We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coach Driver Opinion (Professional Traveller)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Coach Driver Opinion (Professional Traveller)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Beautiful hotel, the rooms are huge and the hotel is brand new. Food is excellent, staff are friendly, free internet and I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel.

The only down side is the building facing on to the road needs sorted (Although nothing to do with the hotel) as it spoils the exterior look, but the lake view and garden area is stunning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    404
    189
    68
    33
See reviews for
189
1,104
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I should have been alerted when I changed the time from 4.00 to 3.00 and the man on the phone seemed unconcerned,- we were the only ones having afternoon tea (in the lounge) that afternoon. Service was slow, despite the place appearing empty, the sandwiches were ok, one, maybe two types of tea on offer, and the sweets/cheese were very nice BUT the event for the four of us lacked the sense of specialness we'd previously enjoyed at the Sameling and the Miller Howe. Hotel staff friendly and the dining room/bar area was spectacular,- modern with great photos of some iconic Brits....and a great location. Pity about afternoon tea.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed on a KGB deal so were expecting a naff room but we were upgraded in error and got a lake view! This meant we had a brilliant value for money break. Room was lovely, great bed and shower, extremely clean and a beautiful view. The whole place was quiet and relaxing, especially the terrace. The staff were really nice, just a bit thin on the ground, which meant there were always dirty glasses hanging around on the terrace.

On the down side, the restaurant food was a total disappointment. Quite pricey, we were expecting good quality and it was not. It also looked thrown together, without much thought, so we walked into the village the following evening for dinner. The breakfast was very lacklustre too. We also had a spa treatment which was sort of fun (my partner would say torture) but the mud got in my eye and it was sore all night. Apparently I should have been told not to put it on my face (not my experience elsewhere).

Looking at the 'normal' rates for this hotel, we don't think it's worth what they ask, but if you can get some kind of deal (which they seem to offer regularly according to these reviews) then I would definitely return. And eat out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekychubbychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at The Daffodil for a two night stay (19/20 July 2013). The hotel was modern and very well presented. The employees were all very professional and helpful. The room was very clean and had all you would need for a pleasant stay. The view from the room was the car park which would be ok as i didn't go on holiday for the room view however there was no nets (maybe not the image they are looking for) which meant we had to keep the curtains closed all the time we were in the room, no major problem though. The spa was really impressive very clean and the hydro pool was great.I would say the only let down was the food, don't get me wrong the food was nice and of a good standard but in my opinion not for the price tag, we had just mains and 1 desert with 3 drinks for £70. They have a terrace area looking out over the lake which is really nice of an evening and the lounge area on the first floor is very well presented and a great area to relax. (we were very surprised that in July it was empty and we had the lounge to ourselves) Overall i would recommend the Daffodil Hotel and despite the small gripes i would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick44UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

A really nice hotel in an excellent position. Really helpful staff, very clean and tidy. Situated just outside the village and a short stroll into the village. Plenty of areas to eat and relax. Found a cheap book with short walks around Grasmere which was excellent. Found 2 walks of around 5 miles each. super area to stay. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Large rooms very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigboysteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in a valley view superior room (110) for my birthday weekend. While yes, you could see the valleys, what you could see more of was the air conditioning units and the car park.

We weren't in the hotel very much as we were out walking, or in the village which is only a 5 minute walk and very scenic. The information in the room states housekeeping is daily between 10am and 4pm... we didn't get any housekeeping the first day. The next day, we popped back for a drink on one of our walks and the room was still not cleaned at 3.30pm (when we returned before dinner at 6pm it had finally been cleaned). Not a huge deal if you're only there a few days, but after hours of sweaty walking it is nice to have a lovely shower and a clean towel to look forward to. Also states there is an iron and iron board in each room - there wasn't, so after calling down we waited 20 minutes for one to be brought up. Also the room safe was locked when we arrived meaning to unlock it we had to call reception to again come up... in all honesty, after the phone rang and rang and rang, we gave up preferring to see some of the Lakes than the inside of our room. The little details aren't major but there needs to be a bit more care and attention going into the service of the rooms to make this hotel worth the money.

We had lunch on the terrace the first day after we arrived and it was beautiful. You must order at the bar but you can eat outside with a view of the lake. Service is a little on the slow side, but there was usually only one person available - so with everyone watching the Wimbledon final, it could take a while to get served. It also meant the terrace was covered in tables with dozens of empty glasses, food plates, etc. The person behind the bar did their best, but possibly couldn't keep up without another person to help them.

Breakfast was included and had a great selection both hot and cold, and unlimited coffee served between 7am and 10am. We didn't eat in the restaurant as there are some great choices in Grasmere. Rooms were quiet and comfy, so overall a decent stay but we didn't feel it was worth the money we'd paid - a bit more attention to detail would go a long way and make the stay a bit more special.

Room Tip: Lake views will avoid the car park, but not worth paying too much more for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel was warm and inviting with extremely well trained helpful staff. Room spotlessly clean with huge comfortable bed. We paid £360 for our 2nights enlightening it wasn't a room with a view. Spa -o didn't have treatments but the pool etc looked as though it was was built yesterday. The pool is like s large Jacuzzi, large steam room sauna places to sit. Used it twice. Tip it's tucked round corner next to lift so you cld go down/back in shorts or dressingown . Communal shower. Restaurant staff and ambience exec. Food v good tho -starters and sweets bit pricy but the fillet steak and sticky toffee pudding to die for. we were on special deal with £30allowance so it didn't matter.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you are taking their first price superior room. Our view was onto untidy yar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDV&HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
12.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing