We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at The Daffodil for a two night stay (19/20 July 2013). The hotel was modern and very well presented. The employees were all very professional and helpful. The room was very clean and had all you would need for a pleasant stay. The view from the room was the car park which would be ok as i didn't go on holiday for the room view however there was no nets (maybe not the image they are looking for) which meant we had to keep the curtains closed all the time we were in the room, no major problem though. The spa was really impressive very clean and the hydro pool was great.I would say the only let down was the food, don't get me wrong the food was nice and of a good standard but in my opinion not for the price tag, we had just mains and 1 desert with 3 drinks for £70. They have a terrace area looking out over the lake which is really nice of an evening and the lounge area on the first floor is very well presented and a great area to relax. (we were very surprised that in July it was empty and we had the lounge to ourselves) Overall i would recommend the Daffodil Hotel and despite the small gripes i would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick44UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
There are newer reviews for The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,401 - 1,407 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

A really nice hotel in an excellent position. Really helpful staff, very clean and tidy. Situated just outside the village and a short stroll into the village. Plenty of areas to eat and relax. Found a cheap book with short walks around Grasmere which was excellent. Found 2 walks of around 5 miles each. super area to stay. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Large rooms very clean
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigboysteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in a valley view superior room (110) for my birthday weekend. While yes, you could see the valleys, what you could see more of was the air conditioning units and the car park.

We weren't in the hotel very much as we were out walking, or in the village which is only a 5 minute walk and very scenic. The information in the room states housekeeping is daily between 10am and 4pm... we didn't get any housekeeping the first day. The next day, we popped back for a drink on one of our walks and the room was still not cleaned at 3.30pm (when we returned before dinner at 6pm it had finally been cleaned). Not a huge deal if you're only there a few days, but after hours of sweaty walking it is nice to have a lovely shower and a clean towel to look forward to. Also states there is an iron and iron board in each room - there wasn't, so after calling down we waited 20 minutes for one to be brought up. Also the room safe was locked when we arrived meaning to unlock it we had to call reception to again come up... in all honesty, after the phone rang and rang and rang, we gave up preferring to see some of the Lakes than the inside of our room. The little details aren't major but there needs to be a bit more care and attention going into the service of the rooms to make this hotel worth the money.

We had lunch on the terrace the first day after we arrived and it was beautiful. You must order at the bar but you can eat outside with a view of the lake. Service is a little on the slow side, but there was usually only one person available - so with everyone watching the Wimbledon final, it could take a while to get served. It also meant the terrace was covered in tables with dozens of empty glasses, food plates, etc. The person behind the bar did their best, but possibly couldn't keep up without another person to help them.

Breakfast was included and had a great selection both hot and cold, and unlimited coffee served between 7am and 10am. We didn't eat in the restaurant as there are some great choices in Grasmere. Rooms were quiet and comfy, so overall a decent stay but we didn't feel it was worth the money we'd paid - a bit more attention to detail would go a long way and make the stay a bit more special.

Room Tip: Lake views will avoid the car park, but not worth paying too much more for
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel was warm and inviting with extremely well trained helpful staff. Room spotlessly clean with huge comfortable bed. We paid £360 for our 2nights enlightening it wasn't a room with a view. Spa -o didn't have treatments but the pool etc looked as though it was was built yesterday. The pool is like s large Jacuzzi, large steam room sauna places to sit. Used it twice. Tip it's tucked round corner next to lift so you cld go down/back in shorts or dressingown . Communal shower. Restaurant staff and ambience exec. Food v good tho -starters and sweets bit pricy but the fillet steak and sticky toffee pudding to die for. we were on special deal with £30allowance so it didn't matter.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you are taking their first price superior room. Our view was onto untidy yar...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDV&HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have stayed here before when it was the Waterside but wow you would not recognise it! We booked a mini suite as it was a special occasion and were upgraded to a junior suite. The room was very spacious, the decor and furnishings were excellent and the bed extremely large and comfortable. We were lucky enough to enjoy very hot weather while there and the air con came into its own.The best part however was the view of the lake from our balconly, absolutely wonderful and priceless.

The majority of the staff were very good and helpful, a special mention for Warren who made dining there a pleasure, very friendly, helpful, efficient and genuine. The food was excellent with a good selection for breakfast, if I had one compliant it was that you have to make your own toast! Much more civilised when it is delivered to your table!

Room Tip: Go for a lake view-well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We booked this hotel for a short break through Secret Escapes. I was looking forward to this trip as the reviews I read were fantastic. The hotel was lovely, very well decorated, staff were helpful and food was delicious! A few points which disappointed me with this hotel. Our room, 222, was situated on the 2nd floor, looking onto the roof which was home to the air conditioning vents. The noise coming from these vents was incredible!! Myself and my partner could not get to sleep until 2am when they finally stopped! Another disappointment was on our first night when the fire alarm went off, which of course, each guest made their way out of the hotel, then to find it was a false alarm! The next morning, a note was left at the entrance to the dining room apologising for the previous nights events, for me, this was not good enough. A few disappointments however a lovely hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

As we used a deal to stay at this hotel I would say it was excellent value for money but I would not pay full rack rate as the prices are more five star and this hotel is four star. Having said that the hotels are expensive anyway in this region.
Positives:-
Amazingly comfortable bed and pillows. Ive stayed in many luxury accomodations and this was one of the best and biggest beds I've experienced- Shangri La standard.
Lovely setting & terrace & view of lake
5 min walk to Grasmere
Easy parking
Free wifi (although this is to be expected)

Constructive criticism:-
The website clearly states you can order food on the Terrace outside. The manager however said they have never done that. So we had to go and eat somewhere else in Grasmere- there is no way I was eating inside on a hot evening! I thought perhaps they could have let us take the food out at least.

Overpriced bar drinks. This meant we did not buy more than one drink each when we were there- we went into Grasmere.

You could not swim in the spa as pool very small, but it was a lovely spa.
I did not find a spinner to dry my bikini after the swim.

The breakfast and staff were as expected and I found the staff to be friendly.

I would recommend this hotel and would go back if it was on a deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
857 reviews
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £126 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing