We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy”
Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

stayed there this weekend,last minute booking.
Was unsure as some of the TA reports were avaerge.
Had a great stay,room was clean,and large,also welcomed our dog,no problem.
Also ate at Tweenies in the evening,very good food,and breakfast was spot on!

Overal couldn't find fault,would be happy to return,Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chimp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed in the mews for two nights and the accomodation worked well for the two of us and our dog, We ate in tweedies(Bar) on the first night and the restaraunt in the lodge on the second,although the menus are the same there was enough of a choice and the atmosphere being totally different in both , the food was generous and we felt value for money. service in both was excellent,

The breakfast in the lodge was substantial and set you up for the day, although the mews is set in the grounds of the hotel 50yds from the main some reports have suggested that this is a negative not for us, the room was complemented by use of the hot tub which was great after a long day walking,.

We were impressed enough to have booked for two nights between christmas and new year, strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stopped in a twin room with a fellow coast to coast walkers and had difficulty getting bags through door. Even though a twin room not really big enough for two people with bags. Food modern but not filling for walkers but staff on reception including Craig very helpful. A modern stylish hotel but not a great base for walkers from what we experienced. Might stop again under different circumstances

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank pb56422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We were surprised to find quite a large hotel in Grasmere, but delighted too.
The staff went out of their way (literally!) to look after us.
We arrived early and whilst our room was prepared, we were provided with teas. The room was small but adequate and clean.
We ate in Tweedies (there are two restaurants) and enjoyed very good food indeed.
Breakfast the following morning was excellent too.
This is a family-run hotel and it shows. They are very attentive and caring.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamAndCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This period hotel reflects the tranquility of its surroundings. Family run, there is always a warm welcome on arrival. It's a great base to explore the lakes and fells. This is our third visit in three years and we will continue to come here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swillytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The Dale Lodge is a nice place to stay in the heart of Grasmere. The rooms are offered in different categories. We chose the Deluxe and it wasn't anything special. It mainly was larger in size. The bed was comfortable, the bath clean and well lit. The staff is spread thin, but very nice. The main facility has several open living room type of rooms to relax and get comfortable in. The breakfast room is very large and the morning servings quite sufficient. The grounds are nicely kept. The parking more than sufficient. Generally we were pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raberdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August, this is a lovely hotel, with very welcoming staff, we stayed in room no. 11, which is a deluxe room, on a romantic break, the food at the hotel is of a good standard and plentiful, we would recommend this hotel, and would be looking to go back again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Benjstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range: £82 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere
Dale Lodge Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing