We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for walkers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for walkers.”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel to go walking in the lake district. The room was very good and the food was OK. The staff were fantastic and helped with advice on which walks to take and the best direction to go. The hotel is not very central in Grasmere but just a short, pleasant walk away. The hotel has lovely gardens and the weather was superb when we were there so we able to sit and sunbathe in them. It was not as plush as the Old England Hotel in Bowness but it was more friendly.
If you are going to the Lake District to walk and want a nice 3 star, then this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscartopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Good Afternoon Oscartopsy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel do appreciate all our review whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

The staff would like to send their thanks for your kind words regarding service and being friendlier than the Old England (honest no competition with them). We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    428
    201
    66
    36
See reviews for
157
822
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Staff were immaculate and extremely friendly. The hotel itself is beautiful and the room was palatial!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Good Afternoon Julia H.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

The whole of the team would like me to pass on their thanks for your kind review and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Swan Hotel, Grasmere is situated on the main road through the Lakes, just beyond the busyness of Ambleside and Windermere. It is a peaceful and picturesque setting. The service at the receptioin and in the restaurant were first class. The food in the restaurant was good .....
But the room we were given had cracked tile, missing light bulbs and torn wallpaper. The reception manager was very helpful; he had a look and then offered us an executive room for the second night. The room and the bed were bigger but again the tiles in the bathroom were cracked and miss-matched, the room was tired and the whole thing needed up-dating. Worst of all was the curtains over the windows: the swags were so thick with dust you could draw lines in it!
When I go away I don't want to spend hard-earned money on a place that is not as nice as my own home - its supposed to be a 'treat', so we won't be trying MacDonald again thanks - we will stick to booking with --

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeriousSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Had a three day short break to do some walking and found this to be a great location. The hotel was excellent and greated by a very charming gentleman, Richard, Head of Reception. The room was very comfortable and spacious. All staff treated us with great courtesy. I will definately come back for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Good Evening WilkinsS,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

The whole of the team would like me to pass on their thanks for your kind words in particular Richard.

We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Do not accept a stay in room number 10. It is more like a converted storage room than a bedroom. It looks out onto an air conditioning unit and the noise is unbearable. We complained before we even unpacked, and were moved to another room, which was much better in terms of size and layout, however broken tiles and mouldy sealant in the bathroom really let the hotel down.
On the good side the food is excellent but dont expect to be served quickly at breakfast .... We waited 35 minutes on our first morning and 30 minutes on our second morning between ordering and being served. The opposite applied in the evening when the staff seemed to be so focused on clearing our plates and getting us in and out quickly, it tended to spoil the experience. We wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Good Evening John C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us, as for Room 10 we have had fitted secondary glazing to combat the day time noise of the kitchen fans which are turned off in the evening, with regards to the slow service in the mornings this is not the usual standard but with most people deciding to enjoy breakfast at the same time on both mornings it is slightly difficult to produce good quality food at a fast past. I apologise if you feel that you were rushed in the evening as we usually like our guests to enjoy the atmosphere and the food without rushing them.

Once again thank you for you reviews as it is comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

We do hope that you will reconsider visiting us in the future.

Kindest regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We arrived at "The Swan" and were greeted graciously by Richard at reception. Our room was rather small (we had our two dogs with us ) and so we asked to be moved to a larger room, this was done without fuss the following day. Our new room was large and very pleasant. the food at "The Swan" was very good indeed, served in a pleasant quite intimate dining room. The staff at all times were professional and extremely friendly. Thanks to all at "The Swan" we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyCheshire4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Good Afternoon DaisyCheshire4,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with whole of the team on a regular basis.

It was a pleasure speaking to you whilst you were here and the whole of the team, especially Richard send their thanks for your kind words about them during your stay.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food at the hotel and I have told Grahame that he has now lost some more customers, but I am sure you will return to Leeming House as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Comfortable room which was very clean, well serviced and had all the amenities. Comfy bed and great shower. Staff were very helpful and the food was superb. Shame there was a charge for the WiFi.

A short walk into Grasmere, and on the road to Keswick or Ambleside meant we were in a great location to tour the whole district.

Room Tip: A view down of the hills was lovely to wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gexxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Good Evening Gexxie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel do appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

The whole of the team would like to pass on their thanks for your kind words regarding them, the food and the amenities. I am in discussions with our head office regarding the WiFi charges and hopefully this will be resolved very soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,203 reviews
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,878 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
16.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing