We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, a bit overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a very relaxing two night stay at The Swan.
The room was a very good size and was well equipped. Yes, the decor was a bit tired in places but this wasn't so much of a problem because overall the room was lovely. My husband was really pleased to see a large flat screen Tv! The bed was big and comfortable and the bed linen was clean.
I was disappointed when we first arrived to find that tea spoons in the room had not been replaced since the previous guest and the crumbs from their chocolate cake had not been cleaned up. Richard from reception was quick to bring us some clean ones when we reported it, but I had expected better.
Otherwise, the room was generally looked very clean but it could have done with vacuuming around the edges and the booklets left in the room could have done with a good wipe also - they were a bit sticky!
Dinner at the hotel was lovely - the food was hot and tasty. Service in the restaurant was generally very good. The staff were busy but attentive. Overall i felt that the vast majority of staff were pleasant and helpful.
I do feel that the hotel was a bit overpriced, but then everything in the lakes seemed overpriced.
We did enjoy our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsjharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Good Morning MrsJHarrison,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review reagding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

The staff would like to send their thanks for your kind review and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Swan and it was very dissappointing.
The lounge and dining room was excellent, as was the food but our bedroom was
Awful . The radiator had no TRV valve so could not be turned down, the window only
Opened a couple of inches. There was no Extractor fan in the bathroom and the window would
not open. The white bedspread was badly soiled, the curtains were covered with damp
stains.
We spent 1 night in this room and then were moved, hoping that this would be better room, how
wrong could we be , this time the radiator wouldn't get warm, so we had a very cold
night.
We were told that the maintenance man would attend to the problem , but he didn't
an electric heater was put in our room to try to make it more comfortable.
The bedspread in this room was also soiled, no binliners,and no protecters on the pillows.
We really are not difficult people to please, we had read that the bedrooms needed
Some updating, but we did expect a comfortable heat in the bedroom and it to be
clean.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has been updated before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Good Morning Joy B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are sorry if you felt that your stay was disappointing, we are in the process in rectifying some of the points that you have raised in your review, all the TVRs on the radiators are being replaced and all sash windows are also being repaired and we are awaiting the date for the start of the refurbishment to the bedrooms.

The staff would like to thank you for your kind words regarding them and the food and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Spent just one night here last weekend, my husband and i. (Was with their winter internet deal) Thoroughly enjoyed it. Great location, plenty of free parking. Fabulous view from our room. Staff were second to none. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Having read previous reviews about damp etc yes there is room for improvement in decor, yes they have squeaky floors but its a very old building and its what i would expect it to be like, and for me, the log fires gave it a homely feel on a cold November evening! Work was being carried out while we were there but it was very discreet. I have stayed in 2 other Macdonald hotels and while they've all been different, i have enjoyed all three. I won't hesitate to stay here or any of their hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croft53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Good Morning Croft53,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the Swan appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We would like to thank you so much for a wonderful review and as in previous replies we are looking forward to having the work begin on refurbishment to the bedrooms and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

What can I say? The room was very poor - it needed a good clean and the decor was way, way beyond tired. The paint had been touched up very badly at the joins in the wallpaper - using a different colour paint! We were told there was nothing that could be done about it as the Hotel was full.
The staff were not dreadful, but far from helpful - the kind of service you got was 'tick in the box' service rather than heartfelt service. We got the feeling the staff were just not happy or engaged in what they were doing. The receptionist at check in spoke so fast it had 'will you please hurry up and move along' written all over it. The service in the restaurant and bar was a long way from what you would expect at a Hotel of this calibre - if they had run out of something at breakfast your plate would just appear without that item but with no explanation unless you asked! Service was very slow and on the last day the full breakfast that we waited so long for was cold. The cleaning in the room was just enough to get the next guests in but it has been a long time since that room saw a thorough clean. The bed springs were so tired that the middle part of your body was at a much lower level to the rest of your body!
I have never given feedback like this before. It was our anniversary weekend and it was a real let down. Book with caution.
It is possible we were '2nd class citizens' because we booked with Tesco Clubcard vouchers - if this is the case then that is a real shame as we have stayed with MacDonald Hotels before, spending in cash way in excess of the value of the vouchers for this particular stay. It really shouldn't make any difference whether we used vouchers or not, but if I had paid full price I would have been extremely angry and upset. In its favour Grasmere and the surrounding fells are beautiful. Make sure you book at table at the 'Jumble Rooms' - some of thebest food I have ever tasted and a great atmosphere. When we made the initial booking the lady I spoke to at central reservations was extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Before you book ask when the room was last decorated! I got the impression that the rooms at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Good Morning Peter A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We thank you for your candid review and I have sent a reply to you through our Customer Services department that you sent your review to.
I am glad that you accepted our apology and we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary next year.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I booked this hotel because it was part of the Tesco Clubcard vouchers scheme, a year of buying groceries there and I was finally able to book a 2 night weekend bed and breakfast stay for my partner and I!

The Swan Hotel is relatively easy to find and a good overall base to visit the Lake District. It is about 20 mins from Keswick and Ambleside by car. A 10 min stroll will also take you to Grasmere Village. The hotel is medium in size and is on a main road, which is not hugely busy. It is surrounded by hills and lovely scenic walks are within a short distance.

Check is at 3pm and the room is traditional and attractive. Our room had a large double bed, with traditional style pictures on the wall, and bed side tables. There was a television, a vanity chest and mirror, and a large wardrobe. An iron, ironing board and hairdryer were all provided, as were basic tea and coffee facilities.

What let the room down was an immediate and ever present smell of damp. At first, I thought that maybe someone had had a dog staying in the room - it smelled like 'wet dog!' But the bathroom, although fine, had mould in the shower and the smell was always there. We reduced it a little by shutting the bathroom door, but it never went away. This spoilt the stay for us somewhat.

The room was also very hot, and we did not like to open the window too wide during the night since we were on a low level in case someone was able to get in. We slept with the bed covers off as a result!

I have heard that some rooms have great scenic views, sadly we were given a view of the hotel car park. We were not disturbed by any traffic noise however.

In terms of the service, some of the staff were very polite.However, we noticed that most of the staff appeared to be of foreign origin (possibly Polish, I am unsure). I have observed this in oher McDonald Hotels I have stayed in. This is not an issue, except that they all seemed miserable! Especially at breakfast time, they did their job but without smiling or making much conversation.

One day we noticed a red stain on our bedspread - we pointed this out to the lady who had just cleaned the room, who said it must have come from us. I'm not sure about that, but either way I couldn't understand why she didn't just change the bedspread cover, considering the cost of the room per night.

Food wise, we only ate breakfast at the hotel, but it was superb and the best thing about our stay. Lots of choice in the continental breakfast, followed by a brilliant cooked to order full english breakfast. Ours was included in the cost of the room, otherwise it will cost you over £15 a head, which is expensive.

Without our Tesco Vouchers, our two night stay would have cost us £260. This is not cheap! Personally, I don't think that this price can be justified, mainly because the rooms need an update and a revamp.

So whilst this is not a bad hotel and the food and location are great, the rooms and bathrooms are old,damp and tired and in my opinion, this makes it unacceptable for them to charge the prices they do. In times where money is tight, people are looking for value for money and at present, this hotel does not offer that.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luminesence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Good Morning Luminesence,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We thank you for your detailed review and we have started to action some of your points that you have raised and we are awaiting final confirmation for the start date for the partial refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms.

We do hope that you can return once the rooms have been redecorated and have a better experience than you did on your last visit.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Staff were very helpful & friendly. First night had dinner. Food was very good but, did not have enough potatoes & veg. Had to order extra chips. Breakfast was also very good. Order full English breakfast but, not enough. Our room smelt a bit damp & had to change this. 2nd room was a lot better. Bed was good but, they did not have an option to have firmer pillows. Decor of the hotel could do with being updated. Good location. Plenty of parking. Would probably not stay again. Expected more from a Macdonald's hotel

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the car park. If you like firm pillows, bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Good Morning PKPuri,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

I am glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the food even if you thought there was not enough, I will discuss this with the chef as we are looking at our new menu.
I am sorry to hear that you did not like the pillows as we have had a lot of comments of the opposite saying how much they like the pillows and where can they purchase them from.

We are still awaiting final confirmation in when the partial refurbishment of the hotel will begin.

so I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Due to another "hotel" letting us down due to lack of hot water, we moved to the Swan as it had hot water and was close by. Well I can't fault the service at the hotel. Staff were very friendly and chatty, our bar meals were great, The breakfasts were magic (my wife especially like the porridge and fruit compote). We were given a room at the back of the hotel which was quiet and although we almost needed a sat-nav to find the room, it was perfect for our requirements. The hotel room was showing signs of "end of season wear" but perfectly fine for our needs.
Very warm and homely.

Room Tip: If you like walking ask for room number over 40....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s91s91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Good Afternoon s91s91,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the team on a regular basis.

Thank you for such a kind review, we are glad that we were able to help when the other hotel let you down, the staff would like to send their thanks for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,512 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,228 reviews
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £108 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing