We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but with a few disappointments”
Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Impressive hotel in gorgeous location. Although in the very centre of Grasmere, you feel out of the hustle and bustle. Reception rooms are beautifully decorated and feel like a real special hotel. The bedrooms we stayed in, however, were very small and not in keeping with rest of hotel. They were 'ok' for two nights but wouldn't like to have been staying in them for any longer - a real shame. Staff were very pleasant, food was lovely (great breakfast options) but the restaurant food was the same as what their bar (Tweedies) served which was a bit disappointing. We were planning to eat in Tweedies one night and the restaurant (for a special occasion) the second but when we found out the menu was the same we decided to set elsewhere in the first night.

Room Tip: Request a larger that normal room - might be more expensive
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThrowBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Dale Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have just returned from a family birthday weekend at The Dale Lodge. We have had a fantastic weekend, the hotel is beautiful set in lovely grounds with lots of parking spaces too!! Which is always a bonus. It is a beautiful hotel with many character features. The staff have been fantastic and nothing we have asked has been too much trouble. We ate in Tweedies one night, service was a little slow but they did say they were busy and we ate in the hotel restaurant the second night. Food was fantastic. My only comment is that the menu in both Tweedies and the hotel was the same and it would have been nice if it was slightly differentiated. The breakfast though was good although the cooked breakfast was the best option! It is served until 10 which I loved as a little lie in, breakfast and then out for the day! I loved the rooms, lovely windows and views for what is a period hotel! Plus moulton brown toiletries - a nice choice!! This is my second visit to the hotel and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhianx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My girlfriend and I have found ourselves using The Dale Lodge as a yard stick, against which any other hotel we stay in is measured. This hotel is frankly the definition of comfort and hospitality. The building has a central situation within the town and the character of a stately home with a finely groomed gardens. Great care and attention has been poured over the property and the same is extended to you as a guest. The room was a little on the cosy side but what it lacked in space, it made up for in comfort and character. Shower was nice and powerful, great view from the window and it was so quiet and peaceful. The bar around the back of the hotel had a decent size selection of real ale, I love a real ale and although it was quiet, it still had a good atmosphere. Breakfast was spot on! It's such a simple thing to get right but why do (most) other hotels get it so wrong? Real coffee for once, brought to you in a French press, friendly waiter who I swear was terrified of us feeling neglected, room-temperature butter that you can actually spread over your toast and poached eggs cooked and seasoned to perfection. Really didn't want breakfast time to end. Many upward-pointing thumbs!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank y2keable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

An old-fashioned, comfortable, friendly hotel with a splendid restaurant attached (Tweedies). Its location at the heart of the Lake District is ideal, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The menu (range and quality) far exceeded any expectations, and each course was outstanding. The only negatives (which will not effect most holiday makers) is that the rooms do not have desks, and the free WiFi (which was strong and fast while operating) went down twice during our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Room was lovely, the smell of Molten Brown adds a touch of class to the room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Tweedies bar had 2 of my favourite drinks, Anchor Steam and The Botanist gin, which are rare to find. Perfect for a quiet getaway and for those that love the beautiful scenery of the English countryside.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked a room for one night only to break up a journey to Glasgow. We had been to Tweedies Bar (next door) before so knew that we would at least have a nice few pints of beer. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Grasmere and Tweedies Bar is right next door. Our room (4) could have done with a little tlc and the bathroom is clearly setup for wheelchair access but if you don't mind a low sink it isn't too bad. Don't flush the loo at night because the plumbing made some terrible noises. All easily remedied I'm sure. The staff were/are very friendly and professional. We arrived late-ish due to Bank Holiday traffic but we were accommodated in the main hotel restaurant without a booking and had a very nice meal. All in all I would recommend the hotel and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was slightly noisy as cars were parked nearby outside so perhaps ask for a roo...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Absolutely fabulous stay at Dale Lodge Hotel. Couldn't have had a better stay. Food absolutely amazing, James the chef does a fantastic job. Alex is a very competent bar manager. Would definately come back time and time again. The Grasmere Guzzler is on weekend of 6th September will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
858 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range: £91 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere
Dale Lodge Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing