We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”
Review of Goody Blake's

Goody Blake's
Ranked #14 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: All our skillets are cooked fresh to order and all desserts are homemade. Skillets can be adapted for those with special dietary requirements. The restaurant takes bookings for evenings only. We are ideal for romantic and special occasion evening meals and remain open until late. Please book early during busy periods to avoid disappointment. Open for both lunch and evening meals.
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My mum and I visited on the last night of our holiday in June. We had eaten accross the road the night before and only noticed Goody Blakes afterwards. We are pleased we did though as we had very enjoyable meal. I had the home made chicken kiev which was lovely as was the home made coleslaw. My mum had the tender loin and she really enjoyed that. Unfortunately we had eaten so much through the week we only managed a main course each as the puddings sounded really nice. We will have to go earlier in the week next year! The staff and chef were lovely, even let us park on their property as mum had left her disabled badges in the cottage.

I just want to mention that we missed the restaurant when we were first looking for a place to eat. The sign on the main road says cafe so we just walked past as with the shop shutters down it appears that it is a day time cafe which is closed. It was very quiet when we were there so maybe others missed it too which is shame.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katkrazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodyBlakes, Owner at Goody Blake's, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    29
    5
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poynton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The only place to eat in Grasmere”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I have a weeks holiday in Grasmere every year and we discovered Goody Blake's last year when it had recently opened. We were very impressed so we had no hesitation in going back this year. Although the management has changed the quality hasn't, there is an excellent and varied menu all of which are superb and we should know, we ate there every night and between us we tried every one. There is a tendency for the other establishments here to be a bit samey but Goody Blake's offers something a little different at very reasonable prices. The staff are very friendly and there is a pleasant atmosphere. We have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodyBlakes, Owner at Goody Blake's, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty. Try the skillets for something a bit different.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My sister and I stumbled upon this little gem of a restaurant last summer (2013) and loved it instantly. The idea of the little skillets, which the dishes are served in was something a bit different, which is always refreshing. Even after a year, I can remember that I opted for a curry. The dish was cooked to perfection and the spices and flavours were just wonderful. So when we revisited Grasmere this June, we were sure to return here for a meal.

Once again, the food was a delight and the service was very warn and welcoming, but we did feel perhaps the skillet theme that dominated the menu last year and was so different, was less prominent to the menu. Don't lose this feature guys! It's such a lovely idea :) Price was a little on the more expensive side but I am unusually willing to pay a little more for something a bit different. The sticky toffee pudding by the way, top marks! Very saucy and not too heavy like some.

I'm as baffled at the damming review a few reviews below! It's hard to believe they're talking about the same place :O

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodyBlakes, Owner at Goody Blake's, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a fabulous meal here a year or so ago and were slightly wary of returning knowing that the excellent chef Louise has now left. However the new chefs are continuing her skillet theme and we were relieved that these were still excellent, to the extent that we ate here for all of our three nights in Grasmere.

The menu has been extended to include more conventional dishes and we can heartily recommend the Chicken Kiev, and the Apple Strudel was the best we have ever had. We heard good things about the sticky toffee pudding too.

Lastly, despite the trip advisor blurb stating that this restaurant isn't open for lunch it now IS and again the lunch was both outstanding and very reasonably priced.

We will have no hesitation in going back again next year. Although there are other good restaurants in Grasmere (the Jumble Room for example) in our opinion none provides as good a combination of excellent food and value. Plus Sue and Marta couldn't have been more welcoming.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RenwickRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodyBlakes, Owner at Goody Blake's, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On the edge of Grasmere but worth the short walk. Good selection and great presentation of food. Save some space for the puddings !!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodyBlakes, Owner at Goody Blake's, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goody Blake's also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Goody Blake's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing