We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first timers”
Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

we took the plunge and stayed here at short notice after a very disappointing stay across the road.....what a pleasure it was. The staff were lovely the room was very nice and the food in Tweedies was divine.
The only issue was the bathroom was a little tired and the radiators were troublesome.
However would definitely stay here again if only to sit in the lounge chilling with a book a cup of earl grey in front of the wood burner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

We are regulars to this hotel and find the owners and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent and we usually eat in Tweedies Bar next door in the evenings as it has great food, a wide choice of beer and wines and the bar staff are always good fun to deal with.

On our last trip I happened to mention during booking that it was our 10 year anniversary. When we arrived we had a lovely room and a card wishing us a happy anniversary - very nice touch.

If you are going to Grasmere I would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bilbo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just spent two nights at Dale Lodge which was perfect, we booked for the New Year celebrations and had a great time. We had a very comfortable room slept very well; the hotel is very clean and spacious with large grounds and plenty of parking with a central location of Grasmere. There is a Pub called Tweedies attached to the hotel which serve a very good selection of beers and food, you just won’t fine anywhere else that will beat it. The food is excellent you won’t be disappointed. The Staff in the hotel and Tweedies are very friendly and helpful; if you are stopping in Grasmere or just visiting for the day you must go to Tweedies for a pint.
www.tweediesbargrasmere.co.uk

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ding1Bradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 2 days from 27th-29th December 2012 as a Chistmas treat. We had been before in Summer 2011 and enjoyed our stay. When we booked, the lady on the phone was very friendly & helpful and checked which room we were in last time. This room (17) wasn't available so we were put in room 14 which she informed us was smaller but with a bigger bathoom. As we were tavelling with 2 dogs she said if a larger room became available she would move us to it.
The room was fine, very nice but a little small - with a lovely bathroom, very hot water and a nice bath with shower over it. Moulton Brown products to use too.
The bedroom overlooked the front gounds of the hotel and had a pull down blind which would need to be down if getting changed! After a long day and a meal out we decided to head back early & watch some TV in the comfort of our room. Unfortunately the TV had no reception and we couldn't watch anything - we mentioned this at reception & the next day it was fine!
The only minor negatives that come to mind are that the room was very warm even after we turned the radiators off and we could hear doors and floorboards creaking as people were walking around on our floor, but this stopped around midnight.
The breakfast was wonderful, with tea, coffee, various fruit juices and a 'help yourself' buffet of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, cheeses etc. We sat down in the lovely dining area and were served some toast & asked what we would like from the menu. I had the full English beakfast which I can't fault and which kept me going all day. My partner had eggs benedict which were also delicious.
Reasonably priced for 2 night's B&B in a beautiful part of the world at £200 for 2 plus £25 for our dogs. I'm sure we will return.
Oh, and there was also free use of the leisure/gym facilities at the nearby Langdale Chase, but we didn't get chance to try these out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kishster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is so pretty inside. It's also situated in the centre of Grasmere in its own grounds so there is a feeling of being surrounded by beauty all the time.

The breakfast was hot and tasty and the room was nicely presented and clean. I nearly gave it a four as one of the female waiting staff either couldn't be bothered or didn't know how to interact in a friendly manner, and the breakfast room was cold.

Having said that it was a lovely experience and it just scraped its score of 5. We will definitely be back. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights on a 2 for 1 which was a great deal. Our room was rather small and stuffy (although it was November) as it was in a poor position not getting much fresh air. Bathroom was fine. We ate in Tweedies bar/restaurant. Food was fine, a little expensive but Grasmere is a pricey area. No one was eating in the hotel restaurant. The food in both venues was the same so it's not surprising most people prefer the livelier surroundings of the bar. Breakfast was good. I had perfect poached eggs and my husband had eggs benedict which he said were delicious.

Room Tip: Try to select a room with open aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LambertCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We turned up out of the blue and asked if they had any rooms for the night imagining that such a nice looking place would be fully booked but luckily they had a room left and they welcomed our dog. The room was a modest size but easily accommodated the double bed, chest of drawers and wardrobe, and the bathroom/ wet room was huge.
The hotel is right in the middle of grasmere, a perfect start to the 4hour walk we did the one day we stayed there. Tweedies bar was really good fun and lively up until closing time, the perfect place to get warm by the fire after a very rainy walk!
The staff were really friendly and the breakfast in the morning was really tasty and we really liked the fresh buffet style things to start. Impressed by the cooked options too.
All in all I would definitely recommend staying here and we're already planning our next tip back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancescaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,629 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range: £87 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere
Dale Lodge Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing