We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from a stay at The Daffodil on 29th and 30th June 2014. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the views first class and the food in the restaurant was Excellent. After eating in the restaurant on Saturday night we had a drink in the bar within the restaurant area. At just before 11pm the barman said we would have to leave the bar as he was far too busy with a range of different jobs to serve us any more! It was recommended that we went down to the bar in the entrance if we wanted any further drinks. We had been told earlier in the day that the bar in the entrance was only for wedding guests and we would not be able to get served. As we were speaking to the barman that was closing down on us the barman from the entrance bar came into the restaurant bar and informed us that if we came down to the entrance bar that he would not serve us as it was purely for wedding guests! The two barmen had an argument in front of us both claiming reasons for why either of the bars cannot serve us any more! We left our drinks on the bar and went to bed instead!
I have never ever seen such unprofessional behaviour in any hotel in all my life! We were checking out the hotel for a potential wedding venue for next year and can safely say we won't be getting married at The Daffodil!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Paul175T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We decided to go a little more upscale on this hotel and weren't disappointed. Nice location on a lake with beautiful grounds. Only issue would be that it's too far to walk to find another restaurant or pub so you're forced to drive anywhere other than stay in the hotel.

We spent two nights so had lots of time to explore the local areas, went into Grasmere and spent some time in Ambleside shopping and took a boat ride on the lake.

The room we had was on the 1st floor looking out to the lake. Very large with a big comfortable bed, breakfast was buffet style in the dining room well worth having, we did have dinner one night which was good but nothing special. They have a small bar and lounge area where we spent both evenings sitting at the bar having a great time with the bartender and his fiancé, closing the bar both nights.

Overall a very nice place, relaxing, comfortable, a nice stop, now off to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out to the lake and as far away from the Restaurant as possible. Get the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful, refreshing, delightful, and whimsical place.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nite stay. The room was comfortable; the food was good; the staff were helpful and friendly.
But my favorite thing was the artwork. Comical, whimsical paintings and drawings lined every corridor in the building. All were purchased from London artists. Several made me laugh out loud. My favorite art, however, were the random murals found in hallways, stairwells, and bedrooms: a pair of glasses on a windowsill, a sullen maid sweeping dust under the wall, a skinny man fell-walking along my baseboard.
Great place to stay. Wish we'd had more time there.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Erynn_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Treated my parents to Sunday lunch at the Daffodil in Grasmere, as we had watched the renovations with interest over several years. Good quality and well cooked food with attentive if slightly pedestrian service, which was strange as they weren't busy. The dining room is on the first floor to take advantage of the lake views, however, if one of your party has mobility issues then be warned, although there is a lift it is some distance to the restaurant - wheelchair recommended and not available from reception. The other jarring moment was a sudden loud blast of music - does anyone want to listen to Oasis with roast beef? When requested to turn this off, the initial response was "the other guests have asked for it". Fortunately, sense prevailed and the speaker by our table was duly muted. Advice to "other guests" - get a life and have a conversation. A pleasant experience but not one that is likely to tempt us back again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank HESLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location and scenery but the room had constant noise because of the AC vents outside and the room was cramped. It took 3 calls and 2.5 hours to get some extra blankets. For some reason, staff at reception kept forgetting to send someone.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Afsary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were very disappointed in the facilities in this room for a disabled member of our party of seven. When shown to the room we found that there wasn't a telephone in the room! We had to go to reception and ask for one to be sent up. In the bathroom there was a very small wash basin which did not have a plug! Again one was requested from reception but they said that there wasn't one. There was no mirror over the sink, it was situated much further along the wall so the disabled person who wanted to shave had to move from the sink( with no plug to hold the water) to the mirror! When the shower was used the handle came off and the shower could not be used. This was reported to reception who said that it would be fixed that day. When the shower was used that evening the handle had not been repaired so they had to use the hand held hose to shower and this caused water to flood the bathroom. On checking out of the hotel (we stayed two nights) a complaint was made to the management who came to the room only to say the the room was disabled compliant. That there was a plug in reception (pity the staff weren't aware of this) and that she had used the room and found no problems. She was not disabled. We felt let down that the disabled person had encountered so many difficulties in what should have been a comfortable break, Also, the room was at the rear of the hotel overlooking the bins, the air-conditioning units and some semi-derelict buildings. Apparently all the disabled rooms overlook the rear of the hotel. Why? The hotel gave a small reduction on the room cost for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: rooms on this side of the hotel all overlook the bin storage area, Avoid these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

On a recent break to the Lake District myself and a friend decided to book into the Spa for an afternoon of relaxation after a few days of hard fell Walking. The website advertises the spa a lot better than what you will experience.
Firstly, upon both of us booking in for treatments that were over £125 each we still had to pay the £20 fee for access to the spa which was very disappointing as I would have thought after spending so much and only wanting access in the afternoon for a few hours this would be complementary, we therefore were expecting great things from this spa due to this cost.
As both of us wanted treatments we were told upon booking (once you get thorough after many attempts to call) that only 1 therapist was working and we would have to be one after the other, I would have thought on a Bank Holiday weekend they would have more staff available. We therefore never saw each other whilst in the spa.
The treatment itself was lovely but a little over priced.
The Spa facilities themselves were very small and loud. The changing rooms are fine, however for people wanting to change in private there are no cubicles.
The spa pool area has a few sun loungers and chairs but not enough for the number of people (hotel guests get free access to the spa area) and therefore you wonder what you are paying for. The pool has a water jet area which is lovely when in the pool but if wanting to read or sleep this is not ideal as it causes too much noise. There are also fans regulating the temperature which when the pool isn't being used are very loud! There does't seem to be any quiet room other than the one you are shown to prior to treatments, which when asked if I could use was looked at in a odd manner and informed 'if you really want to'! Not very inviting or helpful.
There is no natural light in the spa and therefore you don't get any view.
Overall not what you would expect especially as the hotel from what we saw looked lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 245JoE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,436 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £117 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing