We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Lakeland - but nothing 'Lakeland' about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Heart of Lakeland - but nothing 'Lakeland' about it”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent a weekend as part of a wedding party.

This place is weird: it's right in the heart of Lakeland, on Grasmere, opposite Dove Cottage. But go inside and you could be in any standard hotel anywhere. They've missed a trick here: the ambience could have been so much more fitting to its surroundings.

It's clearly popular with international coach parties.

Comfortable rooms (though they'd forgotten to replenish our hospitality tray), and an excellent wedding meal for their friendly chef.

Friendly, efficient staff. Drinks expensive. But breakfast was very odd - it seemed to be complete chaos, with coffee, tea etc not being brought to tables for whihc it had been ordered, and whirling staff rushing all over the place. Also, if you order a 'fish dish' from the breakfast menu there is an extra charge! Given the price of the room, this seems unreasonable.

Frankly, if you want to stay in Grasmere, go for a local B&B and experience real Lakeland!

Room Tip: You pay for what you get! 'Lake views' are just that, but more expensive than 'Mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    436
    209
    77
    36
See reviews for
209
1,187
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in lake view view and were lucky enough to get a corner room with 2 sets of French opening doors so the views were great. The price included dinner and the food was of a high standard although my dick was a little overcooked. observed by fellow diners also. Breakfast was varied. Didnt try the spa so can't comment on that

Room Tip: Go for a corner room if possible for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikeyofboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from a stay at The Daffodil on 29th and 30th June 2014. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the views first class and the food in the restaurant was Excellent. After eating in the restaurant on Saturday night we had a drink in the bar within the restaurant area. At just before 11pm the barman said we would have to leave the bar as he was far too busy with a range of different jobs to serve us any more! It was recommended that we went down to the bar in the entrance if we wanted any further drinks. We had been told earlier in the day that the bar in the entrance was only for wedding guests and we would not be able to get served. As we were speaking to the barman that was closing down on us the barman from the entrance bar came into the restaurant bar and informed us that if we came down to the entrance bar that he would not serve us as it was purely for wedding guests! The two barmen had an argument in front of us both claiming reasons for why either of the bars cannot serve us any more! We left our drinks on the bar and went to bed instead!
I have never ever seen such unprofessional behaviour in any hotel in all my life! We were checking out the hotel for a potential wedding venue for next year and can safely say we won't be getting married at The Daffodil!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Paul175T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We decided to go a little more upscale on this hotel and weren't disappointed. Nice location on a lake with beautiful grounds. Only issue would be that it's too far to walk to find another restaurant or pub so you're forced to drive anywhere other than stay in the hotel.

We spent two nights so had lots of time to explore the local areas, went into Grasmere and spent some time in Ambleside shopping and took a boat ride on the lake.

The room we had was on the 1st floor looking out to the lake. Very large with a big comfortable bed, breakfast was buffet style in the dining room well worth having, we did have dinner one night which was good but nothing special. They have a small bar and lounge area where we spent both evenings sitting at the bar having a great time with the bartender and his fiancé, closing the bar both nights.

Overall a very nice place, relaxing, comfortable, a nice stop, now off to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out to the lake and as far away from the Restaurant as possible. Get the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful, refreshing, delightful, and whimsical place.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nite stay. The room was comfortable; the food was good; the staff were helpful and friendly.
But my favorite thing was the artwork. Comical, whimsical paintings and drawings lined every corridor in the building. All were purchased from London artists. Several made me laugh out loud. My favorite art, however, were the random murals found in hallways, stairwells, and bedrooms: a pair of glasses on a windowsill, a sullen maid sweeping dust under the wall, a skinny man fell-walking along my baseboard.
Great place to stay. Wish we'd had more time there.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erynn_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Treated my parents to Sunday lunch at the Daffodil in Grasmere, as we had watched the renovations with interest over several years. Good quality and well cooked food with attentive if slightly pedestrian service, which was strange as they weren't busy. The dining room is on the first floor to take advantage of the lake views, however, if one of your party has mobility issues then be warned, although there is a lift it is some distance to the restaurant - wheelchair recommended and not available from reception. The other jarring moment was a sudden loud blast of music - does anyone want to listen to Oasis with roast beef? When requested to turn this off, the initial response was "the other guests have asked for it". Fortunately, sense prevailed and the speaker by our table was duly muted. Advice to "other guests" - get a life and have a conversation. A pleasant experience but not one that is likely to tempt us back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HESLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location and scenery but the room had constant noise because of the AC vents outside and the room was cramped. It took 3 calls and 2.5 hours to get some extra blankets. For some reason, staff at reception kept forgetting to send someone.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Afsary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,363 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
843 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
18.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing