We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
poulton-Le-Fylde, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Swan hotel in March 2012 for a weekend break booked via Superbreaks. On arrival reception was very polite and helpful, location for South lakes is excellent. We had evening meal on first night which was very pleasant, the bedrooms are as you would expect for a 3* hotel, comfortable beds clean rooms, but a bit dated. Breakfast was very nice and set us up for a day of fell walking. I would recommend this hotel for a short break in Grasmere/South lakes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoultonBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    409
    193
    66
    35
See reviews for
144
784
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at Mcdonald Swan on Good Friday and enjoyed every minute. The staff couldn't do enough to help and the whole atmosphere is very welcoming! My wife, 2 children and I stayed in a family room which was very comfortable and not too tight for space either!

The food in the bar was excellent and the breakfast was the BEST i've ever had in a hotel.... and i've stayed in my fair share both on business and for pleasure!

I would 100 percent recommend this hotel. Great service, great staff, happy family!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LockersNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

We love this Hotel, it has such charm, we stayed in room 9 with a four poster bed, very comfortable and worth the upgrade to stay in the original part of the Hotel. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, can't wait to stay again!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Nice hotel with friendly staff, ask for Room 9 if you can .
Love the Jennings beer, but think the food is overpriced.
Try the jumble Room in the village its very good.

Room Tip: Any of the suites, Room 9 is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cameraman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our first stay at the Swan will not be the last. From arrival to departure the staff were welcoming,cheerful and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and the food and service at breakfast and dinner was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stay at The Swan several times a year and our stay is always wonderful. This time friends came too. As we had recommended The Swan we wanted things to be perfect, they were and our friends said they will be back....often! There is nothing that is to much trouble for the wonderful team here, I was recovering after recent surgery and stayed in the room, staff popped in to make sure I had everything I needed when my husband and friends were out walking. Breakfasts as always were piping hot, the buffet full of fresh pastries, freshly prepared fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses etc.We were asked if we wanted more toast, tea and coffee.We had dinner in the hotel every evening, it was perfect. A huge thank you to Jason, Marie, Chris, JJ, Anthony, Anita, Michelle, Richard, Colin, Paco, Lorne, Neil, all the kitchen staff, and everyone who made our stay so perfect, see you all again soon x

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheepies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby,Merseyside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nice Hotel..we had breakfast in bed which was quite nice and filling..beers around the bar always seemed to run out..but to be honest if you like a drink its got to be tweedies bar in the centre of the village..didn't eat in the hotel..went to the jumble room which was quite nice but portions not man sized..been watching to much master chef..second night walked up the road and had a meal in the travellers rest inn which was excellent(but bring a torch!!!)..overal nice experiance...oh yes we used the tesco clubcard vouchers..book early as there are only so many selected weekends..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseyside_walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.6 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing