We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All chilled out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All chilled out!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Daffodil is with-in 20 miles of my home. Little travel and in beautiful location. Grasmere is my favourite lake and village. Chose this hotel as I had not stayed since all the major alterations to this property. Went for the spa, needed a de-stress. The lake view room was very good, spotless, contemporary, attention to detail, all you need, loved the carving on the wardrobe doors and light next to bed. Loved waking up to that view; watched the heron arrive to fish.Saw ducks, geese, many birds and sheep! The hydrotherapy pool was very different, lots of unusual features but not for serious swimming. Had a neck and back massage; felt so much more relaxed. Overall a lovely, modern hotel with very friendly and efficent staff. I have booked to go back in January.

Room Tip: Over looking the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeDistrictMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    438
    210
    77
    37
See reviews for
210
1,195
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay. Lovely light airy hotel, tasteful modern decoration and very clean. All staff were very helpful and friendly, special thanks to the restaurant staff.
Breakfast was good as were the evening meals.
The bedroom was large and well appointed. The bed wide and very comfortable. Only down side was the road noise which started early in the morning I would advise avoiding the valley view rooms.
We took advantage of a 2 night dbb break for the price of one which made the stay a reasonable price. There are some good deals on Internet sites, I am not sure I would pay full price.
I did not use the Spa as the prices were a bit steep.

Room Tip: Avoid valley view rooms - early morning road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed last weekend at this hotel. Staff are great and hotel spotless. BUT spa is not great difficult to get treatments and changing rooms not great. Food ok but not brillent. Would not stay again as so many better places in the lakes

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dopeydobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed earlier in the year and loved the Daffodil. Came back again in November on a 'Suite Sale', but took along some friends this time. We loved the improvements to the reception, bar and sitting room and the staff seemed even better this time in particular in the restaurtant.

Our friends also loved the Daffodil and we are hoping to come back at Easter!

Tried the Mud Rasul this time which was ace and very relaxing!

I really feel we have found a special place in the Lakes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxmartin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

An excellent hotel of the outskirts of Grasmere. It may be available at reduced prices via the "deals" websites and the becomes super excellent for the value.
Each room is individually air conditioned but there are no instructions, resulting in less than perfect control.
Very modern decor and fittings which will not suit everybody but this should not hinder your enjoyment.
Food is of the fine dining standard but very limited for coeliacs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for our 6 year anniversary having wanted a spa getaway we found the daffodil hotel through a brochure. It was relatively easy to find via a sat nav. On arrival we were greeted immediately and checked in. When we entered the room i found it was very modern, with a large bed and modern, clean and large bathroom with both seperate bath and power shower. We were told a menu would be in the room but we couldn't find it anywhere, having checked in quite late on, it was already dark and we were tired so we didnt want to venture out. We booked in at the hotel's restaurant for our evening meal. The dining experience was a bit too formal, having seated us in a small cul-de-sac sort of area, we were very close nit with other tables, and i felt i could not have a conversation without whispering incase I disturbed the peace. I would have preferred to been able to choose where i wanted to sit but never the less, we ordered our food. I had the rump steak (rare) and my partner had a different dish (sorry can't remember which one!) my partner enjoyed it and so did i, luckily i was not put off by a short dark coloured hair which maybe came as garnish on the rim of the plate, not the food (phew!). The steak was cooked perfectly and was easy to cut into and had a juicy texture to it. I am very fussy about good quality steak and i do believe this was good quality. Much to our suprise we got a complimentary dessert with Happy Anniversary wrote on the plate in chocolate sauce. Lovely gesture! We relaxed in a cornered off bar area to end the night.

The only bad thing i can say about the room was that the air con kept going hot and cold all throughout the night, so i didnt sleep very well because one minute i was cold, the next i was too hot!

The next day we had our breakfast in the restaurant, sat in the same place though :( but there was a large selection of hot food buffet, eggs, bacon, sausage etc and cold, continental, cereal, muffins, fruit etc. It was also very tasty and just what the doctor ordered.

We used the spa after checking out of the room and it was quiet, with only us and two other people in there, it was smaller than expected but still a nice experience. Also used the sauna but unfortunately the steam room was closed off, a little disappointing.

The location is good, being not far from grasmere village and not far from windermere and ambleside in a car journey.

The overall stay was great mainly because we got a good deal, the staff met all expectations and the food was good, though a little pricey, but we expected that anyway. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephfezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife booked through the secret escapes deal that a lot of reviewers talked about for a weekend (2 night) break to celebrate our anniversary, on arrival I upgraded us both too a lake view room as a treat. We ate the first night in the hotel. Communication is great within the staff as the restraint manager had laid petals out and changed the candle colour for us both! Very nice touch. After wanting to eat out the second night we found that nowhere really caught out eye, so ate in the following night as well. My wife's hang over can tell you that the Lakeland breeze is really good! Our room was flawless (105), housekeeping do a good job (there wasn't a lot to tidy up but still). Anyone who compares it too a premier inn or a travel lodge has simply been spoilt in the past. Yes it's modern and clean cut, but too a very nice level. And with regards to the bar the one in the dining room has it's own seating area and is always open, the one downstairs is for functions only, this is explained at check in! Reception dealt well with a complaint about the adjacent rooms tv volume, could hear it over our own! All in all, for what I paid over the weekend and too upgrade it was well worth it, however if I where too book this at full price I'd struggle to justify it personally. Would return here tomorrow if I could! Worth more than just the four stars it has.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
846 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing