We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,261)
Filter reviews
1,261 results
Traveller rating
479
446
222
71
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
479
446
222
71
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfeature roomold englandexecutive roomblack puddinglake districtwalkers barlovely hotelnight porterevening mealthe general managerfour poster bedcooked breakfastone night staybreakfast was excellentgreat weekendhelm craglovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,032 - 1,037 of 1,261 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We love this Hotel, it has such charm, we stayed in room 9 with a four poster bed, very comfortable and worth the upgrade to stay in the original part of the Hotel. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, can't wait to stay again!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Shriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Nice hotel with friendly staff, ask for Room 9 if you can .
Love the Jennings beer, but think the food is overpriced.
Try the jumble Room in the village its very good.

Room Tip: Any of the suites, Room 9 is best.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameraman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our first stay at the Swan will not be the last. From arrival to departure the staff were welcoming,cheerful and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and the food and service at breakfast and dinner was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stay at The Swan several times a year and our stay is always wonderful. This time friends came too. As we had recommended The Swan we wanted things to be perfect, they were and our friends said they will be back....often! There is nothing that is to much trouble for the wonderful team here, I was recovering after recent surgery and stayed in the room, staff popped in to make sure I had everything I needed when my husband and friends were out walking. Breakfasts as always were piping hot, the buffet full of fresh pastries, freshly prepared fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses etc.We were asked if we wanted more toast, tea and coffee.We had dinner in the hotel every evening, it was perfect. A huge thank you to Jason, Marie, Chris, JJ, Anthony, Anita, Michelle, Richard, Colin, Paco, Lorne, Neil, all the kitchen staff, and everyone who made our stay so perfect, see you all again soon x

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheepies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nice Hotel..we had breakfast in bed which was quite nice and filling..beers around the bar always seemed to run out..but to be honest if you like a drink its got to be tweedies bar in the centre of the village..didn't eat in the hotel..went to the jumble room which was quite nice but portions not man sized..been watching to much master chef..second night walked up the road and had a meal in the travellers rest inn which was excellent(but bring a torch!!!)..overal nice experiance...oh yes we used the tesco clubcard vouchers..book early as there are only so many selected weekends..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merseyside_walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews