We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dale Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
240
177
80
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
177
80
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstweedies barhot tubmews roommezzanine flooraccessible roomrange of real aleshotel restaurantbeer gardenlake districton arrivallovely hotellovely groundsmolton brown toiletriesbreakfast was excellentdouble bedample parkingfull english
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

just returned from a weekend at the dale lodge hotel, we had room 10 which was a superior delux room which is an extra £20.00 per night, the room is rather tired which needs updating and repairing in areas,we complained to the manager/ head chef james, who was very apologetic and concerned, we could'nt change our room as the hotel was full, when we arrived back at the room there was a bottle of wine with a letter of apology and a voucher for a two course meal for two for dinner in the restaurant, this really turned our weekend around the meal was beautiful the staff very attentive, the hotel in general is beautiful, quiet relaxing and in a beautiful setting good customer service makes all the difference, thankyou james we will be back, and im sure the repairs needed will be done

Room Tip: make sure if requesting room 10 it has been updated before booking
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

having booked the 'best room in the hotel' seven months in advance, we were told on arrival that our room had been given to someone else and we were moved to the mews cottages. this was a conveted shed alongside the kitchen facing the back of the hotel, small, uncomfortable and lacking any storage facilities also pets are not allowed un these cottages and so they had to break their own rules to let our dog stay
Having booked dinner on each night we presented ourselves in the restaurant at the appointed time to find no kitchen or waiting staff and as usual nobody on reception. after 20 minutes the receptionist turned up and said they were not aware of anyone dining that evening. Incredably, the same thing occurred on the next day when two other couples waited in the deserted restaurant.
The food when it came was vey good, however, the menu which comprised eight starters and nine mains already had some items not available on our first night and as this so-called specials menu never changed, by our third night there were on;y three starters and four mains left to choose from.
This place is a joke, a shambolic experience never to be repeated

Room Tip: do not book or let them put you in the mews cottages do not use the restaurant eat in their tweedies bar or somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Dale Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Hello Barry P,

Firstly I would like to extend our most sincere appologies for the error in your booking. I have spent some time looking back through our September bookings and am really struggling to find any 3 night bookings which were made more than 6 weekes in advance. If you could send me some details of your booking to enquiries@dalelodgehotel.co.uk, I will look into this matter. I am very sorry you did not enjoy the mews rooms. We do sell these rooms at the same rate as the 2 superior rooms in the main house, but I can understand your disappointment if that was not what you had booked. Reception is manned until 10pm every night, and the same staff from Tweedies Bar serve in The Lodge Restaurant. I am very sorry that you had to wait for service in the restaurant. It must have been a very busy time if we were out of so many dishes. If you could please forward me some details of your stay we will look into the matter further and try to arrange some form of compensation for you.

Best Wishes, Jenny Goodall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We went in June 2011, we booked the hotel specifically as it was advertised as dog friendly and this is very much the case, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the room was well up to specification and the hotel and grounds in which they are set are all exceptional. The food was very good and the only complaint I had was that I ordered a steak medium and when it came it was rare, rather than take it away and re cook it the waitress actually began to argue with me that it was medium and not rare, this I didn't appreciate, I know the difference between rare and well done and don't need to be instructed in this matter. When it was returned it was cooked to perfection and was extremely tasty but by then my partner and finished her meal and had to eat mine as she sat and watched. This I must stress is an issue with an individual member of staff and in no way reflects badly on the hotel and the owners. Our stay was superb and we are very much looking forward to our next visit again this year, I really do recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: All are good.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Hi,
Stayed 2 nights Jan 2-3 for a birthday surprise, for my better half, a present from our 2 Daughters.
Great location, set in extensive grounds, but in the heart of the Village.
Room 18, bit small, but very nice, cleaned each day and adequate for short stay.
Hotel very clean, very well maintained, nice and warm, plenty parking spaces for cars.
Food 5 star, really good, both in the Hotel and in the Pub attached "Tweedies Bar".
Family run and it shows by the high standards set, friendly, helpful staff, no negatives to list.
Many thanks for an enjoyable short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanLee.-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Dale Lodge. It was a last minute impulse booking and we weren't disappointed - great value for money, a very warm welcome and friendly service. The food (we ate inTweedies) for dinner and breakfast was of a very high standard with an interesting menu choice.
A fantastic location for walking - straight out of the hotel door and on to the fells in a few minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_Ellen_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews