was excellent in resturant and bar.
Cleanliness of the hotel was brilliant 3 cheers for the cleaners they work very had to keep hotel spotless.
Will visit again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a lake view it is lovely as some of the other rooms are on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

we have just returned home from a 2 night midweek break at the daffodil hotel. excellent hotel in a wonderful location. we found all of the staff very friendly and helpful. the bedrooms are very modern and comfortable, and the beds are the best we have slept in whilst staying at a hotel, very comfy!!! we ate in the restaurant and found the food and service excellent. the spa is fantastic especially the hydra pool, very good, I had a treatment whilst their and thoroughly enjoyed it, very relaxing. overall a excellent hotel in every aspect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrkdaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Hmm, I know most people have given this hotel fantastic reviews, and I really want to love it, but somehow I just can't. The owners have undoubtedly spent pots of money on converting the old Prince of Wales Hotel. The rooms are really stylish with good quality bathrooms. The public areas are very swish and the art work that they currently have on show is quirky and humorous. I particularly love the corridor of art on the way to the restaurant where the pictures are all taking a skit on famous artists - check it out!
Food was fine, breakfasts all edible, the cooked to order nicer than the buffet. We ate in the hotel on our first night and the meal was nice. Why no art work in the restaurant itself though, at night, when you can't see the lake,you really need some nice art to make the room less bland.
However, the hotel would work really well as a very deluxe airport hotel, but as a place to stay in the beautiful and natural setting of the Lakes, it's not to my liking. It doesn't work well either if you are there for the walking, storage in the rooms is very lacking. If you come back with wet walking stuff there is nowhere to hang it up, not even a hook on the back of the bathroom door.
We arrived on a damp and dismal November afternoon. The hotel was clearly very under occupied and yet, when this hotels USP is its lakeside setting, we were allocated a room with a truly awful aspect - why? Surely at off peak times like this it would be very well received and encourage repeat visits if small gestures like this could be made.
I wish the hotel really well, many people will find this combination of contemporary style and Grasmere setting perfect. For me, sadly, it is not the marriage made in heaven that I'd hoped for.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,248 reviews
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £119 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing