We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mews in summer”
Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

just had three nights in mews enjoyed the stay overall great staff great food and tweedies is excellent but the bed in mews three is very hard and after three nights I was glad to get out of there. the ventilation on a warm night is also an issue in the mews,can get very stuffy with the velux window closed to keep the rain out! overall good, lovely spot but not cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakefan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was a last minute booking as we were on our way back from Perthshire having visited friends for the weekend, so instead of coming straight home we decided to have a night in the Lakes, we had stayed at two other hotels in Grasmere, so knew of the Dale Lodge, and especially Tweedies Bar, with its fine range of real ales, but had never stayed at the hotel, we weren`t disappointed, the staff on arrival were friendly and most helpful, we were given a room upgrade on the room we`d booked, which was already competative before the upgrade against normal tariffs, the room itself was well appointed, over looking the garden, decorated to a high standard, with a good size bathroom, and a great shower, good facilities in the room,TV, radio, tea/coffee, hairdryer, iron, bathrobes in fact everything you would expect from a quality hotel, very clean and comfortable. We booked a table and ate at Tweedies Bar on the evening, a menu that would not have been out of place in any hotel dining room, very good food, and excellent service, breakfast the following morning was first rate, good selection of cereals, fruits and juices, and the cooked menu was top notch, this hotel ticked all the boxes and we`ll definately try this hotel again when we next visit the Lakes, and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but rooms overlooking the garden have the best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A big thank you to all the staff at dale lodge hotel and tweedies bar for making out silver wedding anniversary a really special occasion. The rooms where great the food lovely and the staff where very helpful with the arrangements I had planned. Would recommend dale lodge to any one a super hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Arrived around 8.30pm checked in promptly by a pleasant young man who was very informative and who showed us to our room. Room lovely clean and comfortable with double aspect windows one with window seat. Service at breakfast good and the breakfast was excellent with a varied choice to suit everyone. Hotel is set in the middle of Grasmere with lovely gardens and surroundings close to all amenities and places of interest all in all we went away for a relaxing long weekend and that's what we got and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cement12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Nice welcome on arrival, room was sufficient for our needs and was an added bonus that we could eat here too - dessert was delightful. Had a little walk out after dinner which was nice, nice surroundings and a pub nearby. My only downside to my stay here was that in the morning when we were getting sorted and tried to check out, the staff seemed flustered and rushed and we felt a little in the way.. but perhaps just a very busy morning for them. Other than this, couldnt complain at anything and it was a great stay overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Arrived around 5pm on Saturday, checked in promptly by a polite lady who then walked us over to our room which was one of the mews rooms to the rear of the property. She explained how the heating worked and left us to unpack. The room was compact but very clean, robes and slippers were included, there was a big widescreen tv downstairs and a smaller one upstairs, lovely fluffy towels and nice bathroom products. On our return from walking up Fairfield on Sunday it was fantastic to be able to jump in the hot tub to which the 4 mews rooms have access - we had it to ourselves and it certainly helped to sooth our tired legs. We ate in the restaurant in the hotel on Saturday and although the food was excellent it took a tad too long to arrive. There were only 2 staff serving a full restaurant and covering the reception and we felt that being a Bank Holiday Saturday with a full restaurant ( and a full Tweedys Bar) it would have helped to have more staff in the kitchen/serving, No such delays occurred with the breakfast which was cooked to order and was very nice. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend (helped by the gorgeous weather) and would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Spent a weekend visiting friends and was recommended this hotel because of the amazing food. The food was brilliant and also the customer service was top notch. The rooms were lovely and cosy and the lounges too. Really recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthy236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range: £92 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere
Dale Lodge Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing