We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,995)
Filter reviews
1,995 results
Traveller rating
1,117
488
245
100
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,117
488
245
100
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa lake view roomsenior suiteafternoon teamud rasulsteam roommolton brown toiletrieslake districtsitting roombuffet stylebeautiful hotelseparate showerhuge beddove cottagereception arearestaurant managerhigh standardbirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,477 - 1,482 of 1,995 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Came here in March for a birthday- and came back again in November for another birthday, but this time in the Molten Brown Suite. If you want a real treat, book this. Really comfortable bedroom and a splendid lounge area - both rooms have giant TV screens/ free internet etc etc. The bathroom is resplendent with its huge selection of wonderful MB toiletries, the jacuzzi bah and power shower are fantastic ( albeit one needs a degree in electronics to work it!). The room comes with a "turn-down" service ( delicious chocs on the pillow, too). Go on spoil yourself, you've got to do this! All-in -all a 5-Star experience , completed with excellent and very friendly service, very good food in the restaurant ( although could be a wee bit more imaginative, but it is well-cooked, presented and tasty). Breakfast is excellent - although not a real fan of Buffet-style, I have to say that the food is always hot, tasty, locally sourced and very plentiful - full marks here. The village is a delightful place to wander into and browse- and, of course, the walk in them area are beautiful. We shall return, most definitely.

Room Tip: The Molten Brown Suite ( more's the pity) does not have a Lake View, so, unless you're on a "deal", you could be a bit disappointed. Some of the rooms Lake-facing are better situated. Everywhere is very quiet at night
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuppenny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

An excellent hotel, modern, fairly minimalist decor but smart.
Modern, clean room with good facilities, bath and separate shower. All staff friendly and helpful. Excellent, non-pretentious dinner menu in restaurant. Great spa with huge whirlpool pool, sauna & steam room.
We shall return!

Room Tip: Lake view recommended but if the view isn't important just ask for one away from the main road which is quite busy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

lovely setting on lakeside very very tastefully furnished throughout stunning bedrooms beautiful spar sauna & steamroom full English breakfast that will set you up for the day.Really good menu for an evening meal great choice of both food and prices about the same as you will pay in a pub but far superior food attentive but not obtrusive service cant fault it in any way will definitely come back we stayed in october

Room Tip: we stayed in a basic room the view wasn't great but then again we didn't go to look out of the window furnishing etc are the same in all the rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocoatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stopped for 2 nights in November 2013, had a deal from secret escapes.
Talk about a bargain, top class for a lot less than we normally pay in a lower class hotel. Had to be mid week but that suited us just fine as my wife and I was off work all week. The room was like a suit but was a superior, 40 inch flat TV, seating area, 2 seater settee, large bathroom with separate bath and shower, all fittings top quality. The staff are a credit to the owners, very good at there job, easy check in,no fuss.Breakfast was one of the best we have had, top quality food,all fresh but self service, just as we like.The position is right next to the lake and views to die for.All the inside is modern and clean lines and looks new. If you want log fires and olde world charm this is not for you.We like a mixture of accommodation, and this was great for us. The hotel was very clean and looked after.Need a car to get about about 10 mins in a car out of Grasmere village. We visited Keswick and a lovely drive and views, and a very nice place to spend a day out.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cccccccccccvvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at the Daffodil last August when it first opened.

The staff were excellent, as is the hotel's location right next to the lake and a short stroll from the village centre. Some of the grounds were still being landscaped at the time but I'm sure by now it looks great.

The rooms perhaps a bit out of character with the hotel itself and the surroundings but were nevertheless very nice, comfortable and clean.

I proposed to my girlfriend here and we were apparently first couple to get engaged at the hotel! The staff were very friendly and offered their congratulations with champagne, chocolates & card on hearing our news which was very much appreciated :)

All in all a great stay, the only thing that would perhaps prevent us returning is that the cost is more expensive than your average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelongroadahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews