We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Had a wonderful experience, very friendly staff, beautiful location
We stayed in hotel a lot of the time, Great ambience.
went walking locally and got tips from staff re good areas for rambling.
standard of hotel was generally excellent.

Room Tip: spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,604 - 1,610 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We were the first paying guests to stay in this hotel when it reopened as The Daffodil Hotel, unfortunately on that night we were the 'only' guests, and this is a big hotel to be rattling around on your own.
The hotel it's self is fabulous and clearly a lot of money has been spent here, however for us (and this is just our opinion) the hotel is just too modern for the lakes, there is no country charm with it (open fires, snug bars etc) but as i say this is our opinion only.
The bedroom was outstanding as you would expect in a new hotel, food was very nice too.
I am sure once the hotel gardens are complete and the interior has some pictures and other knick knacks added it will be a totally different place.
Would we stay again, probably not, but if you are looking for a modern hotel with clean lines and spa facilities this is going to be straight up your street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mijsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

my husband and i have just had a wonderful 2 night break at the daffodi.l We booked dinner for the first night intending to eat in Grasmere on the second however the meall was so good we chose to eat on the second night too! breakfast was excellent especially the scrambled egg and salmon and amazing choice of breads!!!, Our room overlooked the lake it was spotless and very comfortable.Spa facilities were of a very high standard.Staff were very friendly and very polite and proffessional and certainly will be booking again.

Room Tip: worth paying the extra for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveH860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

this is the second time we stayed within a few months. we love grasmere and this hotel is faultless. its not a traditional hotel, its modern, stylish, clean, comfy, friendly, with the best beds and showers in the world!!! we love it here and will be back. i want to live here!!
no complaints at all, its amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1978manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Valentines treat for me and hubby
so nice to relax in a clean friendly hotel with exra large bed and lovely large modern bathroom.

ate out in Grasmere but noticed that prices didn't seem too bad at the hotel so maybe eat there next time we stay.

Would definitely stay again maybe when the daffodils are out, but lovely to see the snow capped mountains lovely sight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christmas62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We have just spent one excellent night at the daffodil hotel. We found the staff extremley friendly and very helpful. Our room was nicely decorated and extremely spacious with a large comfortable bed. The food in the restaurant was exceptionaly good with lots of choice and proffesional staff. The hotel is in a lovely location with incredible views. Would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in February DB&B and was our first stay since the refurb. I must say it was amazing! We won't be staying anywhere else in the Lakes from now on. A wonderful peaceful & relaxing atmosphere & location as well as excellent service and value.

The rooms are modern & spotless with Molton Brown toiletries, a power shower and separate bath. The room was spacious with a huge & comfy bed (standard room).

Dinner bed and breakfast is definitely worth it as the food and service excellent. You also get upto £30 each off the menu which easily pays for 3 courses. There is also a great choice including 3 vegetarian options each night.

The Spa is amazing and uses Germaine de Cappucini treatments & products- amazing!

Cannot recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyJCaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £122 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing