We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Have been regulars for a few years but this year disappointed. The resturant has been cost cutting more than before. The menu was reduced (again), and with the same menu for a 3 day stay there is little to choose from, the food was dried out and the potatoes warmed up. Over-priced for the standards. Noticed a lot of people were eating out. The lounges have always felt more like carehomes with most chairs pointing into the centre, and main room fully lit needing ambiant lighting, in such a nice building this is a missed opportunity. The bedrooms have long been in need of a refurbish with broken tiles in the bathroom, but at least the hallway carpet has been changed.

This is all a shame because there is a lovely roaring fire in the reception area, the bar is cosy and the hotel in a lovely location, which is why we have continued to return. We won't be coming back until something has changed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieJamesSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    409
    193
    66
    35
See reviews for
144
784
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel, both of which were in the winter. We were allocated a lovely room with a view down into Grasmere village, which was lovely, thanks Richard (head receptionist) Even though the weather was wet and cold, the hotel fires were on in the lounges making us feel very cosy and warm.
We were very impressed with the food, both for breakfast and dinner. The Chef is very accomplished and there was a really good choice on the a la carte menu. However, one of the reasons our visits to the restaurant was so good, was thanks to Colin who served us most of the time we were there, he was excellent, always helpful, and always had a smile on his face!
Also, thanks to Michelle who was so very helpful,and helped to make our stay so good.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, and would be very glad to revisit it in the future

Room Tip: Rooms differ, ask reception to recommend one that suits your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyf31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We went to the Swan for the New Year break and had a good time, however the second day of the package was a non event. All we got extra to a normal day at the Swan was a ticket to go on a boat on Windermere, and we had to make our own way there, and scones in the afternoon. As a result very few went to Windermere which meant the second day was very expensive indeed for what we got.
The food and the staff were excellent.
The singer on New Years eve left much to be desired as he sounded as if someone was trying to strangle him when it came to some of the notes.
The shower was not very good as it was not thermostatic and it was difficult to control the temperature.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigray1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Good but not as good as it has been. I think that this is the third time I have been for the New Year, (and also stay at other times of the year with various friends). The food the first night (from the nornal menu was very good, and so was the food on new years eve. But the following day the evening meal was pre-done and poor. Breakfasts ware a bit hit and miss with orders being wrong, forgotten, and a nearly raw sausage. The staff are good, and friendly (and the poor service was really down to it being New Year). The one bar meal we had was excellent, and the drinks service was good. I will be staying at this hotel again, but will give next New Year a miss.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a good size, but the bathroom is too small; the room on the front corner overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just got back from another wonderful stay at The Swan. The welcome we received from the staff was as warm as always to us and all the guests. It is like staying with friends. Excellent food and entertainment throughout the stay. The firework display on New Year's eve was brilliant. Jason had done a very good job and backed by his tremendous team.

Two excellent nights' sleep on the big comfy beds. Lovely room and warm bathroom (radiator too hot!!)

As always Colin, Michelle, Jason, Marie, Chris, Leigh and everyone else could not have been more helpful. Lovely to see you all again.

Thank you for an excellent start to 2012. Will be back again later in the year.

Simon & Melanie

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

just got back after a wonderful two days food fab staff wonderful our room 11 very comfortable clean and lovely decor will be returning again hopefully a few times over the year and already booked for the next new year thanks to all the staff for making our stay so good Janeen and Tim Gillett

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

The Swan's a friendly hotel at the foot of very walkable hills (the postcard routes of recommended walks for 50p are a really nice touch: the one we followed was excellent). The staff were very courteous, though we wondered whether the hotel was a bit understaffed given how busy they were. Still, they never appeared hassled. Breakfast good; bar meals also good; restaurant good, but definitely overpriced. It has to be special to deserve £21 for two courses, in my skinflint opinion, whereas this was just good, albeit well-presented. I'd recommend the bar instead. No spa facilities, but you can use the ones at the Old England in Bowness, and they're predictably relaxing. Would stay again if passing through (though surprised at how busy the Lakes are in late December!)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charleslincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.6 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing