We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tranquil hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here on the 'Detox by day, Devil by night' package, which turned out to be extremely good value! A £15 allowance each for lunch, access to the spa, 1 hour spa treatment, £30 allowance each to dinner, coffee and liqueurs, glass of champagne each, cocktail each, overnight stay AND breakfast the next morning. Amazing value in a lovely hotel. The spa treatments were lovely (facial and back massage), the staff are extremely friendly, the hotel is very clean and modern. Only a five minute stroll into Grasmere which is a lovely little village with cafes and shops. Would highly recommend, will be visiting in summer to hopefully experience some sun so that we can sit outside on the terrace overlooking the lake. Perfection!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

stayed here with the wife recently. Hotel is really nice and great for Grasmere. Restaurant had a few things off the menu, but only minor criticism. Price is about right for a good quality 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed on Sunday 16th February until Monday 17th - as we booked 4 weeks in advance, we managed to pay £130 including breakfast and access to the hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. A week before we visited, the price went up to £185 so do book in advance. Hotel was clean throughout, breakfast was delicious and the staff were helpful and polite. Hotel is only a short walk in to Grasmere village (5 minutes) and a short drive anywhere else. Drinks on the expensive side (£11 for a glass of wine and a pint of lager) but expected in hotels like this. The only real downside was that check in is only 3pm and check out 11am so really you're paying a lot of money and you're not in the hotel for even 24 hours. Recommend it for a quiet weekend away.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank missmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

What can we say, but outstanding service from all the very friendly staff, Nothing was to much trouble, Booked by my wife for a surprise 50th Birthday and we both really enjoyed our stay at the Daffodil Hotel,It is very very clean and I mean spotless.Modern comfortable just what you would expect.
Now the food was one of the best full English breakfasts I have ever had. The evening meal was outstanding. We will definitely return for nights for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed as an early Valetine's getaway - loved every minute. All the staff were really helpful, friendly and nothing was ever too much to ask. The senior suite was very spacious, huge comfortable bed, massive bathroom and comfortable lounge chairs with a big television. Our evening meal in the restaurant was amazing. Service was fab, lots on the menu and the food was to die for! Breakfast was beautiful and we finished off our stay with a relaxing mud spa. An overall fab experience!!

Room Tip: Senior suite on top floor looking onto the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajali95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed Friday and Saturday nights. Arrived for afternoon tea which was sparse missing some items that were on the menu, not the experience of friends who also had the luxury afternoon tea a week later. Room very nice, large for standard room. Spa nice but no gym. Evening meal good. No chance of getting in spa after long walk around Windermere shops as full. While waiting to ask about full sign 3 people came out of spa and signed out but instead of consulting signing in sheet attendant went and had a look in declaring it still full. Lovely large upstairs lounge next to restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in Dec 2013, for a pre- Xmas treat. This is our fourth visit to the Daffodil in the last 18mths.
The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard and is beautiful. Every time we have been the staff have been, helpful, friendly and accommodating. From initial booking, Nicola was so helpful and give us a upgrade on our room as we were returning guests. On arrival Georgia in Reception was so helpful and the service was exceptional. The hotel is bright and modern in the interior and a breath of fresh air. The facilities in your room was excellent. The toiletries, Molton Brown - Nice! The coffee provided in your room is filter coffee, and great quality. Bedrooms spacious and beds very comfy. We have stayed mainly in the lake view rooms and they are worth every penny, the View of Grasmere is gorgeous, from the Autumn Winter Spring and Summer. The Spa is amazing and great for couples, friends family. The Spa pool is so nice :-)
The staff in the restaurant and bar, so friendly and nothing is to much trouble. The food is Devine!! and the breakfast, fresh plenty of choice and great value in your B&B rate. We have eaten in the evenings on each occasion and we have always been so happy with the service and choice of food. The menu is well thought of and I feel getting better every time we visit.
The hotel is so convenient to Grasmere and few minutes walk to the village, great range of tea shop coffee shops, and all the famous tourist attractions of Grasmere, including Dove Cottage directly opposite the hotel.
Overall we love this hotel and they are making improvements all the time ,to add to this Beautiful Hotel. Cant wait to come back. Everyone should try it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,448 reviews
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
537 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £115 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing