We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid location, excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Splendid location, excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

An old-fashioned, comfortable, friendly hotel with a splendid restaurant attached (Tweedies). Its location at the heart of the Lake District is ideal, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The menu (range and quality) far exceeded any expectations, and each course was outstanding. The only negatives (which will not effect most holiday makers) is that the rooms do not have desks, and the free WiFi (which was strong and fast while operating) went down twice during our visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    148
    69
    28
    22
See reviews for
63
321
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Room was lovely, the smell of Molten Brown adds a touch of class to the room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Tweedies bar had 2 of my favourite drinks, Anchor Steam and The Botanist gin, which are rare to find. Perfect for a quiet getaway and for those that love the beautiful scenery of the English countryside.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked a room for one night only to break up a journey to Glasgow. We had been to Tweedies Bar (next door) before so knew that we would at least have a nice few pints of beer. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Grasmere and Tweedies Bar is right next door. Our room (4) could have done with a little tlc and the bathroom is clearly setup for wheelchair access but if you don't mind a low sink it isn't too bad. Don't flush the loo at night because the plumbing made some terrible noises. All easily remedied I'm sure. The staff were/are very friendly and professional. We arrived late-ish due to Bank Holiday traffic but we were accommodated in the main hotel restaurant without a booking and had a very nice meal. All in all I would recommend the hotel and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was slightly noisy as cars were parked nearby outside so perhaps ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Absolutely fabulous stay at Dale Lodge Hotel. Couldn't have had a better stay. Food absolutely amazing, James the chef does a fantastic job. Alex is a very competent bar manager. Would definately come back time and time again. The Grasmere Guzzler is on weekend of 6th September will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a great stay; the room we got was fantastic; greatly appointed and tastefully decorated with a good view of the lawns. Lovely having a beer at the tweedies bar; good food. Convenient location for a touring holiday into the lake district. Secure parking and outlook. Staff helpful, and quite, peaceful location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Right in the middle of Grasmere, Plenty of parking, Nice rooms but a little disappointed with the evening meal. Problem is I compare all meals to the Oakbank Hotel which on 3 occasions provide the best meal I have had at any hotel! - Breakfast was very nice though!
Nice bar with plenty of real ales.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulCWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from the 10th august to the 13th and this was by far one of the best hotels we've stayed in. The rooms were comfortable and tidy, very clean and had everything you needed in them. Everything was very clean around the hotel. The staff were lovely and very friendly, they couldn't do enough for you. The food was absolutely fantastic and couldn't fault it in anyway! Overall it was a fabulous holiday and we will defiantly be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Property: Dale Lodge Hotel
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere
Dale Lodge Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing