We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel comfortable surrounding friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Bradford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel comfortable surrounding friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just spent two nights at Dale Lodge which was perfect, we booked for the New Year celebrations and had a great time. We had a very comfortable room slept very well; the hotel is very clean and spacious with large grounds and plenty of parking with a central location of Grasmere. There is a Pub called Tweedies attached to the hotel which serve a very good selection of beers and food, you just won’t fine anywhere else that will beat it. The food is excellent you won’t be disappointed. The Staff in the hotel and Tweedies are very friendly and helpful; if you are stopping in Grasmere or just visiting for the day you must go to Tweedies for a pint.
www.tweediesbargrasmere.co.uk

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ding1Bradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    145
    66
    28
    22
See reviews for
62
313
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 2 days from 27th-29th December 2012 as a Chistmas treat. We had been before in Summer 2011 and enjoyed our stay. When we booked, the lady on the phone was very friendly & helpful and checked which room we were in last time. This room (17) wasn't available so we were put in room 14 which she informed us was smaller but with a bigger bathoom. As we were tavelling with 2 dogs she said if a larger room became available she would move us to it.
The room was fine, very nice but a little small - with a lovely bathroom, very hot water and a nice bath with shower over it. Moulton Brown products to use too.
The bedroom overlooked the front gounds of the hotel and had a pull down blind which would need to be down if getting changed! After a long day and a meal out we decided to head back early & watch some TV in the comfort of our room. Unfortunately the TV had no reception and we couldn't watch anything - we mentioned this at reception & the next day it was fine!
The only minor negatives that come to mind are that the room was very warm even after we turned the radiators off and we could hear doors and floorboards creaking as people were walking around on our floor, but this stopped around midnight.
The breakfast was wonderful, with tea, coffee, various fruit juices and a 'help yourself' buffet of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, cheeses etc. We sat down in the lovely dining area and were served some toast & asked what we would like from the menu. I had the full English beakfast which I can't fault and which kept me going all day. My partner had eggs benedict which were also delicious.
Reasonably priced for 2 night's B&B in a beautiful part of the world at £200 for 2 plus £25 for our dogs. I'm sure we will return.
Oh, and there was also free use of the leisure/gym facilities at the nearby Langdale Chase, but we didn't get chance to try these out.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kishster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is so pretty inside. It's also situated in the centre of Grasmere in its own grounds so there is a feeling of being surrounded by beauty all the time.

The breakfast was hot and tasty and the room was nicely presented and clean. I nearly gave it a four as one of the female waiting staff either couldn't be bothered or didn't know how to interact in a friendly manner, and the breakfast room was cold.

Having said that it was a lovely experience and it just scraped its score of 5. We will definitely be back. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights on a 2 for 1 which was a great deal. Our room was rather small and stuffy (although it was November) as it was in a poor position not getting much fresh air. Bathroom was fine. We ate in Tweedies bar/restaurant. Food was fine, a little expensive but Grasmere is a pricey area. No one was eating in the hotel restaurant. The food in both venues was the same so it's not surprising most people prefer the livelier surroundings of the bar. Breakfast was good. I had perfect poached eggs and my husband had eggs benedict which he said were delicious.

Room Tip: Try to select a room with open aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LambertCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We turned up out of the blue and asked if they had any rooms for the night imagining that such a nice looking place would be fully booked but luckily they had a room left and they welcomed our dog. The room was a modest size but easily accommodated the double bed, chest of drawers and wardrobe, and the bathroom/ wet room was huge.
The hotel is right in the middle of grasmere, a perfect start to the 4hour walk we did the one day we stayed there. Tweedies bar was really good fun and lively up until closing time, the perfect place to get warm by the fire after a very rainy walk!
The staff were really friendly and the breakfast in the morning was really tasty and we really liked the fresh buffet style things to start. Impressed by the cooked options too.
All in all I would definitely recommend staying here and we're already planning our next tip back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancescaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

stayed there this weekend,last minute booking.
Was unsure as some of the TA reports were avaerge.
Had a great stay,room was clean,and large,also welcomed our dog,no problem.
Also ate at Tweenies in the evening,very good food,and breakfast was spot on!

Overal couldn't find fault,would be happy to return,Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chimp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed in the mews for two nights and the accomodation worked well for the two of us and our dog, We ate in tweedies(Bar) on the first night and the restaraunt in the lodge on the second,although the menus are the same there was enough of a choice and the atmosphere being totally different in both , the food was generous and we felt value for money. service in both was excellent,

The breakfast in the lodge was substantial and set you up for the day, although the mews is set in the grounds of the hotel 50yds from the main some reports have suggested that this is a negative not for us, the room was complemented by use of the hot tub which was great after a long day walking,.

We were impressed enough to have booked for two nights between christmas and new year, strongly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Property: Dale Lodge Hotel
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere
Dale Lodge Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing