We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 2 nights at The Daffodil. We had a special offer for a half price room but I would certainly return and pay the full rate. The room was lovely, most comfy bed ever and I wanted to take the bathroom home with me!
Friendly and helpful staff.
Great selection for breakfast.
On the down side, the bedroom doors were not soft closing and they are heavy and so slam easily. Also the downstairs bar closed in the evening so we had to carry our drinks down from the bar on the first floor to the garden.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank studynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    395
    182
    64
    32
See reviews for
180
1,074
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here on July 6, we booked two rooms and one was upgraded to a wonderful lake view family room, both rooms were of high standard. We took our grandchild who has cerebral palsy, we found the lift and grounds easily accessible and the room big enough to accommodate wheelchair. Staff were helpful as and both evening meal as and breakfast were good. I would highly recommend this hotel, although pity they did not have a kiddy pool.

Room Tip: Lake view great but so was side view too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for the second time, and it most certainly will not be the last!! The hotel is great and very peaceful, and the staff very friendly - nothing seemed to be a bother for them. The food is wonderful, the Chef and his team produce fantastic tasting offerings.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place.

Room Tip: The lake views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wadey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is a stunning hotel, set in a beautiful area of the Lake District. Spotless, clean, friendly and very welcoming. The staff constantly made you feel welcome and couldn't do enough for you, but not over the top. The beds were probably the comfiest I have ever slept in. Food excellent, service a little slow at times. The spa treatments were amazing, and again spotless.
The terrace was great given the stunning weather we are currently having.
Down side, the ground floor bar closed late afternoon, this was disappointing as it is next to the terrace and would have benefited from the weather, they were also running out of some beers. The terrace could also have done with some citronella candles in the evening.The hotel could benefit from a few more staff, as the same people appeared to be there from early morning till late evening.
Overall we will definitely be back and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view, one side is of the lake the other of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FOXY1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

After staying in a standard room in January,the hotel was doing a birthday bonus as its been open a year so we used the bonus and upgraded to a junior suite with an affordable discount.In January we thought the standard room was something really special, that was until we stayed in the junior suite for 2 nights, it was huge,great comfy bed and pillows,settee ,table and chairs to admire the lakeside view. The thing i liked was the black out curtains. The only thing that diasappointed us was that their wasn't a bath(only 3 rooms in the entire hotel dont have a bath) but we did have a huge double walk in shower that was amazing and recharged the batteries after exploring Gods back garden (The Lake District).
Once again the staff were faultless eager to please and nothing was to much hassle. The breakfast was one of the best and when it comes to a full english im a expert.Even though we didn't eat in the evening i have a friend who stayed a couple of nights before me and they said it was amazing but if you dont fancy eating here which is reasonably priced its only a 5 minute walk into Grasmere where there is a few eateries.
Ok every review has to have a little moan so here's mine, i was really disappointed that the grounds hadnt been landscaped since our last trip in january infact nothing had been done and it still looked like a building site so not a clue whats happening there , but if the grounds had some money spent on it , it would be breathtaking so lets hope by my next visit they might have started something. If walking to the lake side from the hotel stick to the path because at least twice a day we saw about 100 geese come out of the lake and used the garden as their toilet, and goose poo is big and messy, so stick to the path.
Will i be going back to The Daffodil , hell yes, i've stayed at a lot of lake district hotels and this is by far the best , ideal location between windermere and keswick so handy for everything
Thankyou Daffodil and all the staff see you all soon.

Room Tip: cant do this because next time i stay i might not get the room i want
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ean12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have just returned from a weekend staying at the daffodil hotel.From the moment you walk in the reception area is very impressive with a grand piano by the check in desk.The staff greet you with a smile and were very polite.THe room itself was fabulous (we upgraded to a lake view which was worth it )a lovely bathroom with a huge bath and power shower.The food in the restaurant was excellent although a little slow on Saturday evening and breakfast was really good.The spa facilities were first class and not busy at all.IF I had a tiny criticism it would be that the grounds need tidying at little around the hotel.I look forward to another stay here and have no hesitation in recommending this to any .If you want a class hotel in beautiful Grasmere this is the place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view the scenery is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Coming to the end of a four night stay and once again I am congratulating the staff on their courtesy efficiency and sheer good effort in creating the freindly relaxing atmosphere this hotel has. Given this is the hottest weather we have had since the hotel opened in 2012 the air conditioning has been well and truly tested. While good in the public areas I have found it lacking to a degree in my room. This has been disappointing. Will I be back yes I will.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
8.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing