We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic facility in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic facility in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

We took advantage of an Internet deal to visit this hotel and we were not disappointed. This hotel offers ample, spacious parking which is well lit, a modern entrance/reception. The restaurant/bar area was clean and had good variety. The bedroom (though quite a walk!) had all mod-cons, lots of storage, has a good spec, and the bathrooms are large too. 'It did what it said on the tin'. A couple of minor points I'd like to make but not mark down: probably too many foreign workers for my liking; hot water for the showers could be regulated better (pressure was great!). Overall great value for money and I'd recommend it to anyone (and I'm fussy!) thank you for a great weekend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    431
    201
    74
    35
See reviews for
205
1,166
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

A short weekend break that we wish could have lasted much longer. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out, every aspect of our visit was tip top. Service was courteous and friendly both on the front desk and in the restaurant. Breakfast was first rate as was our evening meal when we dined in. Our wives used the spa and throughly enjoyed it, particularly after a long days walk. Rooms were excellent, we didn't have a lake view, but as we only spent a little time in the room, that wasn't a problem. The beds were massive, clean, crisp and oh so comfortable. The bathroom/shower etc were excellent and clean. Really can't fault this hotel at all. It may not appeal to those looking for a more traditional interior as this hotel (only open 3 months) has a very modern, almost minimalist design. (I hope they manage to fix the fire alarm in the Spa - it went off at 3:00am and again at 5:00am!

Room Tip: You would pay extra for a lake view, but there are excellent paths around the hotel to view the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Having visited Grasmere for years, we had watched the renovation process of the hotel and couldn't wait to stay! We walked into reception and were 'wowed' by the high spec design, this is continued throughout the hotel. As we were really early (obviously very eager), we thought we would try our chances at an early check-in! The Receptionist was lovely and said that it wasn't a problem because our room was ready....Yippee! The room was gorgeous with views of the fells, massive bed and a very impressive bathroom! All food in the hotel was excellent and plentiful, restaurant staff very attentive even though it was very busy! The Spa was fantastic, so relaxing and theraputic! However, during the early hours of Sunday morning the fire alarm went off which was a bit of a nuisence, but the way in which the situation was handled was great, staff were very professional and could not apologise enough, even though this was obviously an unavoidable situation! Overall a brilliant stay and we cannot wait to return in March!

Room Tip: Spa is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenfingers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We booked here after googling luxury hotels in the Lake District, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa seemed to fit the bill.

I'll start with the good. On arrival the hotel seemed great, the reception area had been refurbished lovely with an electric piano happily sat playing tunes. The rest of the hotel was modern and decorated nicely, and the spa was almost always empty and fantastic. We both had treatments and whilst ok I would question whether the foreign girls working is the spa had any real masseuse qualification. The breakfasts was also nice, no complaints there, and plenty of it.

Now unfortunately the bad...

We booked a 'Junior Suite' which was large with high ceilings, however the facilities in the room were not what we would expect of a £170 a night suite and were no more than a standard premier inn. We had a large (in fairness very very comfy bed), a tv, two chairs, and a table. Very basic, not even any decoration on the bare walls. The room was freezing and the heating only worked with the card left in a slot, it took around one hour to heat up to a comfortable temperature. When you go out for the day the cleaners remove it, so each day you get back to your room and have to wait 1 hour for it to be habitable. The lighting is energy saving, and very day for the first 10 minutes.

The TV in the room had BBC1, BBC2, and BBC Parliment... That was it. The welcome booklet said channels were dependant on outside atmosphere, but we were there for 4 days ranging from clear and beautiful, overcast, to horrific weather and there was never any change. We thought perhaps the moons had to align to get reception. If the hotel knows the digital signal is so poor, then invest in a sky subscription. I'm sure at £170 a night this is achievable. (note - we by no means sit in watching tv in the beautiful lake, but in a wet windy evening when you want to relax you at least expect it to work).

One of the more worrying areas was the emergency procedures, the fire alarm went off at 03:00 in the morning. We vacatated the room and the staff did not seem to know what to do, and even more worryingly seemed to barely be able to understand or speak English, we were never told what was going on or if it was safe to go back to bed. Eventually we went back to bed... for the fire alarm to go off again at 05:00 again with the staff seemingly having no real clue what to do. If it had gone off a third time we would have likely stayed in bed and just hoped it was not a real fire.

We had a quick chat at reception regarding the apparent lack of understanding of emergency procedure by staff, lack of TV, and poor heating. Unfortunately they did not seem to careless, sorry was not mentioned once, and no explanation was given regarding any of the issues... Just 'ok thanks for letting us know' in broken English.

It's such a shame as the hotel has a beautiful location, and such potential to be the best modern hotel in the lakes with a few change. The staff and owners just don't seem interested in delivering that.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank GSP1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

I visited this lovely hotel with my Auntie and Grandma a few weekends ago and we had a great time.

We really wanted the weekend to be special as we were going for my Grandma's birthday and all needed a break. My Grandma called ahead and booked us all a treatment at the spa and arranged for us to check in early as the only slots available were from 12.30.

We arrived at the hotel at 12, the time we had arranged to check in but unfortunately our room wasn't ready as a note hadn't been put on the system. The lady at reception wasn't helpful initially and just advised us we had to wait until 3pm. However after a bit of perseverance she called housekeeping and the room was ready within 15 minutes!

We stayed in the bridal suite as there were 3 of us and had a balcony overlooking the lake with extraordinary views. The room was beautiful and the main bed was 7ft! Everything was pristine and finished to a high standard.

The spa was equally beautiful, we had a facial and full body massage each which was absolutely wonderful. It lasted 90 minutes and the therapist Naomi was very skilled and kept asking if I was warm enough/ the pressure was right which was good. We then went to the thermal pool which was great and really relaxing.

We had booked the dinner bed and breakfast option and dinner was really delicious. I had prawn cocktail, roast chicken mash and leeks and lemon tart. It was absolutely brilliant, one of the best meals I've ever had. My family said their food was equally good.

Breakfast was also plentiful and good quality, you could choose from the buffet or order something else like eggs benedict or salmon.

Overall we had a great time and it was really relaxing, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessandlui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

we have just returned from a lovely 1 night stay at this beautiful modern hotel and spa. We were getting away from the children for the first time in 7 years and wanted something a little special and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. Lovely luxury rooms (we had one looking over the lake) and staff that couldn't do any more for you to make you feel wecome. What a credit to the gentleman who's dream the hotel was, who never got to see the end finish. It was simply a lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busymum43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Just returned from a lovely overnight stay at Daffodil Hotel Grasmere with my friends.
The hotel is georgous and plenty of room in bedrooms, showers in bedrooms are brilliant great pressure and you brilliant after a shower.
Would definately recommend the hotel and you must have your evening meal there as well food was lovely very good chef 3 of us had steaks and were perfect. Service from waiters was excellent in resturant and bar.
Cleanliness of the hotel was brilliant 3 cheers for the cleaners they work very had to keep hotel spotless.
Will visit again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a lake view it is lovely as some of the other rooms are on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
8.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
12.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,285 reviews
18.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing