We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spent the most relaxing 3 days of a 6 week European adventure at this hotel. It is ideally located in the most relaxed atmosphere- 'Peter' rabbits on the lawn of the hotel each night and a gaggle of geese feeding on the lawns first thing each morning - sensational. Our room overlooked the lake and was a spacious yet cosy. The bathroom essentials were Molton Brown - now sourced by us for future use.
The corridors of the hotel are lined with an eclectic array of unique art work - drawings depicting people in their true light
The restaurant/ bar area is lined with photos of famous actors, models and musicians from the 50s, 60s and 70s. It was fun to identify names, faces and eras .
We would highly recommend this great place of destinations

Room Tip: Our room was great so suggest one that overlooks the nearby lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    413
    197
    70
    34
See reviews for
196
1,123
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Our recent stay at The Daffodil was for a friends wedding.

The setting for this hotel is very nice, just a hop away from the lake and quiet enough. As a venue it has good facilities, nice rooms and is generally clean & tidy. For weddings it has a large function room, but my only observation would be that it seems to lack character - feels very much like a conference centre at an airport rather than cosy venue for a friendly bash.

The biggest issue for this place is it's staff & hotel policies. For example, the wedding was at 3:30pm, but the venue just would not allow us into our room before 3pm. That meant the ladies had to get changed into their dresses in the Spa changing rooms - paddling though the wet floors! Not really what you would expect from a 4 star venue @ £150 per night.

We found the staff cold, unhelpful and at no time did we feel welcome. The Daffodil made plenty of revenue from us and the many other guests staying - but we were certainly just numbers and never guests.

I'd not rush back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JockTheCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a beautiful location looking forward to a luxury break given the rate paid.

Rooms were very small for the price. We got a room with slanting ceiling facing the air conditioning units which was not only highly priced but also noisy at night. When we spoke to staff and told them it was our anniversary and that it would be nice to have a view they said that is what we paid for, and that they couldn't do much for the first few nights but on the last night they could upgrade us.... At an additional cost! Was disappointed by this. Five star prices for a three star size and view room.

The lighting in the room was also dim to say the least

Staff at reception were very polite but also very forgetful. I asked them for a feather pillow but never heard back and also we had problems with the safe. We were told someone would come up and sort out but again they forgot and only came up on prompting the next day.

Not sure I would stay there again or recommend it... Shame really!



Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank TaraNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
374 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The last time I stayed at the hotel was in 1983 when it was the Prince of Wales. The special occasion being our honeymoon. It was a 'prestigious' hotel in those days but hats off to the Harwood & Brady families for a wonderful transformation. The hotel is totally refurbed and more bedrooms, rooms added. A lovely building. Check in was friendly and easy, explanations easy to understand. Room was large, with King bed. Large modern bathroom, bath, shower. Tea & Coffee making, room safe, iron & board, wifi, large TV with all computer attachments and fresh water. We had a view of Helm Crag which was ideal.

We tried the restaurant for dinner and found it to be reasonably priced and quantity and quality of food was excellent. Service was okay. Canon of lamb highly recommended. All food is locally sourced. Breakfast was substantial, all the cereals, yoghurts, hams cheeses and a full hot buffet, eggs, bacon, cumberland sausage, mushrooms et al... substantial!

We also tried the Spa and had the mud rasul treatment... very different indeed but good. Spa is excellent with the steam room & sauna. Sitting at the tranquil lakeside with a nice cup of tea.. priceless.

Not a cheap place to stay but you do get what you pay for.

Would I return to the Daffodil - yes
Would I recommend to friends and family... certainly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A beautiful location for a hotel and a great standard throughout. It is unfortunate that during our stay foul mouthed and rowdy wedding guests did their best to keep everyone awake and trash the ground floor and outside area. The next morning the ground floor and grounds were still in an atrocious state and had not been fully returned to their clean state before we checked out at 11am. The room was large, and the view of the lake fantastic, but no bath & a small bathroom which was disappointing when spending more than £250 on a room. The staff were friendly and helpful, the spa is great. However, the poor treatment of the hotel by the wedding guests and apparent lack of control over them by the staff marred our overall enjoyment. The wedding guests took every available car space, littered the grounds with bottles and empty glasses and treated the common areas like their personal dumping grounds with complete disregard for other guests. Not that it should put you off - just ask if there is a wedding planned before you book.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view - although all views would be pretty spectacular in this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheeky2xist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I have stayed here a few times and it is still as lovely as ever. We had one of the junior suites and the view over the lake was beautiful from the bay window. Thoroughly recommended but the bathroom was a touch on the small size and no bath!

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room with a lake view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChesterClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This would be the forth time we have stayed at this hotel, like other reviews we found the staff very friendly and efficient . My only gripes are when sitting outside on a lovely sunny day after a long walk on the fells and perhaps requiring a drink you will not find a waiter anywhere it's not type of hotel, you have to walk through the hotel up to the first floor where you will find the bar in the restaurant area,a fair trek even for a fell walker. Gripe no2 when booking this hotel on line I requested a specific room with a valley view with plenty of notice, guess what a different room every time and on a different floor. I do not think it's to much to ask or unreasonable. Gripe no3 the breakfast is fabulous and consequently I'm putting on weight . So please daffodil if you can not supply the room requested please let people know. Also what would be a nice touch ,two nice comfortable chairs to enjoy the view from with a small table for papers books etc.

Room Tip: It all depends on the size of your wallet,lake view most expensive,next valley view and lastly road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
8.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
12.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
6.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing