We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but perfectly formed...”
Review of Lucia's

Lucia's
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are a family run bakery/takeaway serving quality, locally roasted coffee, tea and hot chocolate as well as refreshing cold drinks. We make ourselves fresh daily: Cumberland sausage rolls with local butchers meat, vegetarian pasties such as spinach and goat's cheese, sweet pepper and onion and cheese and onion. We also prepare a small selection of sandwiches every morning as well as many delicious traybakes and sweet pastries.
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Called in for a cappuchino and a slice of flapjack. The former was one of the best I've had for ages, and the flapjack was divine. The only reason I didn't go back for a second one is that the first was so substantial that I didn't have room for another! The venue itself is like a sort of playhouse cafe - tiny, quirky, but everything's there, and the staff somehow manage not to get in each other's way. The idea behind it is brilliant - quality takeaway drinks and snacks, right in the middle of Grasmere, at good prices. Will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maggy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello! Thank you very much for your lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your cappuccino and flapjack!
Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Excellent take- away food in the heart of Grasmere. Everything is home made and totally fresh.
Why make do with pre-packed sarnies when you can buy from Lucia's for the same price or less?
Pleasant smiling service - I intend to eat my way through the entire menu !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moumoulous, Manager at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. Glad you chose Lucia's for your sandwiches .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Grabbed a couple of baguettes from Lucia's before our walk of Crinkle Craggs and Bowfell. They were delicious and added to a great lunch looking out across Red Tarn and the first of the Crinkles ;)

1  Thank mistyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moumoulous, Manager at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We look forward to serving you again at Lucia's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Me and my partner had just drove from Grange over Sands to Grasmere for the Cocoa Hearts Chocolate Session, we were quite hungry and could only find cafe's in the areas charging a very pretty penny for the pleasure of us sitting inside for a sandwich, we found a co-op but did not fancy a store-bought sandwich.

We found Lucias, in the main square of Grasmere, it's a very small house, but the owner whom i take it Lucia, was very nice, helpful and had one of the best hand-made baguettes I'd ever tasted.

I would surely try this again if I was in the area, a nice cheap snack. Two people makes the entire shop look crowded, there's nowhere to move, you enter and you're presented with a counter where you ask for your order and he prepares it, you pay and leave, and the next person enters.

Happy Eating!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eastonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moumoulous, Manager at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

So glad you found us. You just about summed us up! Can't add anything except thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I can still taste the bread, crisp and soft as I broke into the (batch / barm / roll). The kids loved it and finished it voting it the best food in the Lakes! Whow honor indeed. A must visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mitchian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moumoulous, Manager at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Great review thanks. So pleased you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucia's also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Lucia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing