We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We have stayed at the Swan regularly over the past 4 years or so, we are never disappointed. No deep snow this time! The rooms as always were lovely and clean, huge comfy bed with big fluffy pillows. It's like going back to friends now and we always get a lovely warm welcome, but the staff give a warm welcome to all guests, regular or new. We stayed for 5 nights and we ate in the hotel each evening. Dinner was lovely as always, and the puddings.......fantastic, Neils ginger cake was gorgeous! Breakfast is cooked to order and was always fresh and piping hot, fantastic choice of cereals, freshly prepared fruits, pastries, cheeses, in fact everything you could think of and more. A huge thank you to Jason, Marie, Chris, Anita, Sonia, Richard, Michelle, Anthony, Colin, Neil and the kitchen staff, you always make us so welcome. (sorry if we forgot anyone) Looking forward to our next visit when the refurb should be well under way. Jason, making sure the lock worked on the bathroom door was much appreciated..........I didn't lock myself in this stay! :) Happy Christmas to everyone, see you all soon x

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    414
    194
    66
    35
See reviews for
147
793
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights in early december and I would advise anyone staying here to avoid room no.10 because the noise from the extractor fans is terrible and we had to buy ear plugs to try and get a decent nights sleep.We were warned by reception when we checked in that it was a noisy room and they were sorry but the hotel was full and they could not move us,why weren't we warned by e-mail before we came if the hotel was so booked up,I booked the hotel in September so it wasn't a last minute thing!!! I consider the price we paid way too high and expected a better standard and bigger room for the price,will not be returning.
The staff were pretty miserable too!!

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulinaEstepona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aylesbury
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Just back from a 3 day weekend break with my wife.We where both pleased with what we found.Most of the the staff where keen to please and very helpful.We ate in the restaurant one night with friends and the meal while not great was quite good,the breakfast was good as well.The room we stayed in was clean with a good size bed ,but the bathroom was in need of decoration quickly.If the upstairs was as good as the lounge ,bar and restaurant area the hotel would be onto a winner .The log fire was a real winner ,my only real gripe was they run out of larger on Saturday and Sunday.If you are visiting the lakes this is good base for exploring,also they say rooms are being refurbished next year.We used Tesco vouchers to pay so not sure about ylue for money but we would both use it again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Good Morning Billyaylesbury,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

The staff sends their thanks also for your kind review, unfortunately we did not run out of lager but the coolers had broken down and we could not dispense warm lager.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a very relaxing two night stay at The Swan.
The room was a very good size and was well equipped. Yes, the decor was a bit tired in places but this wasn't so much of a problem because overall the room was lovely. My husband was really pleased to see a large flat screen Tv! The bed was big and comfortable and the bed linen was clean.
I was disappointed when we first arrived to find that tea spoons in the room had not been replaced since the previous guest and the crumbs from their chocolate cake had not been cleaned up. Richard from reception was quick to bring us some clean ones when we reported it, but I had expected better.
Otherwise, the room was generally looked very clean but it could have done with vacuuming around the edges and the booklets left in the room could have done with a good wipe also - they were a bit sticky!
Dinner at the hotel was lovely - the food was hot and tasty. Service in the restaurant was generally very good. The staff were busy but attentive. Overall i felt that the vast majority of staff were pleasant and helpful.
I do feel that the hotel was a bit overpriced, but then everything in the lakes seemed overpriced.
We did enjoy our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Good Morning MrsJHarrison,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review reagding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

The staff would like to send their thanks for your kind review and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Swan and it was very dissappointing.
The lounge and dining room was excellent, as was the food but our bedroom was
Awful . The radiator had no TRV valve so could not be turned down, the window only
Opened a couple of inches. There was no Extractor fan in the bathroom and the window would
not open. The white bedspread was badly soiled, the curtains were covered with damp
stains.
We spent 1 night in this room and then were moved, hoping that this would be better room, how
wrong could we be , this time the radiator wouldn't get warm, so we had a very cold
night.
We were told that the maintenance man would attend to the problem , but he didn't
an electric heater was put in our room to try to make it more comfortable.
The bedspread in this room was also soiled, no binliners,and no protecters on the pillows.
We really are not difficult people to please, we had read that the bedrooms needed
Some updating, but we did expect a comfortable heat in the bedroom and it to be
clean.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has been updated before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Good Morning Joy B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are sorry if you felt that your stay was disappointing, we are in the process in rectifying some of the points that you have raised in your review, all the TVRs on the radiators are being replaced and all sash windows are also being repaired and we are awaiting the date for the start of the refurbishment to the bedrooms.

The staff would like to thank you for your kind words regarding them and the food and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Spent just one night here last weekend, my husband and i. (Was with their winter internet deal) Thoroughly enjoyed it. Great location, plenty of free parking. Fabulous view from our room. Staff were second to none. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Having read previous reviews about damp etc yes there is room for improvement in decor, yes they have squeaky floors but its a very old building and its what i would expect it to be like, and for me, the log fires gave it a homely feel on a cold November evening! Work was being carried out while we were there but it was very discreet. I have stayed in 2 other Macdonald hotels and while they've all been different, i have enjoyed all three. I won't hesitate to stay here or any of their hotels in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croft53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Good Morning Croft53,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the Swan appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We would like to thank you so much for a wonderful review and as in previous replies we are looking forward to having the work begin on refurbishment to the bedrooms and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

What can I say? The room was very poor - it needed a good clean and the decor was way, way beyond tired. The paint had been touched up very badly at the joins in the wallpaper - using a different colour paint! We were told there was nothing that could be done about it as the Hotel was full.
The staff were not dreadful, but far from helpful - the kind of service you got was 'tick in the box' service rather than heartfelt service. We got the feeling the staff were just not happy or engaged in what they were doing. The receptionist at check in spoke so fast it had 'will you please hurry up and move along' written all over it. The service in the restaurant and bar was a long way from what you would expect at a Hotel of this calibre - if they had run out of something at breakfast your plate would just appear without that item but with no explanation unless you asked! Service was very slow and on the last day the full breakfast that we waited so long for was cold. The cleaning in the room was just enough to get the next guests in but it has been a long time since that room saw a thorough clean. The bed springs were so tired that the middle part of your body was at a much lower level to the rest of your body!
I have never given feedback like this before. It was our anniversary weekend and it was a real let down. Book with caution.
It is possible we were '2nd class citizens' because we booked with Tesco Clubcard vouchers - if this is the case then that is a real shame as we have stayed with MacDonald Hotels before, spending in cash way in excess of the value of the vouchers for this particular stay. It really shouldn't make any difference whether we used vouchers or not, but if I had paid full price I would have been extremely angry and upset. In its favour Grasmere and the surrounding fells are beautiful. Make sure you book at table at the 'Jumble Rooms' - some of thebest food I have ever tasted and a great atmosphere. When we made the initial booking the lady I spoke to at central reservations was extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Before you book ask when the room was last decorated! I got the impression that the rooms at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Good Morning Peter A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We thank you for your candid review and I have sent a reply to you through our Customer Services department that you sent your review to.
I am glad that you accepted our apology and we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary next year.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing