We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming hotel”
Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August, this is a lovely hotel, with very welcoming staff, we stayed in room no. 11, which is a deluxe room, on a romantic break, the food at the hotel is of a good standard and plentiful, we would recommend this hotel, and would be looking to go back again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    155
    73
    31
    22
See reviews for
63
332
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

First Impressions superb- a lovely hotel set in it's own grounds. A friendly welcome at reception, but it went downhill form there
A twin room on the ground floor provided our 3rd night's accommodation on the coast to coast. The room was small, with barely enough luggage space, but worst of all the main windows were all painted shut. The one small window that did open had it's ventilation negated by the fact it was behind the top of a thick Roman blind... so we sweltered on a warm summer's night.
Breakfast had a good selection of cereals and what looked a good English Breakfast, but choices included eggs benedict- which was dissappointing- served with cold watery ham, and with a less than generous topping of a thick hollandaise sauce which meant they were too dry on top and too slimy underneath.
All in all this hotel was OK, but failed to live up to it's first impression.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a two-night break on a laterooms.com deal, and for the price paid we really can't complain.

We were greeted nicely on arrival, and the facilities and parking at the hotel were good (quite rare for Grasmere); and the public areas and lounges were very nicely done.

For the £60/night (total) we paid we can't complain about the room, but we would have been disappointed if it was the full price of £100, as it was very small, with a tiny bathroom, with tired decor and signs of previous damp on the ceiling, with the wallpaper coming away in places. The bed was very comfy though, with nice bedding and cushions, but the rest of the room could do with some more care given to it, as people expect more these days, even from a standard room. A basic Travel Inn etc. room is much larger, better sound insulated and with nicer decoration and fixtures and fittings, and would have been even less than the price we paid; so for a special trip to the Lake District, it would make all the difference if a bit more care and attention was put into all the rooms.

It's more like a large guest house than a 'hotel', so expect to hear exactly what's happening in the rooms next door, and out in the corridor if guests come back late at night (which they did on both of our nights); and the window was single-glazed so you could hear cars/bin men etc. coming and going early in the morning and late at night; but if you're the sort of person that this doesn't bother, you'll be fine.

We didn't try the breakfast, but I'm sure it would have been nice, as the dining room was lovely.

We didn't try Tweedies bar as we felt the prices were a bit OTT (particularly for mains) for what it was, and we were very glad we weren't dining there when we heard a very noisy family with loads of kids roaming all around later in the evening; not the place for us really.

Upon check-out the chap was extremely friendly and helpful, so I can't fault the service or attitude of the staff; and the room was extremely clean, with the toiletries being a nice touch.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay; and if you either book one of the superior rooms, or accept you'll be in a small, basic room for the lower rates, you'll have a nice time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

If your looking for a hotel in the lake district then look no further. My wife and I have stayed here twice now. The service is first class and as for the food wow!!!!! You are usually able to choose the room you want when booking so if you can pay the little bit extra then go for a delux room either room 9 or 10 I think. We stayed in room 9 and it's a fantastic room. If you like your food then you will love Dale Lodge. The food is to die for with a lot of different things to try. Tweedies bar at the hotel is a lovely bar and has a great choice of real ales. All in all this is a great value for money place to stay at. Trust me you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Damien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed in one of the mews rooms for a 3 night walking break. The weather was dreadful but the hotel and staff more than compensated. I arrived early in torrentail rain. i was given a tray of tea while my room was prepared. The mews rooms are excellent.... underfloor heating, heated towel rail and lashing of hot water. Expensive for 1 person but well worth it in view of the weather. Food in the restaurant and Tweedies bar was good and well served. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only critism was the irritating backgrounf "musak" which was too loud and intrusive particularly at breakfast. Thouroughly recommend and will definately be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musettayorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent two lovely nights at Dale Lodge Hotel. Pity the weather wasn't as good as the hotel!

First impressions were really good, the exterior is in very good order, and wonderful grounds with a very large beer garden which is attached to the bar, Tweedies at the rear of the hotel.

All the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

The room was very comfortable, my only gripe, if I have to give one is that we only had a shower and not a bath - which is usually a must after walking the beautifuls fells surrounding Grasmere.

Breakfast was first class, as was our evening meal - proper chips - not frozen!!

We were staying on a KGB deal - so we got a fantastic deal - would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a KGB deal and got upgraded to room 8 which had lovely decor and a comfortable bed. The customer service was very good and everyone was always very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location right in the centre of Grasmere but because it is well set back from the road in large gardens there was no traffic noise. The room overlooked the beer garden so was a bit noisy until 11pm but then very quiet. Tweedies bar sell real ales and you can sample 3 for the cost equivalent of a single pint. Breakfasts were also good with lots of choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Property: Dale Lodge Hotel
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere
Dale Lodge Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing