We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
NW England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This is a refurbished/rebuilt/extended hotel just outside Grasmere. We had a fellwalking trip here and really cannot fault any aspect of this hotel. Staff are efficient, the food in the restauarant very good quality and good value, and the hotel has a superb ambience. We particularly liked the prints in the public areas...very amusing

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    423
    198
    72
    34
See reviews for
202
1,148
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We booked here after noticing this hotel on a drive past.

First impressions good. Modern decoration. Noticed the girls in the spa were foreign workers. No qualifications were displayed for the staff in the spa. Soulless dining room area.
Major quibble is with the cold, soulles bedroom. I have seen better rooms at the Premier Inn and paid a fraction of the price.

This hotel could have been truly amazing! It is in a fantastic location, which is mostly spoilt by poor decoration choices and uncaring attitudes of the staff.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are so many beautiful boutique hotels with fantastic staff...who really do care about their customers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FromLythamStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Having stayed for a wonderful weekend I am submitting my first Trip Advisor Review.
Negative reviewers only had to look at the web site to see that this hotel is slick & modern, that's what makes it totally different to anything else in the Lakes. If this is not your style don't book as there is a very good chance you won't like it!
My friends & I loved this hotel & it's fabulous staff. Mr Brady, look after them as they are wonderful.
Room with a view, relaxing spa, great location, wonderful food.....cannot praise this hotel enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaws25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Just returned from the Daffodil hotel and must agree with other reviews , this hotel is really modern and luxurious but would be more suited for central London , there is no atmosphere in the hotel and the bar near reception was always closed. I can't complain about the room it really was luxurious with every mod con .The bed was probably the most comfortable i have ever slept in ,and the large smart t.v. at the end of the bed was a great idea though as soon as your head touched the pillow you fell asleep .The breakfast on our first morning was self service which i don't really like and don't think it's necessary in a hotel of this standard in fact by the time you have cooked your toast the breakfast was lukewarm ,however on our second day there was no self service apart from the toast this was good and the breakfast was excellent we really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful and there service was first class. The spa was probably one of the best i've been in ,though i can understand how it could get too full if the hotel was busier again the spa staff were brilliant.I just can't understand how the hotel can cater for walkers at the moment though i believe there are plans in the pipeline to create a "boot room" .Summing up you won't be dissapointed in this hotel if you are looking for a luxury stay but if you are looking for a lake district hotel with low beams and log fires this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine though if you want a better view be prepared to pay a little bit extra also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian6333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We booked a KGB deal for 2 nights, as we only paid £129.00 for B&B 2 nights we were more than happy.
But as previous guests have stated our room overlooked the massive air conditioning unit & had no view at all. There was a constant hum from it, as it was pouring outside and dark from 4pm this was ok. (In the summer this would be a major problem)
The room was nice and big enough with a lovely bathroom, bath & full sized seperate shower. Very clean bath robes would have been a nice touch.
Food was good not an extensive menu but nicely prepared with very helpful waiting on staff. We both experienced the Spa and had treatments, both good but quite expensive- the spa was quiet so we had the whole pool area to ourselves it is beautiful.
The outside area is being landscapes but I sure will be lovely when finished.

Room Tip: Try not to have room 21 or 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummyscrummyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

We have watched this hotel progress through its refurbishment over the last two years and being "a local" decided to pop in for afternoon tea and a little nosey around the Spa, after a friend mentioned she recently visited during a promotional evening and was impressed by the venue!

The first impressions were a little disappointing, with piles of stones in the car park and a shabby housing block situated right next to the reception. We asked about afternoon tea at reception and told to head upstairs to the "living room". We followed signs making our way to a big, airport lounge type room, loud music playing in an empty room, with 3 cheap pop up Christmas trees gracing the centre of the room, looking a bit tacky more than stylish! A young gentleman appeared and we told him we were hoping to enjoy afternoon tea. We were told to take a seat and the menu was on the table, he would be back in a couple of minutes to take an order. There was only a drinks menu on the table, along with a wobbly mini Christmas tree decoration. We waited for about 10 mins for the young chap to return, apologising that there was no menu and the he gave us two options. We opted for a cream tea. About 10 mins 4 small, thin fruit scones arrived on a wooden board with cream and jam, along with our choice of tea. They were pre-split and dusted with icing sugar. I pick one up, it was warm to the touch, but inside it was still frozen and slightly soggy! My friend had to go and find the waiter to let them know... He came over touched the scone and said " you are right, it's still frozen, I will get chef to freshly bake some more".... Freshly bake from frozen, he meant! The "fresh batch" appeared, warm but still soggy... Well they would be. We ate them, did not enjoy them and were very disappointed. We finished and once again, had to find someone to settle the bill.

The hotel has so much potential, but unfortunately is lacking in soul, attention to detail, staff who are discreet and aware.
I could not recommend this hotel to my friends or visitors to the lakes, which is such a shame.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank scotlady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I've been watching the progress of the rebuilding of this hotel and was dying to visit. We've been this weekend and I'm struggling with what to say. It's clear a lot of money has been spent on this project but I feel the marketing /targeting of this hotel is very confused.

The decor is lovely but just not in keeping with the surrounding countryside. Everything is over-lit and far too bright. As a couple of other reviewers have said it would be fine as a de luxe airport hotel where you stayed one night prior to a holiday but somehow just not right in the amazing setting of Grasmere. However the bed was extremely comfortable with lovely pillows and bed linen. Nowhere to hang damp clothes or rest muddy boots so they stayed in the car

The bar arrangement is bizarre - the downstairs bar residents bar wasn't open all weekend... why?.... so pre dinner drinks were in the Walkers bar which was like a motorway service area. We had after dinner drinks in the sitting room but that was very soul-less more like a business class airport lounge

Breakfast was tasty but the buffet was set up in a room off the dining area and reminded me of big work functions where the whole company has been put in a room on its own away from other guests.


After a long walk on Saturday, we got back to the hotel ready to relax tired muscles in the spa but we were told there were too many people in so we couldn't go in. i would have thought that expectations in a Lake District hotel would be that people would want to utilise the spa at the end of a day's walking so it shouldn't be a surprise if a lot of people arrive at once and should be planned for
.
We ate in the restaurant the second night of our stay and the food was very VERY good.

I really wanted to love this hotel but there's too many things not quite right so I doubt we'll be back

Room Tip: Room 115 is directly above an extractor fan which comes on and off all night so avoid if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
8.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
6.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
829 reviews
17.8 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing