We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the ideal location in the Lakes.”
Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
West Lancashire.
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in the ideal location in the Lakes.”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Hi,
Stayed 2 nights Jan 2-3 for a birthday surprise, for my better half, a present from our 2 Daughters.
Great location, set in extensive grounds, but in the heart of the Village.
Room 18, bit small, but very nice, cleaned each day and adequate for short stay.
Hotel very clean, very well maintained, nice and warm, plenty parking spaces for cars.
Food 5 star, really good, both in the Hotel and in the Pub attached "Tweedies Bar".
Family run and it shows by the high standards set, friendly, helpful staff, no negatives to list.
Many thanks for an enjoyable short stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanLee.-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    156
    74
    31
    22
See reviews for
64
336
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Dale Lodge. It was a last minute impulse booking and we weren't disappointed - great value for money, a very warm welcome and friendly service. The food (we ate inTweedies) for dinner and breakfast was of a very high standard with an interesting menu choice.
A fantastic location for walking - straight out of the hotel door and on to the fells in a few minutes.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Ellen_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

From the checking in to checking out ,we found everything faultless,staff are lovely and friendly.The weather for this time of year was amazing which made being in the hot tub extra special,clear skies above.
Thanks Dale lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the mews rooms ,hot tub is lovely after a days walking.the bedroom upstairs has low cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnysouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Recently stayed at Dale Lodge, losing count of the amount of times we have stayed there now, but it is the only place we want to stay in the lakes. Staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Tweedies is a lovely bar and the food is excellant. We look forward to our next trip, sooner rather than later!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark1960902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This review is rather late as I've only just started reviewing on TA, but would like to post after our stay here as we really enjoyed it.

We stayed last December as a couple, for a few nights as a little treat for us both.

The place is very contemporary and kept VERY clean and tidy. Our room was a bit small, but as this is an old country house that was to be expected. Having-said-that it was very nicely decorated and comfortable to the max. The Molton Brown hand creams & shampoo in the bathroom really impressed my girlfriend and were a nice touch.

The food in this hotel is superb; the breakfasts are first-class. You simply have to have an evening meal to appreciate how good the chief is; you'll not be disappointed.

The little bar round the corner is worth visiting and often has live music on too.

The staff are lovely - Jenny looked after us and made us feel at home from the second we arrived.

You'll love this place; Grasmere is sooooo sleepy and relaxing that you'll be booking your next trip as soon as you get home.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have travelled many times to Grasmere but this was our first stay at this hotel. Excellent value for money and we will return.
The room was comfortable and clean with a good en suite. There was no room for chairs in the room but there is an excellent lounge area with a log stove making it cosy while spacious. Next time we will ask for a larger room if we plan a longer stay but we have no complaints.
Breakfast was excellent and the one meal we had in the dining room was of high quality.
The staff are friendly and helpful and it was good to be shown to our room on arrival rather than have a key thrust at us with directions on how to get to the room which sadly appears to be the norm in most hotels.
This grumpeyoleman was happy with his stay as was my wife.

Room Tip: If you want a room with seats I think you will have to specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpeyoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed last weekend at Dale Lodge. The staff were friendly and helpful, The food at breakfast , and also at Tweedies, was lovely. However the room (16)was far too small, and the toilet / shower felt like being in a cupboard. The double bed took up most of the room and both me and my wife have come away with bruises to our legs from banging them trying to get past the bed to the toilet. This room should only have been used as a single! Oh and the shower collapsed mid- shower. The bathroom shelf wasn't straight and bathroom items kept falling off.
Otherwise , enjoyed the break. Hotel well situated.

Room Tip: Friends had Room 10.....Massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
844 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Property: Dale Lodge Hotel
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere
Dale Lodge Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing