We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Allan Bank

Allan Bank
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This house is set in a beautiful location (although parking is a pain!). It has a wonderful informal atmosphere with lovely friendly staff. Lots of interactive displays for all ages and the cake from the new kitchen is scrummy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence-Clarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    88
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We had been told about Allan Bank by my mother and father in law. As we we are new members to the National Trust we thought it would be a new placefor us to visit with them. We were not disappointed we had a lovely couple of hours there exploring the houseanf grounds. It was so relaxed and informal. We will go back and explore much better next time when we are not restricted by time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank waveydavey2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
269 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A New National Trust Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Allan Bank has only been open to visitors since 2012 and , though we visit the Lake District at least once a year, we had not realised it was there! We were told about it by a friend so thought we would visit while we were in Grasmere. What a lovely surprise it was! The house has been restored after a major fire but has not been decorated. Each room is an ` activity ` room and you are allowed to just sit and read, paint,take photographs or anything you fancy. In particular, children are encouraged to express themselves so it must be great for families not to have to worry about entertaining their children ! The gardens and walks are very pleasant with lovely views from both them and the house, over Grasmere itself. We will go again and spend more time there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rest awhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were welcomed and told a brief history of the house, then told to make ourselves at home, stay as long as we liked. We could help ourselves to free tea or coffee from the refurbished kitchen, and take it in to any of the rooms to enjoy the spectacular views and possible sitings of red squirrels. Plenty of activities for adults and children, or just sit and enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Stu_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A gem of a National Trust property (without worrying about the chaos the kids create!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have visited this property more times than I can count over the last couple of years and not once have I been dissapointed - not your normal NT property! Worried that the kids will scratch/mark/knock stuff? Don't worry! The house suffered a few years ago severe fire damage & was gutted (prior to this the property had been tenanted privately), but as it's now been handed back in NT's hands, they've decided to open it to the public, for the 1st time ever! In the drawing room they've placed long tressle tables for kids of all ages (big & small!!) to paint, chalk or charcoal a picture, which if chosen, can go into their "gallary"! Free tea & coffee (but please place a donation) home made cakes in the Kitchen. Brilliant Story telling at relevant times (eg Christmas, Halloween etc & other fun activitites for the children in the house & around the gardens outside) The staff are great & very knowleagable. Also downstairs there's a room that you can sit, chill read the days papers & drink your coffee in peace! Upstairs there's a library with rare books & a few other rooms with exhibitions. downstairs there's an additional playroom for children. Outside an extensive garden, billiard room (which is in the process of being renovated) and a few lovely longer walks around the gardens, taking in the viewing tunnel, which becomes really spooky at Halloween! There's a walled garden & in the summer the grounds are beautiful for picnics. Walk from the Village, unless you're not able bodied, and there is parking at the House itself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank madm00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Allan Bank also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Allan Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing