We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurrah, a hotel that allows 1 night stays in Grasmere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Congratulations to the Swan for allowing 1 night stays in Grasmere. Not everyone can afford to pay the minimum 2 nights that everywhere else stipulates and this is the sole reason that we stayed. We are regular visitors to Grasmere so know the rules and regulations of every other establishment. I know that the Swan is located just on the outskirts of the village on the main road but its a close enough walk if you really must be right in the centre.

We booked this at the last minute and had a really pleasant stay. We were particulary impressed with the staff - they were all friendly, helpful and most of all cared. They didnt always get it right but it didnt really matter to us because the fact that they tried was good enough for us.

I will say that the bedrooms are tired and tatty but reading the managers response on other reviews its looks like the back rooms are in for a refurb. Our room (16) was perfectly comfortable but there wasnt any bedside lamps and the lamp in the room didnt work. The bathroom door didnt shut properly and the grubby grouting and repaired tiling wasnt very appealing. I would say in their current state I dont really think they are worth the money, however based on location, competition etc etc then I can see why they are priced at the rate that they are. Lets just hope they dont increase after their refurb.
Our room wasnt ready on arrival (4pm) which was a bit of a surprise and we had to wait another 40 minutes until it was ready depsite us sat in soaking wet clothes after a long walk. My husband and I were so chilled, we had a drink in the bar, read the papers and sat quietly although I would imagine this could iritate some.
We had dinner in the restaurant and I really couldnt fault the food or the service. We had a really lovely meal so hats off to the chef. The service from the staff was good although a gentle reminder was needed for the wine that we ordered. Breakfast the following morning was like organised chaos but again all the staff were working as hard as they could and you really couldnt fault them. The restaurant was packed to the rafters and I think everyone arrived at the same time for breakfast but what a good breakfast it was when it arrived. Note to manager - Housekeeping were quite noisy in the morning so there was no chance of a lie in. When we returned to our room after breakfast, the music blaring out from one of the rooms they was clearning was quite offputting and sort of let the side down of what everyone else was trying to achieve in the hotel. They might be out of sight but we certainly knew they were about!
Irrelevant of the very minor hiccups, I love this place - we had a good service, friendly staff, comfortable bed and amazing food. There is no doubt we will be back again and are hoping that we can book in for dinner for my husbands birthday later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Good Afternoon LittleMurf,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our comments and reviews whether they are constructive or positive.

The staff would like to send their thanks for your kind comments and we have chatted to the housekeeping department regarding the level of the music they have on whilst they are working, I do hope during your next visit you will notice a difference.

Thank you once again for posting your review as it is comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,063 - 1,069 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

We have been visiting The Swan Hotel on and off for nearly 25 years, primarily for the walking and have used the drying room many times it does rain in the lakes. Over this period the food has always been good but it’s currently excellent, the cooked breakfast is just great. The staff are always efficient, polite, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The bar is relaxed and practical with good service you are welcomed in with walking boots and your dog. If you are bothered by road noise, like me, make sure you have one of the many rooms at the side or rear of the hotel. We would agree with other reviewers that the bedrooms are looking a bit shabby now and the bathrooms could do with a very good clean, replacing broken tiles and probably a refit, but if you are staying and walking then the most important thing is the bed and they are very comfortable. We understand that the hotel has got permission for a large extension and hopefully they will sort out the existing rooms at that time. We have one complaint, like many Macdonald hotels they have a substantial coach tourist business. This means that a coach of foreign tourists arrive around dinner time and clog up the reception area with bags and the restaurant can get very busy.... But worse.... between 5.30 and 6.30 AM some groups talk loudly in bedrooms, corridors and outside your bedroom window. So sleep quality is not good. We have, however, found out that you can call the night porter to silence them but you're awake by then. We will continue to frequent the Swan as much for the area as the hotel but we will always make the trip using vouchers or a special offer as it is good value then.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boothbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Good Afternoon Boothbyman,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our comments and reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are all so glad that you like coming back on a regular basis, and this time in particular that you found the food and staff to be excellant.
Unfortunately as you state in your review during the main season in the lakes there are alot of foreign tourists and as they are travelling around so much they are up early most mornings to get to there destinations early, we do try to ensure that the reception area is clear in particular in the evenings but this is dependant on the weather and as you say it does rain in the lakes, but we do clear the area as quickly as possible.

May I request that next time you stay you can call ahead and we can try and position you away from the coach tour.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and once again thank you for your review as it is comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed 3 nights using tesco's vouchers b&b. Room 23 had a big double bed, two comfy chairs & desk small en suite with shower over bath. The view was towards Arthurs Stone ( have had much worse ) Everything was clean with no smells. Breakfast was very good, staff very attentive plenty to eat, we didn't eat lunch for three days ! Good location for a 5 min stroll into local village Grasmere, 10 mins drive to Ambleside, 20 mins to Keswick. Hotel is old and full of character ( beams, sloping floors etc ) We found all the restaurants quite expensive in the village, average £12-15 for a main, 3.00 for a pint. We went to Keswick on the second night which was much better value and likewise went to Ambleside the third night.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickandGaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Good Afternoon MickandGaynor,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the Swan appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in particular your big bed and breakfast, we are just sorry that you were not able to indulge in an evening meal.

We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future and thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This was our second visit to the Swan, and again we stayed for 2 nights on a Superbreaks 1st night Dinner deal, and had a lovely time - equally as good as our first visit late last year. The Hotel is however looking a little bit shabby 'around the edges' you might say e.g. the furniture in the lounges is a little grubby and tired looking and our room, although clean, had loose and badly fitted trim in the bathroom and a window that had no facility to hold it open, which did detract a little on the quality front. The staff however were at all times very helpful and friendly and are worthy of high praise in this respect. The food at Dinner was very good in my opinion, and we decided to dine again on the second evening, as the quality and service was much better than some other places we have visited in Grasmere. Breakfast was very good with a varied selection of both continental and cooked items available. The bar was good, with a few local beers etc. and a decent selection of wine by the glass, although as usual for a Hotel it is quite expensive. The garden is very nice, even though it is adjacent to the main road, but it really could do with some comfortable chairs etc. to relax in, as it only has wooden picnic style tables and chairs with no cushions. The free car park is directly adjacent to the Hotel, and the free Wi-Fi is a real bonus, as some Hotels charge ridiculous amounts for this - very well done! Overall then, if you get a good deal, then I think it is excellent value for money, but at full price I would probably have been looking for a bit more for my money. I did hear that the hotel is due to be refurbished later in the year, so that could account for some of the minor issues I have mentioned, and if so, then it is quite understandable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadworn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2011

Good Afternoon Roadworn57,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or prohibitive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We were all glad to welcome you back and thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and the food. We have taken on board your comments regarding the outside furniture, unfortunately as you will know we can not guarantee the good weather, so we fear that they would get ruined very quickly, but we will look at the alternative. I am pleased to inform you that we are indeed awaiting confirmation on when the refurbishment works will begin in the main part of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your review as it is comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We have been coming back to the hotel for quite a few years now.It is in a great position for walking and for us it has the advantage of being a dog friendly hotel.
We ate in the restaurant most nights & the food was excellent. Some parts of the hotel are in need of refurbishment & I understand from the staff this is planned.
In all a very nice stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2011

Good Afternoon Keston,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

Let are glad that you enjoy returning to the hotel and you find the location perfect and that we are dog friendly. Thank you for your comments regarding the food the kitchen team appreciates your comments.

Thank you once again for your review as it is comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when the refurbishments are completed.

Kind Regards,
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This was my second trip to the Swan Hotel, however this time I went with my partner instead of my family. It was wonderful from start to finish. The staff are so friendly, the restaurant food is superb and a very reasonable price. We were welcomed in with a warm style from the staff everyday. The room was clean, modern and the beds are so comfortable, perfect after a long walk. It is also perfect for walking as it is just a short walk away from some Grasmeres biggest walks including Easedale Tarn and others, which was great as it meant we saved a lot on car parking.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveyh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Good Afternoon DHatton3000,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are constructive or positive we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We were all glad to welcome you back this time with your partner; we are also pleased that you enjoyed everything about your stay from the food to the beds and the lovely scenic walks around the area.
It is one of the most beautiful parts of the world and we pleased that we can share it with everyone who appreciates it.

Once again thank you for your review as it is comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel - 2 friends joined us on this occasion. We were allocated rooms 46 & 47 right at the back of the hotel with lovely views. We previously had room number 4 at the front of the hotel. We booked through Superbreak and our first evening meal was included. We enjoyed a lovely 3 course dinner. We found all of the staff at this hotel to be very pleasant especially in the restaurant. The hotel is only a few minutes walk into the village of Grasmere. Yes some places in the hotel were a bit worn but the hotel is getting renovated gradually. This didn't detract from our comfort and enjoyment so much so that we have booked to go back in July.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, Owner at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Good Afternoon Margshel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are so pleased to have welcomed you back again, this time with friends and you found the staff welcoming.
With regards to some areas looking tired, you are right and I am pleased to inform you that we are awaiting final confirmation of when the main house of the hotel will be refurbished and when works will begin on are exciting new 40 bedroom extension when the remaining rooms will be refurbished, we will be decorating and re-carpeting corridors in the near future.

Once again thank you for your review as it is comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

Look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,512 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,228 reviews
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £108 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing