We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper Hand Made Chocolate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasmere Chocolate Cottage

Grasmere Chocolate Cottage
Ranked #10 of 20 things to do in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are the first set of shops across the road from the main Stock Lane car park. Next door to the post office.
Norwich
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Proper Hand Made Chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

There are chocolate shops everywhere in the Lakes, but don't bother with them, just go to this one. The chocolate to sample is absolutely gorgeous and melts in the mouth, so of course we had to buy some to bring home - lovely texture and flavour. The shop doesn't look as inviting from the outside, there are also gifts for sale so perhaps is a little confusing as to what type of shop it is, bought a nice scarf as well. The owner/choc maker very friendly and helpful - many best wishes in your new venture.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SBLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Homemade Chocolates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

A lovely shop with delicious chocolates made in front of you. Bought some huge white chocolate buttons with 'smartie' like decorations which went down a treat. Looking forward to trying the homemade fruit and nut bar once my 'chocolate fast' has ended. Richard was chatty and very knowledgable. Looking forward to the website when it is up and running. Definately worth a visit, not like the other "homemade" chocolate shops around where all the chocolates are the same!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peekie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Chocs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

A lovely shop with a great assortment of handmade chocolates made right in front of you and other goodies. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nikki144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“2nd time around!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I am back visiting the lake district and so I couldn't miss a visit to what I thought would be my little secret - Grasmere Chocolate Cottage, but others have found it as well. I couldn't wait to get my hands on those gorgeous truffles - hand made by Angela and Richard, the proprietors. They have now expanded this little shop into an emporium of goodies, not only the array of handmade chocs but little bags of pick and mix type sweeties to make the journey pass by and delightful little gifts to take home, for your friends and family.
Grasmere Chocolate Cottage is open all year around so great to pop by if you are on either an autumn or spring getaway. Just off the 'Wordsworth Cottage' roundabout along on the left - and there is always parking opposite.

Not good for the waistline, but a little treat occassionally. Great stuff - keep it coming Angela and Richard, see you next year (if not before!!) Wendy Patrick, Northampton

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WPatricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Stunning shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A stunning shop with all sorts of gifts and hand made chocolates being made on the premises, the happy helpful people who have the shop are a joy, and a must have is hand made Grasmere Log a mixture of light and dark chocolate, double cream,nuts, berries, and then covered in dark and white chocolate. a definite must experience, YUMMY .. can;t wait to go back Grasmere

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grasmere Chocolate Cottage also viewed

 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Grasmere Chocolate Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing