We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal fodder for a mountain walk”
Review of Lucia's

Lucia's
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We are a family run bakery/takeaway serving quality, locally roasted coffee, tea and hot chocolate as well as refreshing cold drinks. We make ourselves fresh daily: Cumberland sausage rolls with local butchers meat, vegetarian pasties such as spinach and goat's cheese, sweet pepper and onion and cheese and onion. We also prepare a small selection of sandwiches every morning as well as many delicious traybakes and sweet pastries.
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stocked up on baguettes, brownies and flap jacks for a walk up Fairfield and they were excellent. The brownies especially we're delicious. Thoroughly recommended.

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello! Very happy to hear you enjoyed your picnic up Fairfield! Make sure to visit us again next time :) Thank you for the review, Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We had coffee and cake (for £3!) all of which were lovely. The cakes looked home made and were delicious and it represented great value compared to other establishments in Grasmere. Thoroughly recommend a visit.

Thank Bongonaughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello! Glad to hear you enjoyed our coffee and cakes. You are right - all our cakes are homemade! Thank you for taking the time to review our little shop :)
Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This now holds the record for the smallest shop I know of. Absolutely tiny, by Sam Read's bookshop. A maximum of about 2 people at a time - any more and you're queuing outside!

Lunch that day was filled baguettes and sausage rolls - all of which went down a treat - and very reasonably priced too.

Yet another reason to keep visiting Grasmere . . . !

P.S. Rated by me as "one of the best meals I've ever had in a restaurant" because I couldn't possibly answer 'no' to that (as it's an immediate entry to my short list of favourite eateries) and the only other option is 'yes' - but I find it hard to see how anything this small can be described as a restaurant . . .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nuttingcdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello! What a great review! Glad you enjoyed our baguettes and sausage rolls - the latter of which are proving to be very popular since we opened a year and a half ago! So popular in fact we are considering trying to squeeze in another oven!
Hopefully one day we will open a restaurant and you will be able to add that onto your shortlist too!
Thank you for the review :)
Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Nice place to buy a sandwich and drink to eat on the village green. No tables as it is only a tiny shop front service but had a good selection and quality coffee served.

Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello! Glad to hear you enjoyed our coffee and baguettes. Thank you for taking the time to write a review :)
Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Nice baguettes, menu a bit limited though. Pleasant service. Price of baguettes a lot cheaper than other cafés in Grasmere.

Thank scarsdalequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello! Glad to hear you enjoyed your baguette. We would love to offer a more varied menu but unfortunately we do have to keep it quite limited because of our lack of space. But like you said, we do keep our prices low to compensate for lack of choice!
Thank you for the review :)
Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucia's also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Lucia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing