We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Greeted with a smile in reception that put a smile on our faces which we left with after our stay. A birthday treat for my wife turned into something magical. The room was of the highest of standards, so well designed, as was the whole hotel right from the carpets to the art on the walls which is well worth spending a little time viewing. The food was superb served by the friendly staff (it must be a great place to work as all of the staff were happy) the key to a good meal is the best produce, cook perfectly and served on hot plates, it delivered on all fronts. Well done The Daffodil, we will be back.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room with a view over the roof of the industrial part of the building, we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cawflands9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for a quick break last weekend. After a traumatic couple of weeks, it was just what we needed to help us relax. The staff were lovely, the food excellent and our room absolutely gorgeous with a beautiful view of the lake and hills. We will be back, hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Wonderful weekend stay. Good quality hotel with spacious bedroom complete with huge comfy bed..Staff very friendly and helpful. I had a special request as my wife had recently had an operation, and we were given a lovely room. I understand it has recently been refurbished, and was very modern and bright.
Very convenient for Wordsworth's cottage(across the road) and a short walk into Grasmere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for the weekend. The spa is small but very relaxing and wasn't very busy. The RASUL treatment was very relaxing. Rooms very comfortable- everything inside the hotel has been decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Lovely individual prints on the walls that made us smile. Food excellent- lovely coffee lounge... bathrooms were superb, Staff well trained- friendly and polite! It poured with rain ... but the hotel was so comfortable that we really didn't mind! We will be back.

Room Tip: We were on a special deal so knew our rooms wouldn't have a view. If you want a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liselrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It would be nitpicking to give this hotel less than full marks. The room was lovely with a wonderfully large and comfortable bed and a spacious and well appointed bathroom. We found all the staff to be friendly and efficient .
We enjoyed spending an hour in the spa on a wet afternoon and relaxed afterwards in the lounge.
We visit the Lakes regularly and liked the Daffodil's contemporary feel, but maybe if you were visiting for the first time you may want something with more local character.
We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiesue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here on the 'Detox by day, Devil by night' package, which turned out to be extremely good value! A £15 allowance each for lunch, access to the spa, 1 hour spa treatment, £30 allowance each to dinner, coffee and liqueurs, glass of champagne each, cocktail each, overnight stay AND breakfast the next morning. Amazing value in a lovely hotel. The spa treatments were lovely (facial and back massage), the staff are extremely friendly, the hotel is very clean and modern. Only a five minute stroll into Grasmere which is a lovely little village with cafes and shops. Would highly recommend, will be visiting in summer to hopefully experience some sun so that we can sit outside on the terrace overlooking the lake. Perfection!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

stayed here with the wife recently. Hotel is really nice and great for Grasmere. Restaurant had a few things off the menu, but only minor criticism. Price is about right for a good quality 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,247 reviews
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £118 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing