We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word. Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In a word. Beautiful!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My h2b paid for me and a friend to stay overnight in a dinner, bed and breakfast package.

We went in early May and used the break as a spa/chill out.

Upon walking into the reception we were greeted by a modern reception area. Each to their own, however, this fresh approach is so refreshing after the numerous places that have the twee 'Wordsworth style' country house hotel look.

The staff were friendly and attentive. Directions were given to the room and spa and the staff wished us a pleasant stay.

We went to the room first. I've got to say, the hotel certainly likes it's art. It's everywhere. Not in an overbearing sense, but in little touchs. What's that on the wall in the corner? It's a bunny. The art on the walls were humorous (not in a Blackpool postcard way). The pictures on the way to the restaurant are a different take on some modern classics. A fabulous touch!

The room? Beautifully finished; the etched work on the wardrobe doors, the curtains. The beds were extremely comfortable with nice fluffy feather pillows and duvet. It was clean-yes I do check! The view left a lot to be desired however as we were there for one night this was liveable with. The bathroom. First off; Molton Brown products! A bath you could swim in and huge separate shower enclosure. Towels of course provided and were if a high standard.

After unpacking we attended the Spa. We were handed bath robes and flip flops and changed ready to use the facilities. The Spa area is divine. Exactly what a Spa should be. You can see for yourself what the have to offer. What I will add is that again it's clean, warm and enclosed. There's no windows to the 'outside world' in the pool area which aided a sense of well being. A bonus for me. I'm sorry to anyone this may offend-no children allowed. Kids are great; in a swimming pool, play park, jungle gym. In a Spa; kids aren't great. To be fair to them, they aren't kid places! However, I've attended Spas that allow children or tag on the 'Spa' to a leisure facility-which doesn't really work.

For the dinner; we got to chose from the al a carte menu-in the package there was a £30 allowance per person. This was easily two courses (not if you go for the veal maybe!). We also had drinks but the bar bill came to £17 odd minus what was left from the meal allowance. The actual food. Delicious. We both had chicken. Which actually tasted, you know, like chicken! Service was quick-not rushed and the friendly attendant was attentive!

The nights sleep. Comfortable. The room was warm and very dark (back to the heavy duty curtains!).

Breakfast. Great selection. Wheat/gluten free available (as one would expect in such a place!). Hot and cold available and I'll go as far to say that there was something there for everyone!

There is a slight downside... I haven't let it affect the grade as I have every faith the venue will sort out the matter- I was over charged at the Spa. I was charged full price for a treatment that had 10% off... Have emailed the venue to sort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    419
    198
    72
    34
See reviews for
201
1,144
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had been planning on extending our trip at the Lakes and wanted to book another hotel in the area. Had been impressed with the location of this hotel and we decided to drop by and check it out before booking a room. After looking out at the view, which was stunning! We went to the bar and ordered drinks and a scone. Had to carry over our own to drinks to table, although there had been more staff than customers standing around, we were ok with this, but after waiting for quite a while for the scones my husband went to the bar to check on the delay. As he did, the bar man came out of another room and what felt like a reprimand, shouted over to us that he had just left these on a different table, as we felt like naughty school kids we got up but he waved us down to gesture he would bring them through. As he did he slid them over the table and I had to move my glass out of the way to save it from toppling over. It may sound a little petty ..but as a result of this, we decided not to part with our hard earned £400 plus for a room. Overall, I was very disappointed as I had high expectations for this hotel after checking its web site and its location and was really wanting to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deedon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First impressions - the hotel's road facing buildings are very scruffy and in need of a facelift. The first view when driving in to the hotel is of the service area. The location by the lake is however stunning.

At reception we were advised we had received a double upgrade to a master suite. As you can imagine we were excited when going up to the room, but underwhelmed on entering. There was nothing in the room which you wouldn't find in a standard 4 star hotel room, and the view was very disappointing, as was the road noise. There were some basic problems with the room - no suitcase stand so ended up having to get stuff out of it from the floor; no rubbish bin in the bathroom; no mirror above the place where you'd expect to plug in the hairdryer. Hairdryer was cheap and difficult to use and the kettle painfully slow. The shower was excellent, and there were twin hand basins - although I'd have preferred more space to put things around the hand basin. There was loads of space, including a separate sitting area, but this was so sparsely furnished with sofa and TV that it felt unwelcoming.

We went down to order afternoon tea overlooking the lake. Tea and sparkling wine were brought straight away. 15 minutes later a waitress appeared and asked if we ordered afternoon tea - she told us her colleague had put the wrong table number on the order. Another 10 minutes later the food arrived - the tea was cold by this time. We noted that the plates and glasses were still on the table 2 and a half hours after we'd finished.

The dinner menu is the same each night - no specials or fresh ingredients depending on what is in season. The food quality is not great, and the service very hit and miss. The staff in the restaurant are not trained well, and there does not appear to be anyone in charge who is directing operations. As an example, our wine was brought in a cooler, the young man took the bottle out of the cooler, poured one glass for me, ignored my partner completely and left the bottle on the table without the cooler.

Breakfast is quite ordinary - only sliced brown and white bread to toast yourself, runny scrambled egg, greasy fried eggs and no crusty fresh bread to eat with cheese or cooked meat.

Most staff do not smile eg when you walk into the restaurant or enter the bar, and I was ignored at reception for 5 minutes whilst the receptionist was working at her PC.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel as I feel there are many other hotels in the area which are much better at service, food and creating a more relaxing and welcoming ambience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We found The Daffodil Hotel to be a lovely place to stay,the modern interior in a lovely lakes stone building would not be out of place in a good city centre hotel.We got a special midweek deal on our stay and would probably not have chosen The Daffodil as it is in my opinion a bit pricey on the normal tariff.If like us you prefer old world type charm when you stay in the lakes then I would say stay at a more traditional lakes establishment.That being said if you like modern and creature comforts then The Daffodil should deliver for you.

Room Tip: Views good from most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standawson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent two nights at The Daffodil for a break from the daily grind and enjoyed it very much. Very easy to find on main road, parking good and the views of the surrounding mountains and lake give it something that the other hotels in Grasmere do not offer. Rooms are bright and airy with a modern European design throughout. The paintings in the hotel corridors and artwork are witty and give it character.

The corridor to the dining room is impressive as is the view of the lake and fells once inside(worth booking in advance for a window seat). The walls are decorated with very stylish portraits of the great and good from the world of British celebrity. The food was delicious and a very good wine list. It would be nice perhaps to see some classic cocktails on offer as an aperitif. Dined in the bar area also which was equally good (jumbo fish and chips!). Excellent choice and quality food at breakfast also.

The lounge is beautiful but perhaps a little overlooked and you get some great views of the lake - definitely somewhere to start the day with a newspaper and listen to the birdsong or equally good for having a night-cap.

A special thanks to Nick who was our waiter/barman throughout - a credit to the hotel who understands good customer service and really gave a Lakeland welcome. As a perfect base for exploring Grasmere too (just 10 minutes away) The Daffodil made for a great three day escape.

Room Tip: It's worth going for a superior room as the mountain/lake views are quite inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minibreaker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I booked a junior suite as a surprise for my better half's birthday. Despite a large wedding occurring at the same time as our stay, this didn't detract from our stay as it quietened down not too late and the music could hardly be heard anyway.
Arrival greeting was very friendly, including a pleasant bit of chit chat with the gentleman receptionist.
Our room had a 3 window aspect onto Lake Grasmere, which was simply sublime.
Comfy bed (7 foot wide!), lovely toiletries and impeccably clean.
We used the hydrotherapy spa and steam room and these were lovely. Very clean indeed, including nice shower gels etc even in the gents changing room.
A really lovely spot to unwind and relax.
Full breakfast probably one of the best I've ever had in a hotel and every member of staff we dealt with was very attentive, including offers of discounts by 'name dropping' staff members at local Grasmere restaurants.
It may be a little on the pricey side but you get what you pay for, keep an eye out on the hotels own site for deals, none of the supposed 'cheap' online booking companies came close to what the hotel itself offered directly, you just have to trawl their website somewhat.
Nice little touches make you feel welcome too, such as leaving your car on checkout day if you want to go out walking etc.

Room Tip: Opt for a junior suite or higher if funds allow, they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle_Ben51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

all our wedding party I've spoken to thought the hotel, venue, organisation
of my daughters wedding was perfect
the hotel was magnificent, venue was stunning, staff were fantastic
which made our stay perfect
many thanks
peter W sykes

Room Tip: Grasmere is my favourite village in the lake district the daffodil hotel is amazing and for a weddi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraPeter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
8.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
6.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
17.8 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,605 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing